We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful man at reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allenby Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Allenby Park Hotel to your Saves list
Allenby Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Great South Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau 1062, New Zealand (Formerly SilverOaks Inn Manukau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful man at reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was adequate and it was clean...although when I got into bed I could smell a musty smell which we checked out and found the carpet against the wall on my side was sopping wet from the skirting board to about 20 cm out...so that was the musty smell. Ended up sleeping in the single bed on the other side of the room and I couldn't smell it there. The guy at reception was very welcoming and booked our shuttle for us to get to the airport the next morning. He was fantastic. Would probably not stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
15
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed staying here and had a very comfortable room with a balcony. The rooms are affordable and was very clean with fresh linen and soft towels. They are renovating parts of the Hotel so one can expect some things that are not quite perfect yet. No doubt it will be worth the wait to see the work completed. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very central and within walk distance of more than one shopping centre. Check out the Auckland night market in the parking area of the Hunter centre on Friday nights!! A great experience. As we go to Auckland on a regular basis the Allenby Park Hotel will see us again.

Room Tip: Careful of the rooms on the side of the playground - young people tend to be noisy there at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for the xmas and new year period for 2 weeks.Booked for family of 3 but son didn't like it so he stayed with other family members.Room we were given was small and dark and hot no ceiling fan so went and asked for one it took about 15 mins for the night manager to look through the store room as most standing fans were broken ended up with one that can only work on pressing number 3.Bathroom light was not working 2 days before replacing.Had no sky TV or hairdyer in the room. Housekeeping only put in fresh towels,toilet paper.Sometime had to go looking for milk for mini bar.The room was never serviced properly especially the bathroom!
Went for cooked breakfast one morning was told only continental for the next 2 weeks!Was not even asked if we would like an upgrade! Especially as most rooms were empty!Website pictures are deceiving...only thing i liked about it was the location though...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with more light ideally for travellers passing by..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my partner booked this hotel last minute on Wotif while on a road trip to Auckland and It was amazing. We paid the same as we would for a private room in a hostel and got a room that was 100 times better.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and upon arrival we were given a choice of a balcony room or a ground floor room. Staff were so friendly and always happy to help. Beds are comfortable. The only thing I would have to complain about is the lighting in the bathroom isn’t very good quality but other than that perfectly happy with everything. Ample parking available onsite. Would stay again and recommend to anyone heading to Auckland .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you need to stay in the Manukau area, this hotel is affordable and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly, showers are hot and strong, rooms are clean, comfortable and everything works, located close to transport & shops, restaurant & room service is reasonably priced, and Internet is fast & a good price. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here 10/11th Sept the staff here were fabulous,friendly very welcoming. The hotel is in the middle of been vamped the room we had was beautiful,everything new.I went to this place about 2 yrs ago ago it was over due for a good clean up, it now has new owners and they are working hard to bring it up to standard.We had a free breakfast both mornings with our deal excellent.All thou the bar was closed and so was the restaurant we were able to by a wine and take it to our room.Differently going back.Sari think that was her name a lovely chatty host made us so welcome.hope it isn't to long before we go again It was about 10 mins to the Bruce Pullman Gymnastics complex.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the big car park side other side noisy from play ground and everyone taking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I travelled from India , stayed at Allenby Park Hotel on my way to Rotorua.It is close to the airport took 15 mins only.The in house Restaurant Chef prepared delicious Vegetarian meal specially for me.The Staff were so Polite, so Friendly .They gave me their Latest Upgraded rooms , which had new bedspreads and clean White sheets all new. The toilets were spic and span.
I saw the painter painting, the grounds were maintained , and clean. Internet was present for a small cost , lasted me for 7 days , i paid $5.00 for 7 days.
I will definitely come back here.Murthy

Room Tip: Ask for Business Rooms- i got a Free upgrade and negotiated my price to $89 dollars NZD
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allenby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenby Park Hotel

Address: 477 Great South Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau 1062, New Zealand (Formerly SilverOaks Inn Manukau)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allenby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Manukau, just a short distance to Westfield and Botany Shopping centres, and 8 km to Auckland Airport. The 70 room hotel offers studio, business and one bedroom apartments, all rooms have SKY TV, wireless internet, en-suite with shower, mini bar, tea / coffee making facilities. Onsite facilities include restaurant and bar, conference facilities for up to 200 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Allenby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Inn Manukau Hotel Manukau
Quality Inn Manukau
Manukau Quality Inn
Allenby Park Hotel Manukau, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allenby Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.