We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shells

Shells
Main road, Tairua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Tairua
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We live in Herne Bay/Ponsonby, Auckland area therefore have access to some very good restaurants. Shells was a real surprise in that the food exceeded expectations and is as good or better than what we are used to. We had prawns as a starter and salmon and tuna as a main.
All meals were excellent and we would definitely recommend.
The meals were a little slow in coming out however as the restaurant was full this is to be expected over the holiday period.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited for a family dinner
The service was great from the waiter etc and meals were good with a delicious fillet steak
Has improved from our previous experience
Special diet requirements were accommodated for with a smile
We enjoyed our time here
Furniture is a little dated

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant Meal During One Month Holiday in New Zealand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were served a stunningly delicious fresh Kingfish rubbed in harissa, seared in extra virgin olive oil, topped with an avocado salsa, presented on a base of sliced redskin potatoes, al dente asparagus, baby tomatoes, in a Dijon infused aioli. This was followed by a fabulous Eton Mess dessert, composed of hazelnut meringue, strawberries marinated in Cointreau, vanilla ice cream, whipped cream. This was the best meal we had during our entire month in New Zealand, and one of the best meals we have had ever during several decades of international travel. I am going to write to New Zealand’s Dish Magazine to do a feature article on this restaurant and chef and his fabulous dishes. Chef-Owner Nat Blomfield is a graduate of the Wellington Culinary Institute / Chef School, and is simply outstanding at what he does here. Bravo!!! Great value for the money. Highly recommended to fellow travellers. Philippe and Mary Roy, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our main meals could only be described as average. The fish of the day was served on a bed of mashed potato with a few pieces of limp asparagus. The steak was very gristly, most of which got returned. However the meal was rescued from being completely ruined by 2 mouth watering desserts which were divine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We holiday in Tairua and always make a point of enjoying a meal at Shells. We have always found the food to be fresh, well prepared and the portions very good. The service is good with friendly wait staff. The decor is very 70's and could do with a complete refurbishment. However the open fire is lovely in the winter months.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells also viewed

Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
Tairua, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Shells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.