We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orana Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaitaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orana Motor Inn
Save
You added Orana Motor Inn to your Saves list
238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms have been updated and are now very modern and comfortable. The bathroom lino needs updating, but the shower and toilet are sparkling new! The eftpos machine was down so I got a dessert for free. The service is second to none. I am a repeat customer and highly recommend this motor inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Orana Motor Inn is stuck in a Time warp, our dated furnishings, towels and bedding that need to be donated to a local shelter but you can not deny the service it is just outstanding, the dinner menu is brilliant and locality cant be beaten.

Room Tip: Not next or above the washhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The combination of the dated 70's decor and the urgent need for significant refurbishment make this one of the least value motels we stayed in while travelling NZ.
The management and staff were friendly enough, but there needs to be a step up in management practice before this motel can be recommended to the travelling public.
The expensively priced meals in the restuaruant were huge and 99% of the adult population would be unable to eat a main course. Reducing meal size and price accordingly would attract more patrons to what was a virtually deserted restaurant on a Friday and a Saturday night.
The location is great and it is a shame that a motel with so much potential is being run this way.
At least the bed linen was clean.

Room Tip: An adequate plan B if you can't find accommodation elsewhere in this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Big complex, 70s type concrete block I guess and hard to update - but needed. Bed comfortable enough. Pillows hard and thick. Towels have seen many washes. Shower takes a while to heat up but it gets there. Skirting boards need attention. Friendly staff. Breakfast OK; dinner much better. Loved the magazines to be read and good to have the paper available. Microwave, tea & coffee facility in room, plus fridge. Close to twon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Compact unit but adequate. Good to have electric blankets and heat pump.Clean and tidy, off street parking and handy to shops etc.
Continental breakfast available and licensed restaurant with good menu on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Kaitaia, in winter and too much overpriced accommodation, we were glad we found the Orana which was far better value for a family room than many other places we tried. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were all friendly (Peter the owner was especially helpful). Granted some of the features might be antique like the heater and radio behind the bed but you get free WiFi and a large modern TV. Personally I would rather spend the money saved on a nice dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The manager was very obliging and supplied me cutlery and plates but the room was VERY dated and worn out. It has the oldest design heater I have ever seen (a single tube overhead). It even had a (not working) piped music/radio that could be at least 40 years old. For the price I paid (NZD99) the room could have been at least bigger, or newer or had a kitchenette. I had a very noisy family next door and they talked loudly well past midnight; there was virtually no sound proofing. However, internet was unlimited and free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana Motor Inn

Address: 238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. Return guests testify to good food and a comfortable stay. Central for exploring the Far North. SKY TV. Day tours of Cape Reinga & 90 Mile Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orana Motor Inn Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orana Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.