We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for longer stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Proximity Apartments Manukau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Proximity Apartments Manukau to your Saves list
Proximity Apartments Manukau
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17 Amersham Way, Manukau 2104, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel for longer stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my sister and brother in law in a 2 bed apartment on the top floor.
The hotel is placed next to the Manukau Westfield mall so is quite central. The apartment had amazing views of Manukau and Auckland city. It was airy and spacious however the 2nd room was a small single with a bed to match- comfortable enough for me but not if you were a taller person!

There is free Wifi and car park included in the room rate and with a full kitchen, it's perfect for longer stays.

For the price, you can't get much better- I would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Public Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
36
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was very tidy with plenty of room for the 3 of us. We didn't use the glassed in type conservatory, but could have been an option. Great views over to the Manakau Heads and could see the planes taking off and landing. We only stayed 2 nights but if we had stayed longer, being able to have a washing machine right there would have been very handy. Beds made each day was nice too. I found the staff very approachable and polite. Parking is great, make sure when you book that you request a park as they are limited and cost $5.00 nz per night, well worth it as a very secure building. Restaurants and the Mall and supermarket are really handy, all within walking distance from the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Public Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Some reviewers have bagged this property, but it's quite adequate and in a very handy location. I found the staff friendly and helpful. The property is handy to restaurants in the Manukau mall, and there is a cafe almost next door (closed on Sunday). The one-bedroom apartment I had was quite adequate for someone on their own, but would be crowded for a family. The apartment has a small dining area and kitchen, a small living area with just one couch, and a small bedroom. There's a small balcony with two chairs and a table. Yes, that's four smalls!

I had a room on the 14th floor facing the Manukau harbour; great view of the city and airport, especially at dusk. No noise from the city centre. Aircraft noise a bonus! Parking is only $5/day.

Shortcomings: The furnishings are fairly cheap and are showing a lot of wear, and unless renewed the place will look quite tatty in a while. The bed is shocking; small and saggy. Replacement is needed urgently. The TV seemed to have only a very few channels, not even all the free-to-air ones, and they bore no relation to the numbers given in the room guide. A better Sky subscription would be in order. No free wifi in the rooms.

All in all, at $129 it's not a bad spot to base yourself.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, on the side away from the shopping centre would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Public Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to the team. We take great pride in our property standards – we invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span – inside and out. I have addressed your concerns with the Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what/ where can make improvements. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the constructive comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked the apartment based on the location, price and we could self cater. After reading the reviews we knew the apartments were small, but they were really small, for our family of four. We had the two bedroom, single room only large enough for a single bed and double room, only a double bed. The sofa bed in the lounge, was a very cheap style sofa bed and the teenage son was not over impressed. The apartment we felt could have been cleaned better, lint on the sofa, carpet. Bathroom was clean and sheets on beds etc clean. Minimum in the kitchen, not really able to cook for a family, takeaways is fine. Although no dining table, and only the one sofa. We bought the outside patio table and chairs inside for extra seating and somewhere to eat breakfast. Holes in the wall where the TV shelves had been. Good location to Westfield Shopping Centre. Although at night noise from the pub went until late. Despite my review the place served the purpose of the weekend stay and was a good location for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Guest Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping and maintenance standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – feedback@vrhotels.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The staff were less than friendly, its a bit dated and there was no remote for the tv in the room.
It was ok, and location good if that is where you need to be. The room was clean and had everything I needed.
I wouldnt stay here again though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Guest Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. All feedback is used in assisting us to better understand where improvements are required.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Proximity for a week in June, we paid a bit extra to have a room higher up which was worth it as it was better for street noise. The rooms are very small for 2, I'd recommend taking a 2 bedroom for 2 people, the units are oldish, ours was clean and the cleaners came each day to tidy up, my biggest complaint would be the bed, it is only a double and very uncomfortable, if they did nothing else to the units they should replace the beds. Jason on the front desk is very friendly, some of the others will only grunt at you, is it 4 star, no, it is much more like a 3, but for the cost it is reasonable and close to the shopping center and airport. The aircraft noise didn't bother us at all, the windows are reasonably thick, not sure if they are double glazed though. If you are after something functional then Proximity will do the trick.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and ask for a 2 bedroom unless you are travelling alone, and the higher you are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Guest Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience! Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the staff and refurbishment suggestions. Let us know what you think of the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

May 31st 2013 we came in, asked for a room, and got a room ( room 405) for three nights at $129 per night. The room was clean and we liked the position. We liked the “proximity” the apartment has to the area we wanted to visit. Plenty of hot water and warm with the heat pump.

However our television did not work, so I asked about it. It was only then we were told that the building had suffered a lightning strike and the TV technician was working on it. It would have been appropriate to inform us before we took the room. The first night all the channels were unwatchable but the next night channel one was unwatchable and that was the one we watch.

As I was dealing with car sales I wanted a phone but discovered our phone did not work. I mentioned this to the reception that day (Friday 31st May) and was informed that they would fix it the next day. This was not done and I had no feedback.

Looking at the photos on the Internet the decor and the beds look lovely. Ours had a unfinished look, a plain white sheet cover.

There was no plug in the kitchen sink, and the waste disposal stunk. We could not find all the dishes so on the second day I looked into the dishwasher and there they were from the previous user or the cleaners. We had to ask for room service the first day. I mentioned this to the day reception, Jason (he was good and friendly, I will recommend him) and he was not impressed. Said he would get it attended to and it was, much later. The cleaners did not do their job, splash back to the cooking top was not cleaned.

The charge was $129 a night and three nights at $5 for car storage amounts to $402 but we were charged $407.23. Why? I did not question the reception person, an Indian, very businesslike but not very friendly and not very welcoming.

I felt that for $129 a night it was poor. We had to stay another stay another night in Mangere, Best Western for almost the same cost and it was very good.
I went past Proximity the other day and said to myself I would not stay there again. Value for money, no.

Nigel King

Room Tip: Ensure all facilites work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Guest Relations Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. All feedback received assists in getting a wider understanding of areas of improvement. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that we will urgently address, such as staff and communication development. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Proximity Apartments Manukau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Apartments Manukau

Address: 17 Amersham Way, Manukau 2104, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Proximity Apartments Manukau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Proximity Apartments Manukau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Apartments Manukau Hotel Manukau
Proximity Apartments Manukau Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proximity Apartments Manukau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.