We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 mile beach really” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninety Mile Beach

Ninety Mile Beach
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of...
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Kaitaia
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Nelson NZ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“60 mile beach really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Take the bus - picked up from the hotel and took a "Grande tour of the North". A very interesting day - lots to see

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Harrisons Coach trip to Cape Reinga - Bril!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this coach trip...couldn't believe that we would drive along the beach at 40km an hour...looking out both sides of the bus & seeing sand lol...but our Maori driver 'Colin' made the trip for me...a very tall chap over 65yrs but how funny!!! kept us laughing & himself all the way...Harrisons...he's a diamond!!!. Some people went sand surfing which was great to watch being honest...all part of the deal...we got to Cape Reinga, which i enjoyed & had plenty of time for photos etc..we stopped off for a prepacked lunch...but again that was enjoyable on a quiet beach we then stopped off again for more photos of a lovely little bay...really good day out - Cheers Colin!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bus Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

90 mile beach was fantastic.....would go again. We didn;t experience the fun on the hill but saw so many young and old people having fun.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, NZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bus-route to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

By all means, take the bus trip up to Ninety Mile Beach and enjoy the antics and delivery of "Barry" the incredible Maori bus driver for Fuller's Great Sights tours. He talks with humour and insight and shares his beloved Maori culture so wonderfully with all his charges. And he knows how to have fun. But the beach, WOW. Be prepared to believe in God again because this place will fill you with awe for a world untouched by other humans and so much beauty! The entire trip takes a day but there is plenty to do and lots to eat to. Don't hesitate - go!.
Carmen

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai china
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very grand must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

only few people on the beach.Very grand view.
If you have 4X4 SUV will be best drive through the beach
we only stay for 1 hour,good for half day with kids

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninety Mile Beach also viewed

Waipoua Forest, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Ninety Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninety Mile Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.