We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst guy in New Zealand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstreet Lodge

Mainstreet Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaitaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mainstreet Lodge
Save
You added Mainstreet Lodge to your Saves list
235 Commerce Street, Kaitaia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Kiel, Germany
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst guy in New Zealand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The only reason why we came into the Mainstreet Lodge was because Mike, the owner, promised he had work for us.
Kaitaia is not really the place you want to hang around when you're in New Zealand.
At the beginning Mike seemed to be really nice. We met him at a campground near Cape Reinga.

We talked and he offered us work at a kumara farm so we swapped mail adresses and kept in touch.
He told us he'd mail us the exact date (which was supposed to be the 6th of February) when the work would start.
A week later we decided to come around a few days earlier before the work would've actually started but when we got there Maik told us it would take another 1,5 weeks until we could start harvesting.
We were quite annoyed because we kept in touch via mail up until the day we had arrived at the hostel and he knew that it wouldn't start on the 6th BEFORE we came.
After that we talked to some other Backpackers who knew the farmer and they told us the work wouldn't start until end of Feburary.
They also explained that this was a usual thing going on. There were some people who were already waiting for more than 3 weeks to start work.
Basically what Mike does is get the people to stay at his hostel by promising them work and letting them wait.
Sometimes he offers work for 4 hours daily in his hostel to pay off the room (which would be a wage of 5$ for an hour of work).
But not only is he a liar, he is one of the most disrespectful persons we've ever met.
He likes to call the people in his worker house 'Lazy Bastards' because the tiny kitchen sometimes happens to be a sightly bit untidy (which is not a big surprise when there are about 20 young adults living together).
One time we were standing in front of a room talking to an elderly lady when Mike wanted to go through and he just coughed a bit to get our attention to step aside just because he didn't want to go around on the grass! It needs to be mentioned that the rooms are situated around a small footpath and in the middle is grass. You can't even call it a detour walking across the grass instead of using the footpath.
Another unbelievable thing that happened was that he promised us a double room since we were there as a couple but then he put us in a 4-bed dorm room. The room was empty so it was ok but after 5 days he kicked us out, telling us we should sleep in our car over the weekend because he wanted to have the money for a full dorm room.
Finally we decided to pack our things and leave.
Just to mention a few other things, in those 5 days we spent in this hostel we've seen cockroackes crawling over the floor and every person we talked to in the hostel didn't enjoy their time there. They all felt pretty much betrayed and used.
Not once did Mike seem to enjoy what he was doing, nor did he seem to like meeting people from other countries and having their company.
It appears to us as if he is doing his job only for the money and tries to get more and more money our of the travellers pockets by charging for example 10$ for 100MB wifi/kicking people out of the rooms...)
Mike really is two-faced and he won't show you his real face at the reception.
So Mike if you're reading this which I'm sure you do since we've send you the link via mail, maybe you should think about going back to your old profession of being a car dealer in England.
To us that seems to be the job you'd be "GREAT" at. ;)
Marvin,Vivi & Johnny

Room Tip: Don't take any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel, in a 4 bed dorm. During the second night, an outsider managed to get in the hotel and in our dorm room while the roomates and myself were sleeping. The thief stole my computer and hard drive from underneath my bed and grabbed my phone which was under my pillow.
When i pointed out the responsability of the hotel, the owner was isulting and racist toward French, and said he would be happy not welcoming French people in his hotel. Attached is a screenshot of his email.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at Mainstreet in a double en suite. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable although there a few things missing like the curtains don't cover the window so they let in a lot of light and people can see you in bed/changing. There's no where in the bathroom to hang a towel, the sink is tiny, there are quite a lot of ants everywhere and the boiler, fridge and toilet in the room make random sounds throughout the night. The kitchen is pretty clean and we'll equipped though. I would only recommend staying here to go to Cape Reinga but if you have a car you might be better off finding accommodation in Ahipara as Kaitaia isn't very nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I don't use backpackers very much these days, as an old age pensioner, you sometimes get put off with the idea of noisy youngsters, but the hostel was fine, Mike the owner works hard to make the place work, there are five bed, bedroom ( two bunks) and more upmarket rooms with onsuites, most of the guests work at the local farms digging kumara ,when in season, my much travelled American friend thought the backpackers was ok by her, so check it out

Room Tip: onsuite rooms might be the better choice, if you prefer the space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Came up to Kaitaia to work and stayed at Mainstreet Lodge. Thankfully we only worked here for about a week so got to leave this place. The only good thing about this place is the kitchen which is big and has good equipment. The bad thing is everything else. The rooms were basic with only 4 bunk beds and a table with one plug. The skylight in the roof woke us up every morning at about 5 as it lit up the room. The showers were abysmal all 3 were shocking and some were just a trickle! The lounge area was ok but if you wanted to watch tv you had to have it full volume as the noise from the kitchen meant you couldn't hear it! The toilets seemed dirty and so was the sink with one tap broken! Just avoid this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was there for One Night only, we got a nice room with own shower, tv, fridge. The common kitchen was okay, huge and maybe a Bit more than a Hall than a cosy kitchen, but fine. Car Park Just in Front of the room which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a strange property initially cause of the layout but the rooms are huge and a lot of space is given. There is a ensuite toilet inside. super clean. the kitchen is huge and there is loads of communal space. The staffs are very friendly and assist you all out. You could park right outside of your room which I liked. They also taught us how to go 90miles beach (advise) and sand surfing.

Room Tip: you can borrow sand boards for a deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstreet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstreet Lodge

Address: 235 Commerce Street, Kaitaia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kaitaia
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mainstreet Lodge Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstreet Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.