We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn good pizza!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Kitchen & Bar - CLOSED

The Cove Kitchen & Bar
7 Grange Road, Hahei 2850, New Zealand
07 866 3502
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Takeout
Rotorua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Damn good pizza!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Yum! Great pizza, good options and genuine friendly, kiwi service. Well done guys! This is most definitely the place to eat in Hahei. (Way better than the nearby ice cream parlor where they don't even serve you!) the pizza bases are home made and the toppings are plentiful! We will definitely be back! Thank you for a great meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value, nice warm fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just had a simple meal of pizza and burger which was well presented, tasty and plenty. The pot belly stove was very welcome on a cold night.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great food in this pub style place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were in Hahei for 2 nights and ate at the Grange on both of them.... The food is fresh and served quickly, with the place having a pub/bistro style ambiance. Good selection on the menu for both food and drinks.... Great atmosphere and good value...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good menu selection, reasonably priced, do get in early for dinner, we went in just after 8pm one night and it was closed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is the place to eat in Hahei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were staying at the Hot Water Beach Top Ten Holiday Park. We discovered this restaurant when we drove to Hahei to go to Cathedral Cove. In three weeks we only ate at four places we liked. We loved this place and came back the next night. Would have come again, but we left the area. The food is excellent. The service is a little different. You go to the counter to order and pay and get what you want to drink. Your food is brought to you once it is ready. The food is presented in an artistic manner. So delicious. They sell pizza, but we did not get that, I had the catch of the day and my husband ate a different meal. Our meals were about $32 each, but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.