We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orana Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaitaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orana Motor Inn
Save
You added Orana Motor Inn to your Saves list
238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Carrara, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The combination of the dated 70's decor and the urgent need for significant refurbishment make this one of the least value motels we stayed in while travelling NZ.
The management and staff were friendly enough, but there needs to be a step up in management practice before this motel can be recommended to the travelling public.
The expensively priced meals in the restuaruant were huge and 99% of the adult population would be unable to eat a main course. Reducing meal size and price accordingly would attract more patrons to what was a virtually deserted restaurant on a Friday and a Saturday night.
The location is great and it is a shame that a motel with so much potential is being run this way.
At least the bed linen was clean.

Room Tip: An adequate plan B if you can't find accommodation elsewhere in this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Big complex, 70s type concrete block I guess and hard to update - but needed. Bed comfortable enough. Pillows hard and thick. Towels have seen many washes. Shower takes a while to heat up but it gets there. Skirting boards need attention. Friendly staff. Breakfast OK; dinner much better. Loved the magazines to be read and good to have the paper available. Microwave, tea & coffee facility in room, plus fridge. Close to twon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Compact unit but adequate. Good to have electric blankets and heat pump.Clean and tidy, off street parking and handy to shops etc.
Continental breakfast available and licensed restaurant with good menu on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Kaitaia, in winter and too much overpriced accommodation, we were glad we found the Orana which was far better value for a family room than many other places we tried. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were all friendly (Peter the owner was especially helpful). Granted some of the features might be antique like the heater and radio behind the bed but you get free WiFi and a large modern TV. Personally I would rather spend the money saved on a nice dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The manager was very obliging and supplied me cutlery and plates but the room was VERY dated and worn out. It has the oldest design heater I have ever seen (a single tube overhead). It even had a (not working) piped music/radio that could be at least 40 years old. For the price I paid (NZD99) the room could have been at least bigger, or newer or had a kitchenette. I had a very noisy family next door and they talked loudly well past midnight; there was virtually no sound proofing. However, internet was unlimited and free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business.
I found it was very overpriced for what it was, could do with a lick of paint, rooms are looking very tired.
Decor is very old fashioned.
Shower was a good pressure but that was about the only real plus

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only stayed 1 night so the accomodation was adequate. we booked a suite but only got a room with separate bathroom. We found it most strange that a fridge & microwave were provided but no plates, cutlery etc so if you wanted to heat up food in the microwave, there was no means to eat it! We opted to go down the main street to purcahse a take-away from the Chinese Take-away/fish & chip shop which was excellent value and top quality food, albeit the portions were HUGE! On return to the Orana, we were unable to settle down as there was a tremendous squealling noise from the water pipes - despite running the taps in case there was an air-lock, it continued, so I reported it to the owner who could not have been more apologetic or accomodating (maybe because he knew there was a problem which he said the plumber had been unable to fix) and immediately changed our room to a much larger room with no noise! As our original room was above the laundry room, I suspect this could be the source of the problem! we were given a complimentary breakfast as compensation, so certianly cannot complain about how our problem was dealt with. An adequate place for 1 night but not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room above the laundry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana Motor Inn

Address: 238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. Return guests testify to good food and a comfortable stay. Central for exploring the Far North. SKY TV. Day tours of Cape Reinga & 90 Mile Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orana Motor Inn Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orana Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.