We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-quality food & beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Church Dining

The Church Dining
87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei 2850, New Zealand
07 866 3797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“High-quality food & beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We had a very tasty meal at The Church. It is a bit pricey but well worth it as the food is high quality! It is a very romantic place to enjoy a bit, or even a nice place to treat yourself in a beautiful setting.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Supurb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The food was excellent, beautiful presentation, friendly staff and very romantic atmosphere. We stayed at The Church so it was so nice to just walk to the restaurant for dinner then back to our cottage to change to go to hot water beach later that night!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Really great Spanish influenced menu at really reasonable prices. We loved the food and the atmosphere and it is definitely a place we'd like to visit again. We went both nights for dinner during our stay at The Church accommodation. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Very welcoming, nice relaxed atmosphere. Waiter provided good advice on wine and food!
Food was excellent-had the mezze platter to start, followed by lamb tagine which was excellently cooked, friends were equally impressed with their steaks and fish of the day! Was too full for dessert but friends very pleased with creme brûlée and chocolate brownie! Very good value and very tasty-definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a 'chilled' atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

The Church catered for my wedding back in 2006 and I found the food to be superb. It's changed hands a couple of times since then, but I was not disappointed by my latest visit. The tapas approach worked very well and I had a great harissa chicken dish as a main. The quality of the food and atmosphere was such that I felt compelled to order a second bottle of wine (I hasten to add my wife was also sharing both the experience and the bottles). This doesn't happen that often, so I do use it as an indication that a restaurant has got things just right. The Church certainly did on this occasion and I will definitely be back as soon as I can!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Dining also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Church Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.