We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obliging Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orana Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaitaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orana Motor Inn
Save
You added Orana Motor Inn to your Saves list
238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Obliging Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Although the motel was a little thread bare, it was more than compensated by the quality of the breakfasts and dinners that we enjoyed. The staff were very obliging, even going down the road to retrieve a camera that one of our members had left behind. We were a group of 34. Nothing was too much trouble. Even our trip to Cape Reinga was organised through them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked in here for 2 nights as our plan was to self drive up to Cape Reinga.
However after booking in and reading more brochures we changed our minds and went for the Sand Safari trip(see review).
The Orana do offer a' 2 night b&b with Cape trip package', if you ask for it at booking....so our mistake, and we missed out!!

The room we had at this motel was large and comfortable equipped with everything we needed.
The food was really good, large portions..............in fact Peter(the proprietor) advised me on the first evening to order 2 starters instead of 1 starter and 1 main course;and he was right. Second night I only had a main course and it was just right.
The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is welcome.
Free internet is available for all residents, not just WiFi. Another plus point.

This motel is refreshing in that the bar is stocked with New Zealand wines, beers and cider, lots of which is local too.

The pool didn't look very inviting but apparently there was a water shortage and it couldn't be topped up, not that we had much time to use it anyway.

All in all a great place to stay as a base for the Cape trip
.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Agree with other reviewers that the rooms are dated, but mine was clean and comfortable. The service is excellent, and the food (especially dinner) was really good. I was very pleasantly surprised. The free WIFI was also of a faster and better standard than many other places I have stayed at. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms have been updated and are now very modern and comfortable. The bathroom lino needs updating, but the shower and toilet are sparkling new! The eftpos machine was down so I got a dessert for free. The service is second to none. I am a repeat customer and highly recommend this motor inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Orana Motor Inn is stuck in a Time warp, our dated furnishings, towels and bedding that need to be donated to a local shelter but you can not deny the service it is just outstanding, the dinner menu is brilliant and locality cant be beaten.

Room Tip: Not next or above the washhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The combination of the dated 70's decor and the urgent need for significant refurbishment make this one of the least value motels we stayed in while travelling NZ.
The management and staff were friendly enough, but there needs to be a step up in management practice before this motel can be recommended to the travelling public.
The expensively priced meals in the restuaruant were huge and 99% of the adult population would be unable to eat a main course. Reducing meal size and price accordingly would attract more patrons to what was a virtually deserted restaurant on a Friday and a Saturday night.
The location is great and it is a shame that a motel with so much potential is being run this way.
At least the bed linen was clean.

Room Tip: An adequate plan B if you can't find accommodation elsewhere in this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Big complex, 70s type concrete block I guess and hard to update - but needed. Bed comfortable enough. Pillows hard and thick. Towels have seen many washes. Shower takes a while to heat up but it gets there. Skirting boards need attention. Friendly staff. Breakfast OK; dinner much better. Loved the magazines to be read and good to have the paper available. Microwave, tea & coffee facility in room, plus fridge. Close to twon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana Motor Inn

Address: 238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. Return guests testify to good food and a comfortable stay. Central for exploring the Far North. SKY TV. Day tours of Cape Reinga & 90 Mile Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orana Motor Inn Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orana Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.