We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Harbour Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pacific Harbour Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Harbour Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   223 Main Rd., PO Box 69, Tairua 3544, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The photo on line looks deceptive. Great if you get one of the 6 or so chalets overlooking the estuary, otherwise you might get, like us, another chalet 8 metres away looking straight into yours and just behind the main street. It is well planted out but chalets are tired. No heated towel rail so our towels were damp in the morning. Bed was comfy and lovely quality bedding. The full size cooker seemed superfluous and no milk was offered unlike many motels we stayed at. The take away at the garage served good food and there is a small supermarket just over the road. We booked through Booking.com and the walk in rates were much cheaper on the day so paid more and had to stay the 2 nights booked. They did upgrade us although the chalet we got was not good value compared with 8 others we'd stayed in. We were so looking forward to this idealistic setting but wouldn't have stayed if viewed first. They do have a good selection of films which they stream to your chalet except that the TV was old and grainy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty M, Manager at Pacific Harbour Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ruth & Brian Livesey,

thank you very much for taking time to give us your review.

Deceptive photo:
First i have to say that we do have 25 and more photos on Booking.com and on similiar booking platforms online. Each room type you can book online shows the appropriate and realistic photo and description of it. Certainly the main property photo on booking.com shows our complex from an aerial perspective but it is not deceptive. Secondly you get what you pay. We are sorry that you feel like getting a waterfront King Luxury Chalet if you book and pay a basic Queen Studio accommodation. The complimentary upgrade to a Queen Chalet was well-intended in relating to the pricing of that day.

Rate and pricing:
Pricing in the hospiltality & turism industry is sometime hard to understand for "outsiders" as yield management/dynamic pricing is joined with season, time of booking, pricing of competitors and room occupancy etc. however walk-in rates or Last minute deals are sometimes cheaper.

Miscellaneous:
We do offer free milk in little containers in every room fridge.
Some of our chalets/units do have LCD TV and we intend to upgrade all in the near future.

Dear Ruth & Brian, we trust the above clarifies the concerns that you have highlighted – I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience they have created.
We certainly look forward to having you back, in order for you to experience the on-going improvements done to the facilities and service.

Best regards

Robert Dubaschny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our second 2 day break with Robert & Julie..Another grabone on line deal...
These two are great ,they look after you so well... extremely helpful.
Although the Chalets are showing signs of ageing...Pacific Harbour Lodge is one of the cleanest establishments we have stayed in.....WHITE crisp sheets... & fluffy White towels.. My goodness .. clean linen and I am happy....
Love the 2 day deals with vouchers for Breakfast & Dinner. Peppe & Shells served us great food, We understand there is a new owner/chef in Shells, Very impressive food was served... Please pass on our thanks & Goodluck to Chef for the future,
A very relaxing place to stay.. Would recomend to others... See you next trip,, Helen & Dale

Room Tip: We always like to look out at the Water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What makes this place better than average are the staff and location. The management are extremely helpful and pleasant. German speaking too. The lodge is Right in Tairua and on the estuary. The chalets are showing their age but comfy. Value for money stopover while enjoying the Coromandel. They supply spades and towels for Hot Water Beach. Walk or drive to the ocean beach. A short walk to restaurants, pub, take aways, supermarket. I have had people from all walks of life stay here and the overwhelming majority had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seuzach, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had the misfortune to get a twin chalet. Had no furniture at all on our extremely dirty outside seating space (next to a street parking). Very old wood furniture, no bathromm amendities on both nights (no soap, Hair or showergel). Breakfast at Restaurant on the other side of the street was the worst we had in 3 weeks. Would not recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Had a twin Chalet next to the street and parking right in fornt of our bedroom door. Request a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty M, Manager at Pacific Harbour Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Swiss Traveller60,

thanks for taking time to comment your recent stay . We are very sorry for the exceptional inconvienient expirience. This is a great opportunity to reply to the very valid points that you have brought to my attention.
Every Chalet features a outside deck with seating facilities for 2 persons. I cant understand why you havent had/couldnt find those facilities whilst you stayed with us. As we are settled in the middle of a lush garden with many native birdlife its hard to maintain the decks every day and keep them clean. We will certainly take more attention to these areas.

The only Chalet with two single beds are on the edge of the complex next to a (not busy) dead end road. We are very sorry for not supplied toiletries but a call/advise to the reception would have solved this mistake immediatelly.

I trust the above clarifies the concerns that you have highlighted – I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience they have created.
We certainly look forward to having you back, in order for you to experience the on-going improvements done to the facilities and service.

kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great hotel, upon arrival we received fantastic, friendly and informative service by Robert and staff. Robert was a great host, it definitely shows that he is passionate about his work.

The room was spacious and an ideal location for hot water beach. We will be returning.

Many thanks

Glenn, Teresa and Katie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had two enjoyable nights at the lodge. We had an online deal which included two breakfasts and dinner.
Unit was clean not sure about air freshener when we 1st entered.
T.V little passed use buy date, but unit had all you needed.
Tairua great place to stay, very central to Hot Water Beach, Pauanui etc. Enjoyed walks into old gold mining areas and around Paku Island.
Staff very helpful, would recommend for great weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Chalet over looking water would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty M, Manager at Pacific Harbour Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Claire V,

thanks for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nyts..we got the deal from grabone,they ran out of queen chalet and we got upgraded to the king chalet for free!! they are friendly and very accomodating,its exactly in the middle of where we went hot water beach and whangamata beach...all in all its a great experience..definitely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty M, Manager at Pacific Harbour Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear jem m,

thanks for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you back soon.


Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Harbour Lodge

Address: 223 Main Rd., PO Box 69, Tairua 3544, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Harbour Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Harbour Lodge is an attractive Tairua accommodation option for those wanting an island style holiday. Our well-appointed chalets are set among lush vegetation on the shores of the spectacular Tairua Harbour. We have a wide range of on-site facilities, a restaurant and cafe, and even a day spa for luxurious treatments. Just 50 meters from the center of Tairua, Pacific Harbour Lodge Tairua is a 20-minute drive from Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Harbour Hotel Tairua
Pacific Harbour Lodge Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Harbour Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.