We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hosts and accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunlover Retreat to your Saves list
Sunlover Retreat
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Tairua B&B and Inns
Manukau, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hosts and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for only one night, around Christmas last year. You can see the view is beautiful, and the home is too. Very welcoming family, giving just the right amount of attention and privacy. Can't recommend high enough.
There is a pathway (steps), not far from the end of the driveway, which leads to the bridge before you enter town. Probably took us about 7-8 minutes to walk to town.

Room Tip: All look great. If you have difficulty with stairs, you'll have to use the Fantail room. The E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Great room tip regarding the Fantail Suite. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
91
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Sunlover retreat in Mid March 2014. We weren't too sure what to expect as we had never stayed in this type of accommodation before. Within the first few minutes of arriving we both knew that we were going to enjoy our stay.
Donna (and Chris when he arrived from out of town the next day) made us feel very welcome, relaxed and at ease The views over the town, inlet and out to sea were spectacular, and the accommodation and facilities were first class, it was easy to be involved, however you also had the ability to have privacy should you wish. The breakfasts were to die for and the local surrounds have plenty to offer for those who want to get out and about.
Sunlover Retreat would be a great place to stay at any time of the year, the different seasons offering their own unique experience.
My advice...don't think about, just do it, you wont be disappointed, and if you are like us you will be planning your next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - if its winter pick the one with the bath!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the fantastic review Steve. We would love to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Donna:
Love the hospitality, love the view, love the house and Jak, love the kitchen, love the laundry, love the magnificent view (to awesome to only mention once), love to come back.........
Thank you for a wonderfull stay!
Robert, Marise and Carl

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
And I love your wonderful review! Thank you. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a very happy and relaxing stay at Sunlover Retreat and we recovered our jet-lag in a most beautiful setting with such kind and welcoming hosts. This b and b is just right.. Beautifully situated and high above the village we had far - reaching views and just lay in bed and looked out across the village to the sea. We felt immediately at home and were welcomed and spoilt for three days .Donna and Christ gave us all the local information that we needed and we felt very fortunate to be staying with them. A return trip would be just great one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review Caroline and Ray. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and look forward to the day when we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villerupt, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed one night and we regret we did not stay more! The house and the room are comfortable! The bathroom is modern and lovely. The breakfast was delicious. We also enjoyed the amazing view! Donna and Chris are very welcoming and it's easy to discuss with them. We thank Thelma too for her very warm welcoming. If we had the chance to go back to New-Zealand, for sure we would come back again in this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks Aline for the lovely review. We hope to see you and Matthieu back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights at Sunlover Retreat and had a fantastic experience. Two nights was hardly enough time to explore the surrounding area but Donna was so helpful in providing some local knowledge on the best way to see it in such a short time.
We are not normally B&B people, but Sunlover Retreat's approach to B&B was refreshing and made use rethink our views completely. Donna was an amazing host and the breakfasts in the morning were a real treat. Both the food and meeting fellow travellers was fantastic.
Our room was well appointed and commanded an amazing view over Tairua, I could have stayed in bed and looked at the view all day long! The balance of private & communal space was done superbly and even with other guests staying, you could easy think you were the only guests staying.
The other highlight of the stay was their fantastic dog, Jak, who was really well behaved and friendly. The whole experience made us wish we could have stayed longer.
A highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and Jak says woof woof!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Sunlover Retreat was the perfect base to explore the Coromandel - gorgeous bush walks along the Tairua River one day, swimming at picture perfect secluded beaches like Opoutere the next. In eight days we hardly scratched the surface of this lovely region. Donna and Chris are the perfect hosts and their home is so beautiful you feel like you've moved into a work of art. We were not really B&B people, but this experience change our view completely. The right balance of privacy when you need it, blended with the chance to mix with other guests to share your day and help each other plan the next.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Well .... you certainly won the prize for longest stay! We couldn't have asked for more relaxed guests. We have decided that we will holiday like you! Stop for a while in the one place and really relax. Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunlover Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunlover Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.