We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savory, succulent free range chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manaia

Manaia
Main Road, Tairua, New Zealand
020 7202 3482
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Tairua
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Savory, succulent free range chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Walked in off the street and was amazed at the great meal in this casual, unadorned, funky, bustling restaurant. It was the best chicken I've had in a very long time. The roasted potatoes were delicious, and I appreciated the amount of green vegetables that were served with the meal along with a nice rocket salad.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Donkey Jungle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Been there twice and enjoyed the wood fired pizzas very much. It can get a bit cold though, remember to take appropriate clothes with you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fish & chips a la carte”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pleasant staff. Very limited menu. Fish and chips - with 3 battered fish and too many chips! Thought it expensive for what it was $82 for 1 garlic bread, 2 fish & chips, 2 beers, glass of water and one glass of wine. Food tasted ok thou.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Manaia restaurant in Tairua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Staying in nearby Pauanui we dined a couple of times in Tairua and heard good things about this restaurant. We went in the evening, and were not disappointed. Great ambience and service, and the food was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waiting for good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We tried this restaurant which has outdoor dining and it was rather busy, perhaps because of the sign outside announcing the new chef. We waited and we waited and waited but once the pizza came it was worth the wait. My husband loved the ham and pineapple pizza; it was not soggy, had a great wood fired crust. The restaurant did seem a bit disorganized but lots of locals were there along with a local singer who should have stayed home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manaia also viewed

Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Manaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.