We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel if you have to stay in Manukau” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manukau Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Manukau Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manukau Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   631 Great South Road | PO Box 76450, Manukau 2241, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Manukau
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK hotel if you have to stay in Manukau”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The room was clean and the couple who run the place are very friendly. It was probably a bit overpriced compared to similar places we stayed in NZ including Auckland but it's ok for a stopover if you have a flight the next day. Our main disappointment which was not the hotel's fault was that there were very few decent places to eat or drink in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
10
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed just the one night after arriving in Auckland and everything was just fine. Clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet considering it is on a fairly busy road and just 300m or so from a Westfield shopping centre.

If you order the cooked breakfast you better be hungry because it was enormous (and delicious).

This was a lovely start to our holiday in New Zealand and we would definitely stay here again if flying in to Auckland and then heading south.

As well as the Westfield just up the road there is a Kathmandu store nearby (useful if, like us, you didn't bring enough warm stuff).

Just one thing to note, we brought our own TomTom sat nav from Oz, having purchased the map for New Zealand on a special deal. The Tom Tom map for NZ thinks that this part of the Great South Rd is in Wiri (the old name for the area) and not Manakau. There is no Great South Rd Manakau according to the satnav map that we had. So we needed to enter "Wiri" as the city/suburb. If you just use Auckland and then 631 Great South Rd you end up somewhere further north in the suburbs of Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I hadn't planned to stay at the Manukau Motor Lodge while travelling around NZ, but an unfourtunate bout of food poisoning forced me to stop my journey temporarily. My partner and I stopped at this hotel as an emergency only, and were thankfully accommodated by the staff. I arrived well before check-in time-without a booking, and the staff were gracious with me in my horrificly ill state. Even offered to call a doctor for me. :) They helped carry my bags to the room and were incredibly helpful. We were given a studio room on the second floor, which looks like it was recently renovated. The room was a bit cold for me (I'm from Australia, and am not used to the freezing NZ weather), but there was a small heater in the room. Also, it was probably too cold because I was ill. But the housekeeping staff were very helpful when my partner asked for several more blankets and were very obliging. The hotel is also very close to shops and places to eat. Even though we were only there one night, it was a pleasant stay. The room was large enough for two people to fit comfortably in, and it was a nice and quite motor lodge. Very clean and tidy. Comfortable bed - had a really good sleep. Overall, despite being sick, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanganui
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked a Spa studio unit for 1 night after reading previous reviews and because of proximity to the airport. We were greeted by Neil on arrival and he was very friendly and helpful - even asking if we needed a local area map and showing us the best way to get to town and back across the busy road. He also helped us out with a last minute booking for a friend for that night. The rooms were clean, fresh, comfortable and surprisingly quiet (didn't hear a thing when the door was shut) given the proximity of the busy road just out the front. The beds had crisp clean sheets on which made for a pleasant nights sleep and everything was spotless. I would happily book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Spa unit and an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very nice people and couldn't have made our stay any nicer. Very clean and tidy. Couldn't have asked for a better palce to stay!!!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality after our very dissapointing start at Rayland Motel, so glad we stumbled upon you!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Very convenient motor lodge for anyone taking an early flight out of Auckland Airport. In line with the clean, orderly and down to earth motor lodges in New Zealand and Australia.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at Manukau Motor Lodge for approx 3 weeks while in Auckland on business.
Cannot speak kindly or highly enough about the owners and their staff. Everyone is so lovely and friendly.
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The housekeeping staff do a truly fantastic job!
Location is central Manukau - close/walking distance to mall, restaurants, supermarkets, video store, service station, movies, liquor store, rainbows end, airport.
Facilities are great - awesome deep sunny swimming pool and spa pool, laundry is cheap, charge back facilities at some great close by restaurants which is so handy, yummy breakfast delivered to your room each day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manukau Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manukau Motor Lodge

Address: 631 Great South Road | PO Box 76450, Manukau 2241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manukau Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our complex is ideally located being an easy walk to Westfield Shopping Centre and Manukau CBD. This centre includes SKYCITY cinema and restaurants. Motorway (State Highway 1) on and off ramps make for easy access to us and to and from the rest of Auckland. Auckland Airport is a 10 minute drive. Our complex includes, Studio, one and two bedroom units, Spa bath units, Swimming and spa pools and sauna. QUALMARK 4.5 star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Manukau Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manukau Motor Lodge Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manukau Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.