We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when visiting Tairua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tairua Shores Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tairua Shores Motel to your Saves list
Tairua Shores Motel
156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sequim, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting Tairua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Tairua and as American travellers, I "booked blind" online...we were delighted! Glenn was the perfect host, our family unit (the end unit facing the harbor) was ideal...spotless, well-equipped and comfortable enough for 5 adults. Laundry and beautiful landscaping topped it off. Great location: not downtown and a nice walking trail to town. Stay here!

Room Tip: The end family unit is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
54
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Tairua Shores and were very pleased with our garden view studio accomodation. The property is located within a short walking distance to the waterfront and town. We made easy day trips to Hot Water Beach and the Cathedral Cove area. Gary was very accomodating and allowed us a late checkout on our last day giving us a chance for a quick shower after our morning kayak trip. The free clothes washer was a nice perk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's been years since I've stayed in a motel but Tairua Shores makes me wonder if I need to revisit them. We had come from a B&B in Cooks Beach which cost us $100 more a night and offered nothing that this place didn't. We had a superior chalet, a studio cabin that was modern and stylish with lovely local art on the walls and in the nicely landscaped courtyard garden which makes for a great outdoor space and outlook from inside your room. Most of the time you could barely hear your neighbours although some noise comes through the walls at times (nice to see the managers have posted notices asking residents to be considerate of others in this regard). The rooms are set back from the road too so road noise is not an issue despite the main road being out front. The carpet is deep, chairs comfy, bed good and the cooking equipment and crockery are spotless. Plus there was a heater and fan in the cupboard and cleverly, a squeegee for the bathroom floor so that you didn't have to suffer a wet floor all day after showering. Top all that off with free wifi, parking at your door and friendly attentive hosts plus a location right on the Harbour within a short stroll to town and this has to be one of the best motels I have stayed at. Hopefully it's not an isolated stroke of luck as I'd love to find other motel gems like this in other parts of the world. If not, Glenn and Alison, please export your style! (Only one tiny criticism, a blind for the east facing triangular window above the bed would be nice to let you sleep past 6am in the dark in Summer!!!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thankyou so much for a great reveiw, it makes Glenn and I really happy when we read our guests have had a great stay with us, that is what we want people to experience. We have been looking into trying to find a blind or window shade for that top window it is just an awkward shape and size but we are on to it. We wish you all the best for 2013 and enjoy all your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We returned to stay at Tairua Shores Motel for the second time in November 2012. The first time we stayed I thought Tairua was paradise with its beautiful surroundings, sea and hills. The accommodation at Tairua Shores is first class, comfortable, immaculate, spacious and of an extremely high standard. There are tiny private gardens with lovely garden furniture. This is the best motel we have stayed in during our fourth tour of North and South Islands of New Zealand. Sometimes when you return to a place that you have enjoyed it fails to live up to your expectations but there were no disappointments at Tairua Shores. Glenn and Alison are kind, funny and helpful. This truly was paradise regained. Ellen and Mick Dunham Redditch United Kingdom

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We picked this motel based on it's tripadvisor ratings and the pics on their website. Lovely modern room in an excellent location - just a 10 minute stroll along the lakefront into the town where there are shops, the pub and eating options.
The room had a little seating area outdoors which was beautifully landscaped for quite a small space.
The Coromandel region is beautiful and we would have loved to have stayed for longer than just one night - Tairua is a great location to explore the region
Very friendly hosts who gave helpful suggestions and recommendations and extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked this via the net and were delighted when we arrived to have a happy host, genuinely pleased to see us.

Nice immaculate room, little private courtyard and spacious generally.

A really helpful manager who supplied beach towels and shovels for the local attraction, the hot beaches- no charge v $5 everywhere else. Indeed, he was like a local tour guide who set is on our way for our day in town. ONLY criticism is metred Internet.!

Look guys, get used to the fact that you can't charge for net access and not p!55 people off...

We would stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi thank you for your lovely comments on our motel, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but our concern is that you your very unhappy with being charged for wifi on metered interenet which I can fully understand BUT you were given FREE WIFI via a coupon which is the system we us upon arrival if WIFI is requested a guest is given a FREE coupon for either one hour, one day or three days depending on the length of stay they have booked with us and no charge was made to you personally or via your account for accommodation, plus we do not have metered internet. I can only think that you have confused us with some other accommodation provider and hopefully this will rectify your concerns with our motel. We hope one day you might return to Tairua and stay with us again.
We wish you all the best for 2013.
Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our 1st time in Tairua - on business - and we made the right choice for accomodation. Recently refurbished - with lovely decor, very good artwork on the walls, coupled with very friendly hosts and very good value for money make Tairua Shores a must include on the accomodation list. The location is quiet and handy to shops and restaurants with only 6 minutes walk to town along the waterfront. Sliding doors open onto a small private and secluded courtyard.

Room Tip: The complex is cleverly designed - so all rooms are quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 2853, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores accommodation has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. Cooked and continental breakfast delivered to your unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairua Shores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.