We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tairua Shores Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tairua Shores Motel to your Saves list
Tairua Shores Motel
156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Villach, Karnten, Austria
1 review
“Very friendly and helpful owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Tairua Shores Motel on July 17, 2013. Since it was low season the restaurants in town closed early and we appreciated the opportunity to cook our own dinner in the small apartment. Being from Austria we did not know too much about the area and the motel owner gave us some very good suggestions which places to visit. We even got spades and beach towels for hot water beach. After 10 days on the road we wanted to do laundry and there was a washing machine and dryer for hotel guests. I can really recommend this motel and it offers a lot for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thankyou for writing a review about our motel, we are always pleased to read when our guests have enjoyed there stay with us and we could help with making there time with us a memorable one. It was lovely meeting you and wish you well with your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
54
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a comercial traveller who has just completed 6 weeks in motels this is without doubt the best value motel in NZ. Beautiful spotlessly clean units they are far superior to some of the more expensive units I have stayed in. Loved the private courtyard and a welcoming host. A real find Les

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Les, it was great to read the fantastic review you gave our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back to Tairua Shores Motel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this motel for the second time from the 4th to the 6th July. The motel units are extremely clean and are very comfortable. It is only a 10 minute walk around the foreshore into town. The ferry to Pauanui is two minutes down the road. Excellent accommodation and owners are very nice to deal with. You won't find anywhere better to stay in our opinion, in Tairua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thankyou for you for a great reponse, if was great to welcome you back to Tairua Shores for your second stay and hopefully we might be able to make it a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My 12 year old son and I booked into a studio unit at this motel because the accommodation looked fresh and modern in the website pictures. And the motel certainly lived up to the pictures, including lovely little private patio. We were only staying one night, so while other motels in the same price range might offer more extras like access to Kayaks, or onsite restaurants, we really just wanted comfortable beds, cleanliness and a relaxing environment. The owner who booked us in kindly gave us an upgrade so that we could have twin beds rather than the double we had been allocated. From what I could make out, the upgrade was a bigger floor area, which wasn't really a bonus for us, but it was very nice of her to think about what might suit us better. The owner also gave us good advice about the best walking route into town (only a few minutes and very picturesque by the inlet) and that we might like to return by road if we were coming back after dark as that route is lit. Actually, on a cloudless night the inlet route was fine, and very atmospheric (romantic if I wasn't with a 12 year old!). I think the motel also offers family units with separate bedrooms which are in older buildings, and I did not see inside those, but with the standard of accommodation in the newer units I doubt they would not have kept the older units up to scratch as well. The only minor negative was a noisy fridge but it was beautifully frost free so no problem switching it off overnight. I think I might be oversensitive to fridge noise on otherwise beautifully quiet nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived straight from the airport after a flight from UK, couldn't have chosen a better spot to relax and unwind. Glenn the owner was really welcoming and helpful and the room was lovely with it's own private patio garden. It's an easy walk into town around the pretty harbour and a great base for exploring the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

lovely motel, very clean and modern, recently updated. gorgeous private patio. good location to walk to the bay and 10 min walk to town. idealy situated to tour the coromandel peninsular. very friedly and helpful owner, plenty of spades for hot water beach!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Bersac, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were originally only staying for one night but this motel was so good we booked for a further four. Glenn did everything to make our stay special. We cannot recommend highly enough. the location makes it easy to see the sights in the surrounding area. we had breakfast each day in our room and it was quite delicious

Room Tip: Studios are larger than standard rooms but I loved the shower in the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores accommodation has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. Cooked and continental breakfast delivered to your unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairua Shores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.