We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B hosting at it's very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colleith Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colleith Lodge to your Saves list
Colleith Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8 Rewa Rewa Valley | PO Box 25, Tairua 3544, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Arnside
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxury B&B hosting at it's very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the splendid Colleith Lodge at the end of a four week trip to New Zealand, and Colin and Maureen ensured a memorable end to a great hoilday.

The purpose built accommodation is of the highest standard, set in lovely gardens with views over the estuary at Tairua. It is an ideal location for those wanting to explore the Coromandel area; each morning Maureen provided a printed list of things to do based upon our wishes for the day.

Breakfast included a range of freshly prepared fruits and full cooked options, but for us the highlight was the "6 o'clock drinks and canapes" with Colin & Maureen. It was a great way to learn more about the country and local area from two friendly and welcoming hosts - Kiwi hospitality at it's very best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Colin and Maureen are wonderful hosts. The accomations, furniture, building (he built it himself!!) food and wines were wonderful. And they are ready and willing to laugh. We had a grand time. They made us dinner reservations at the best place!!! We went there twice after enjoying wine and appetizers on their deck. In packing up I realized I was going to have some trouble with a large vase I had bought and both of them came to my rescue with the perfect bag for me to bring my treasure home. It's all about a great place with great people and great hospitality. Colleith Lodge has it all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent four nights here during the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand. Tairua is a two hour scenic drive from Auckland. Colleith Lodge is a purpose built bed and breakfast establishment set in a lovely garden area with fantastic sea and river views from its bedrooms.
Maureen and Colin are terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome as guests in their home. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed, with en-suites and a small patio. There is a swimming pool and spa pool outside all the bedrooms which would be great during summer. Breakfast was sustantial- beautiful platter of freshly cut fruit ( the majority grown on the property), stewed fruit, juices, yoghurt, cereal and grain toast followed by a cooked meal. Maureen's omlettes were terrific and my husband enjoyed his perfectly cooked poached eggs with bacon and mushrooms.
Canapes and drinks on the patio at six pm were a lovely touch and we thoroughly enjoyed the chat around the table. Both Maureen and Colin are very knowledgeable about the whole
area and advised us on different aspects of the Coromandel and Tauranga.
Colleith Lodge is expensive but worth it. It is a very special place and the best B&b that we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Spent the last two nights of our 3 week tour around NZ here. Yes it's expensive but it's also very, very good. We were in the Pacific suite, a nicely furnished and well equipped room. The view is just fantastic.
Drinks at 6 with other guests was fun and certainly gave us things to chat about afterwards :-) Breakfast was enormous - we settled for boiled eggs on day two so we could move afterwards. And all with that view.
Maureen and Colin are great hosts - don't get in the way - but are there if you need anything. Maureen offered a fun itinerary for a day tour of the Coromandel and Colin lent us a spade for Hot Water Beach. We wouldn't sty in this price accommodation every night but for somewhere special it's marvellous. And the view!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The most amazing aspect of this lodge was the view - it is outstanding, breathtakingly beautiful.

The website described the place as having three "suites" when really they are reasonable sized bedrooms. They do each have a patio area but not private - they are all open to each other and the pool.

The rooms are comfortable but quite sparsely furnished, no where to boil a kettle except the bathroom balanced on teh edge of the sink, and every time I took the tea tray into the room it was moved back to the shelf under the sink in the bathroom.

The canapes and drinks at 6pm are a nice touch, and the breakfast was very fresh - although nothing varied between the mornings we stayed so it may get monotonous after a while.

They advertise a laptop for the use of guests so I decided not to take my own, however this is not openly available, you have to ask to use it. I did this once but felt very awkward amd didn't ask again - if I'd known I would have taken my own as I normally do.

Overall a pleasant place to stay but not worth $495 per night - particularly when we stayed the following night in a one bedroom apartment in Auckland that cost less than half the price and was double the size.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This was our first stop in NZ as part of a 3 month holiday. The room was very comfortable with it's own sitting out area with views to die for. It was very quiet but accessible to everything we needed. Maureen and Colin helped us spend our days very fruitfully and in the evening we chatted with them and other guests over a glass of NZ wine and canapes which was perfect. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and with lots of choices and again served in a wonderful room with views. There are lots of nice places to eat each evening in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Pretty, purpose built B&B in a great location. Maureen and Colin very sweet and helpful. There is lots to do in the area and they were very helpful with local dining spots. Room was comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colleith Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colleith Lodge

Address: 8 Rewa Rewa Valley | PO Box 25, Tairua 3544, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colleith Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Colleith Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colleith Lodge Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colleith Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.