We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tairua Shores Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tairua Shores Motel to your Saves list
Tairua Shores Motel
156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Really looked after us with great recommendations for daily activities. Chalet was extremely comfortable with all necessary facilities. Lots of space. Staff were friendly and helpful with any queries we had! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your reveiw, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we might be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
54
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We planned our trip in advance to the Coromandel but weather did not cooperate. The room was warm, clean, and dry - perfect to hideaway from the gusty winds and rain. We chose to stay another night to wait out the weather. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a really lovely beautiful place!! Everything was spotlessly clean and a very quiet area. We stayed for 3 nights and really explored the area. The climb up Mt Paku is excellent to do. The room was within walking distance of town too. The bedroom was really lovely, would love that in my own home!!

Room Tip: Lovely quiet rooms as ours had double glazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Well situated. About 20 minutes from all major spots in the area (whitianga, hotwater beach, whangamata etc). Very quiet and we felt safe. Tairua is a sleepy little town with good character. Nice fush n chups in the main town. Walking distance from this motel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lovely motel, room was a really high standard - nicer than a lot of hotels I've stayed in. Stayed in a Garden Chalet room which was nice and big with a cute garden. Great location too. Price was super reasonable and staff were really friendly. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our very clean well appointed room was quite spacious with kitchen & eating area, sofa and TV with free WiFi and large comfortable bed. Just a short pleasant walk into town to great places to eat. Glenn was very helpful with suggested places to visit along with directions on how to get there, thanks so much!! A laundry is available for guests use with a $4 charge for dryer if required. We would recommend Tairua Shores without hesitation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is true that the chalets are not particularly impressive from the outside, but inside they are surprisingly spacious and very well appointed. We particularly liked the large and comfortable bed. We had a delightful patio area featuring a shell bed and some lovely shrubs. Glenn, the owner, was extremely helpful in recommending places to visit and lent us the spades needed for the visit to Hot Water Beach. It is literally only a few metres walk to the waterfront, and a few minutes into Tairua itself where there are restaurants, a supermarket and a good tourist office.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores accommodation has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. Cooked and continental breakfast delivered to your unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairua Shores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.