We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we'd stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tairua Shores Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tairua Shores Motel to your Saves list
Tairua Shores Motel
156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wished we'd stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Found this through booking.com before we travelled to NZ and upon arrival wished we'd allowed ourselves more time in the coromandel peninsula so we could have stayed for longer.

The accommodation was first class and the location superbly beautiful.

Plenty of nice places to eat only 5 mins attractive walk to a lovely quiet town.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
45
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Loved our stay at this motel. Our room had a private courtyard. The owner was very informative and the housekeeper was helpful and polite. It is a short walk to the wharf and about 7 minutes walk into town. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The garden chalet has a lovely private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a really nice, quiet motel, about a 5 minute walk from the restaurants and supermarkets, and only 200 metres from the foot ferry to Pauanui. We stayed in a one bedroom chalet with an extra large double bed. The chalet had clearly been recently refurbished to a high standard, and had a small kitchenette with microwave and a separate bathroom and shower. A nice feature was the small enclosed patio area, accessible by a sliding glass door from the bedroom. This comprised an area of decking, a table with chairs and umbrella, and a sun lounger and was screened by cleverly planted shrubs and trees and fencing providing effective privacy from neighbouring chalets. Laundry facilities were provided for guests, use of the washing machine was free and the drier cost $4.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We drove in late in the afternoon and wanted a place to stay that had views. We drove a hard bargain on the only room left, the most expensive room as it has water views. We we're not disappointed, the outdoor deck had lovely views over the water - shame we didn't get there earlier to enjoy more of them. The room was well appointed, lounge area to sit in, kitchenette and a large comfortable bed. Town was walking distance away, a great spot to spend a night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Doesn't look like much when you first arrive, but we received a warm welcome We had one of the Garden rooms which was quite large and had a lovely private external deck.

The motel is very clean and well presented. Really nice bed and linen. Nice furniture. Very cosy and with kitchenette. As others have said, despite being on a main road we heard basically no noise. Walking distance to restaurants. Great location on the inlet in what is a beautiful seaside town. No phone in the room but free wireless which worked well.

The only thing that would improve this motel is reverse cycle aircon which would then avoid having to leave windows open at night (there are no flyscreens).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi David & Rose

Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamilnadu, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a hectic drive in pouring rain through the Coromandel Penunsula we were disappointed as we missed visiting Cathedral Cove. However our overnight stay at Tairua Shores was excellent. Very friendly folks and a comfy room helped us rest and replan and make up for the ground we had lost.
The room was very clean and the bed was nice. Amazingly there was plunger coffee supplied and this was way better than the usual satchets you get. And they supplied 300ml real milk - not just those tiny milk serves. Even gave an extra carton when I requested.
The room had a refrigerator, microwave, kettle etc.
The best part of the room was the sit out which was set in a small garden. Unfortunately the rain prevented us from using it.
Parking is right in front if the room.
Even though it was drizzling, the owner encouraged us to go to HotWater Beach and gave us a shovel. Turned out to be an awesome evening!
Con's:
Getting the hot water in the shower to the right temp was a bit fiddly - but the pressure was great.
Overall, one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in. I loved the way the rooms and garden were set up. Easy trip to Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, etc.
If only they could control the weather ......!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi

Thank you for a great review, yes it would be great if we could control the weather but maybe one day you will be able to return to Tairua and we can try our best to turn on the sunshine.

We wish you all the best
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

one night stay. Great design, with a private deck out the ranch slider. parking right outside the door. Decor..perfect. comfortable bed, didnt use the free internet that was offered. quiet rooms cant hear noise from neighbors. yet is located on the main road. Well organised. Greg the manager was considerate and well natured and has good local knowledge.

Room Tip: I believe there are two types. with the larger apartment types at the end. i wouldnt think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Greetings

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores accommodation has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. Cooked and continental breakfast delivered to your unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairua Shores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.