We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Paku

Mount Paku
Tairua, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Tairua
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A fairly rugged walk from the marina side to the top, not always well-marked, so we were glad of a little leaflet map from the Info station. The views on a clear, blue-skied day are spectacular! Definitely worth taking a 360 degree photo at the top. The view is better of Pauanui and the harbour than Tairua itself. Using our little map again, we worked out how to get down to the ocean beach- lovely views there too. Wear stout shoes. Take your own drinks or snacks if you want to enjoy food at the top. Definitely worth the climb. We did see a young family with a buggy, but that would be a challenge.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

we went up there mostly driving and a short walk, it was easy and so well worth it ! the view is beautiful, 360°.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Must do in Tairua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were not aware of Mount Paku until the owner of the hotel where were staying at mentioned it to us and we are glad he did. The views from the top are amazing. Its about a 15 minute walk from the end of Paku Drive where you can park your car. Only the very last part of the climb is a bit steep over rocks. There are guard rails and my 7 year old managed without too much issue so should be fine.

Must do. We then had a picnic lunch at the base of the hill. Its a good stop over either to or from Auckland on the way to the rest of the Coromandel Peninsula

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tairua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are in Tairua, you really shouldn't leave without going up to the summit of Mt Paku. You can drive partway up followed by a 10/15 minute walk to the top, or hike up from the bottom, which will take about 45 minutes. Do not forget your camera, the 360 degree view from the top is something special, from the Alderman Islands offshore to the Pinnacles on the ranges to the west. It's a little scrambly up the last little bit, but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tairua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Walk to the top of Mt Paku”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A short and very rewarding walk. Park at the car-park and don't forget your camera. Fairly gentle at first but steeper as you ascend. Stick to the track and do take care. Fabulous views from the summit, the pacific ocean and offshore islands, back through Pauanui and Tairua harbour, to the Pinnacles mountains in the west. Suitable for individuals with a a good level of fitness. Don't forget to keep an eye out for our resident feline guide 'Georgina', who may care to join you. For a longer version of this popular walk, park in the vicinity of the marina and do the 'round trip' up the southern side, returning down the northern track to ocean beach.
This is one of many walks in and around the Tairua area. Take your pick from bush-clad ranges, historic gold mining and timber milling sites, coastal cliffs and our town based heritage trail. Call in at the Tairua Information Centre, where the friendly staff will be happy to advise you of all the walk options available. Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Paku also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mount Paku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Paku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.