We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Northland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Restaurant

Beachcomber Restaurant
222 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
+64 9 4082010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Kaitaia
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Northland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really good restaurant with delicious, fresh food (saladbar, seafood, meat,...). They can be proud of their frendly staff and the nice atmospher.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Fav”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been to Kaitaia a number of times and have eaten at most of the food establishments in town. I have to say the Beachcomber is definitely my favorite and one of my fav's in all of New Zealand. The food is always spot on and the staff is friendly and knowledgable. And who can say no to the salad bar and delicious home made ice cream! Once you check it out you'll find yourself returning again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Loved the fresh local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a wonderful night at the Beachcomber, lovely warm atmosphere and attentive staff. Had the 'fish of the day' which was absolutely delicious ! And a really nice touch being able to chose your own salads.

The home made licorice ice-cream is amazing worth the trip itself !

It's great to see a place with a lot of heart and soul in it, well worth the visit. I'll be coming back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the top restaurants north of Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Unfortunately we are only able to visit the Beachcomber twice a year but wish they would set up nearer to the Bay of Plenty. The attention to detail together with the professionalism of the owners and their team is something we rarely meet in our travels around NZ. The food is classically prepared with some modern twists yet along with the wine list manages to be affordable. Small groups, business folk and couples all appear to equally enjoy the atmosphere not to mention the food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visit this in Kaitaia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best place to dine in New Zealand Far North. Excellent service and quality food. The salad bar is the best I've seen anywhere. Nice wine list featuring local wines. Décor really good too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Restaurant also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.