We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purangi Gardens Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Save
You added Purangi Gardens Accommodation to your Saves list
321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Much needed break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First visited Purangi Gardens for my Daughters Birthday weekend in Feb 2014. Sooooooo relaxing, basic chalet,lovely and clean and made very welcome by our hosts,Sue and Rod.
Second Visit was a couple of Months later in March, this time brought my Son and his Girlfriend from Perth, Daughter again and future Son-in Law.Upgraded to Purangi house.Amazing!
Fully equipped,plenty of space( sleeps up to 10) and the views overlooking the Ocean and native bush, breathtaking.
Spent the whole weekend, kayaking ( free to use) then off to nearby Hahei beach and Cathedral cove for snorkeling with stingrays.stingrays. Didn't want to leave.
Now planning 3rd visit in August for Anniversary, this time taking Hubby and Friends new to New Zealand who haven't really seen much of our lovely country so far.Thought what better place to start.I've been here for 7 years so far and traveled quite a bit, but it says it all when this is the 3rd time this year.The scenery is out of this world, lots of things to do if, like me you love nature and the Ocean,plus its safe.Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the quaint Lavender Chaletfor 2 nights and loved everything about it. Sue and Rod are fantastic hosts who love sharing their beautiful property and making guests feel welcome. The accommodation was filled with character and was very clean and tidy. From providing fantastic fruit grown in the orchard to extra blankets incase we got cold (which we didn't even need) our every need was taken care of in this fantastic accommodation. Highly recommended for those looking to escape and be surrounded by nature. We only wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to heading back soon.

Room Tip: Both chalets are fantastic for couples or families with small children.The Yurt loooks like great fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a beautiful, tranquil place to relax and enjoy the scenery. We stayed in the Sunflower Chalet, which was a very cute cottage located just steps away from the river. We enjoyed paddling around in kayaks the owners had available for guests. We were only there one night but would have loved to have stayed much longer. To get there you drive down a gravel road for a couple of kilometers, but that just adds to the charm of the experience. Freshly baked bread, fruit from the orchard, flowers from the garden, and a beautiful view of the river were waiting for us upon our arrival. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt.Lonsdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I returned for our fifth visit to Purangi Gardens. We stayed at Orchard House which we love for its homeliness and the beautiful gardens & orchards which surround it. Sue and Rod are wonderful hosts! The fresh flowers, fruit from the orchard, salad straight from the veggie patch, are the bounty from all the love, care and hard work they put into the gardens.
We just cherish the time we have at Purangi, Hahei and surrounds.
There is a store in Hahei, all the shops you could need in Whitianga (30 mins.drive) but we would recommend stocking up before you go if you want to cook at home.
Every comment in the Visitors Book says that people wish they had stayed longer... so we do!
Book early if you want a prized slot in the popular times.

Room Tip: Go chalet if you like cosy and in a charming little enclave or the Orchard House & Yurt if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Purangi House over christmas. It felt like a typical New Zealand bach. Beautiful views and beaches and the kayaks were a hit with the kids. The owners were so welcoming with flowers in each room, plums from their garden and helped my nephew look for his new Xmas present i-phone that he lost 4 days later!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived after a long journey from Singapore to Purangi Gardens Accomodation. It was exactly the peace, tranquility and charming place that we had dreamed about to collect ourselves. Sue and Rod welcomed us warmly with sweet and juicy plums and oranges. Sue had decorated the Orchard House with splendid bouquets of fresh flowers from the garden. The house is nested in the middle of a poetic landscape orchard garden with two tranquil ponds. On the wooden terrace, we enjoyed having breakfasts and a barbecue dinner. It was equipped with everything needed to prepare a nice meal. It is a lovely traditional family house where we immediately felt at home. The house is about 1km from the main property down by the waterfront where we could borrow kayaks to explore the surroundings. Nearby in Hahei, there is a little grocery shop, take-away, very good restaurant named The Church, not to mention Hot Sands beach and Cathedral Cove. Our time flew by and after 3 days we left with only regret not to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in the Sunflower Chalet for two nights. The owners are the right amount of accommodating. Appreciated the freshly baked loaf on arrival - goes well with the homemade jams in the fridge! Can't go wrong with BBQ's on the deck overlooking the estuary listening to the wildlife around with a bottle of wine - the perfect way to relax. The garden around is also plentiful and well stocked - the oranges were divine! Kayaks free to use so not a bad way to spend some time drifting around on the water. Short drives to Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Bit of a drive on the unpaved road to get to the property but nothing to worry about - my 1.5l very on-road city car managed just fine!

Room Tip: Sunflower chalet overlooks the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purangi Gardens Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purangi Gardens Accommodation

Address: 321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purangi Gardens Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.