We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Grange Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Grange Rd, Manukau 2025, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unlimited Free Wifi
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for two weeks touring the North Island of New Zealand. The Grange Lodge Motel was by far the best accommodation and service I've ever experienced. The owners Pat & Bernie are awesome and couldn't do enough for us. If I ever go back to the North Island I'll definitely be staying with these guys again. Thanks guys for an awesome stay!!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour, see for yourself how great this place is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. It is so appreciated. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had a safe trip home. I hope you can make it back here again one day. In the meantime if you get "homesick" for us do check us out on YouTube under Grange Motor Lodge.
All the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
63
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a real gem!!! It has everything you need and more (free unlimited wi-fi, bathroom scales, teddy bear etc.) Spotlessly clean premises.
Pat and Bernie are the best hosts you could wish for. Genuinely warm, friendly and welcoming couple, who obviously take pride in everything they do. They simply could not be more helpful. No wonder they collected all those awards!
By the following morning, you’ll feel like you’re staying with friends. A word of warning, though: prepare a tissue if you read about their awards, very touching, but so very true!
Pat and Bernie really put themselves in travelers’ shoes, so to speak. And it’s often the little touches that make a huge difference in travelers’ experience, which Grange Lodge is full of (beautiful setting despite being close to motorway, Pat’s ‘welcome’ muffins, offer to catch up with laundry, regular visits by lovely Mack (the dog) whilst having our morning coffee etc.).
We truly wish we could stay longer. Many, many thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
How lovely of you to do this generous review. Thank you very much indeed. So enjoyed meeting you and I hope you can make it back again one day. You will always be most welcome. Mac sends his most winning woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family of five stayed in their two-bedroom accommodation for one night, and we wished it could have been more! I booked this place because of the great reviews on this site, and I can honestly say that our stay actually exceeded my high expectations. Pat came out to the car to greet us on arrival (and a late arrival at that!) and, with a warm and helpful manner, gave us a thorough tour of our little apartment and the grounds of the motel. He helped me with laundry and saw that all of our needs were met. He answered every question in the most helpful way. The apartment itself was so clean and well stocked - complete with a french press and complimentary coffee and fresh milk in the fridge! - that we could have happily lived there for a very long time! Our family travels quite a bit together all over the US and abroad, and this place greatly impressed us. They clearly love what they do and take great pride in what they provide. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We are a couple with three young kids and the two bedroom apartment worked perfectly for us. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your most generous review. It was so great to meet you all. We still have the delightful note written by the children on our wall. Here's hoping our paths may cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

what a treat....we met Bernie and Pat, wonderful motel proprietors. They made our stay a pleasure and we would recommend this motel highly.
Our studio apartment was spacious and comfortable.
The warm muffins on arrival were a delicious treat and Bernie managed to loan me a computer since my tablet broke. They went out of their way to be helpful.
Even the two cats and dog were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review of us. It was a treat to have met you too! I hope next time you're over this way you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grange on our first night in NZ and couldn't have had a better start to our trip. We arrived earlier than the check in time, but were graciously allowed in our room as it had been vacated early that morning. The warm muffins were an unexpected and much appreciated treat. The owners were lovely to talk to and we couldn't get enough of their dog "Mac". We had hoped to stay here on our last night in NZ, but unfortunately the hotel was already booked. (not a big surprise given it's popularity) The facilities are great and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Family unit had a lot of space for the 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to have met the 4 of you and I know that Mac really enjoyed meeting you too! I hope we see you all again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for only one night on our way north. We used it for an overnight stop, and not as a base to visit Auckland, and so cannot comment on convenience to city etc.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and seem to deserve the many awards that the motel has won over the years. We were given a large room with a separate bedroom -more like a self-contained flat than a motel room. It had everything we needed, and was clean and well-equipped. The location was on the corner of the Great South Road, and so the traffic was sometimes quite loud. The area is very cosmopolitan and, for Auckland, has a bit of an inner city feel. There is a golf courde opposite, and the immediate surroundings were pleasant enough.
It is very convenient for the airport, and would be a great place to stay for a night or two before flying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was so nice to have met you. I hope next time you're here you can stay longer and maybe enjoy a game of golf over the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booking for 23/03/2013, stayed one night only and didn't spend a lot of time in our unit. I had checked out Trip Advisor reviews, and just as the reviews state, lovely owners, beautiful muffins which our 7 year old had the pleasure of eating all by herself, meeting the ever friendly Mac, Our room was immaculate, the bed .. oh the bed, if I could have somehow hidden it in our luggage I'd be a happy person tonight. Thank you very much for your hospitality, and your directions to Bucklands Beach, I, like other reviewers would certainly stay again next time we're in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
How lovely of you to review us, thank you very much indeed. Mack sends his best woof to you all and we are so glad you, or at least, your daughter enjoyed the muffins so much! Thanks also for leaving the bed behind! So great that you appreciated it. I hope next time you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Address: 1 Grange Rd, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.