We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Grange Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Grange Rd, Manukau 2025, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unlimited Free Wifi
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Tokoroa, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thanks Pat and Bernie! Your motel is a great find. Immaculately clean, warm and very comfortable. We will definitely return. Wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
How lovely of you to review us - thank you very much. We so enjoyed meeting the three of you and look forward to seeing you again when you need more retail therapy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
67
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

How often is it that you look at a accommodation websites and reviews and when you get there it is not what they say it was . Well the Grange is one of the exceptions it certainly delivers on everything it says it does . Pat & Bernie were marvelous hosts , from the hot muffins at check in to the the day we checked out nothing was too much trouble for this couple . Even though out of the city , the convenience of the bus outside the units made it a breeze to get in an out of town . Would highly recommend the Grange to all , and we will certainly be staying there again next time.

Oh and if you want a great feed to start your day Bernie does a great bacon an eggs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We hope you take back some very happy memories of your trip to New Zealand, and hope this is not the last time you visit our country or stay at our place. Thank you so much for your review - it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

A nice clean and friendly New Zealand motel. We chose it because of the reviews and it's location - short drive from the airport, but close to the city for a morning appointment. It was exactly as the reviews described it. Fresh muffins on arrival, simple relaxed checkin and departure. We were a little delayed and arrived just after the office closed, but no complaints were made, super friendly. In fact the next morning they said we could have just rung rather than rushing to get there and they would have sorted things so we could have turned up at anytime and still checked it. Great service, quiet, and electric blankets and heaters - great for coming back to NZ winter. Would happily recommend this motel.

Room Tip: There are rooms further away from the road which you could probably request, but actually we found i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review. It was so nice to have met you both, even though only briefly. We would love to welcome you back here again next time you need accommodation in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

we booked our 1st night in NZ prior to leaving Oz. Pat & Bernie were so welcoming & helpful. no request was too much trouble. we ended up staying 2 nights & then again before returning to Oz. Very comfortable, even though close to the main road - no traffic noise. enjoyed the fresh warm muffins. fantastic place to stay & highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
It was so wonderful to welcome you to our place. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Here's hoping our paths may cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Service is Incredible! Right from when we booked we got a friendly email from Pat & Bernie asking if we needed any help with planning what to do in Auckland, they kindly sent us an envelope full of brochures which was an amazing help as we found some places we didnt even know existed.
When we arrived at the motel, we received warm chocolate chip muffins which went down a treat after our long road trip, the units were clean and had everything you could need.
Mack (the motel resident dog) was a particular favourite with our 6 year old son.
Pat & Bernie were ever so helpful with directions and anything we needed, they are just fantastic.
We were even back after dark one night after being out all day and found they had turned on the lights in our unit and shut our curtains for us so we didnt have to come back to a dark unit.
We actually preferred this location rather than being right in the city, we were quite central to most things and the motel was quiet.
Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much. So glad you enjoyed the muffins and the wonderful places that Auckland has to offer. It was great to see the three of you out and about every day enjoying the beautiful Autumn weather. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a problem with the booking which had nothing to do with the motel, but the people there were so friendly to fix it asap for us, they gave us an upgrade and a lovely room.

we stayed there for one night, its best if you are looking for a relaxing place away from the city noise, its 15 min from the airport and easy to locate.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
The photos you posted are outstanding - thank you very much indeed. What a shame you only stayed one night, we would've so liked to have enjoyed your company longer.
Mack sends his best behaved woof to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Got to the Grange Lodge Motel at about 2:30am and everything was in place as arranged. Lovely accommodation and super friendly helpful hosts. Made us feel SO welcome! We also got hot berry muffins fresh out of the oven when we went over to settle the account in the morning. definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Address: 1 Grange Rd, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.