We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, unmissable stay in the Coromandel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Save
You added Hahei Oceanfront to your Saves list
23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hahei B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
“Exceptional, unmissable stay in the Coromandel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We cannot speak highly enough of our experience at Oceanfront with Raewyn and Joe who treated us more like friends or family than paying guests.

Their genuine interest in people shines through. They are also very interesting people if you get them to talk about themselves. Their local knowledge and tips are very helpful.

The house is fabulous and puts many boutique hotels to shame. Its view and position, a walk down the garden path to the beach, are outstanding. We loved walking back from dinner under the stars along the beach.

The beach itself is stunning with its backdrop of little islands and the headland, lovely clean sand too, great for jogging along first thing in the morning.

Raewyn's breakfasts are top-notch in terms of quality, quantity and variety - hence the jogging first thing in the morning! Pre-dinner drinks and canapes on the terrace in the excellent company of our hosts was a lovely touch.

The above and beyond parting gesture was when Joe washed the rear window of our exceedingly dirty hatchback, despite a water shortage!

We rate this first equal (with Fletcher Lodge, Dunedin) out of 17 different accommodations in the course of our trip to New Zealand. Don't miss it!!!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Bathroom design slightly awkward
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Hosts Raewyn & Joe made us feel perfectly at home in this spotless, modern, stylishly furnished B&B. A fabulous breakfast was provided on a terrace perched above a beautiful beach with breathtaking panoramic views. This is a fantastic stretch of coastline with superb walks and scenery. Local restaurants are great, just a stroll along the beach. There are no drawbacks here, but if you are shopping in Tairua, we had a bad experience at Milly`s. Watch out !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

During our 7-week holidays in New Zealand, we mostly stayed in 4 and 5 star B&B's. Nearly all were of exeptional quality and made our trip in this beautiful country unforgettable. Of the 19 different lodgings we had, the Hahei Oceanfront was one of our favourites. The house is really wonderfully designed and the interiors are fabulous. The Mahurangi room was spacious and comfortable but it was the hospitality and kindness of Raewyn and Joe which made our stay one to be remembered. The breakfast was top as was the get-together with a glass of wine on the verandah, before going out for dinner. The views from the house towards the ocean are stunning. This address is top-of-the-bill.

Maaike and Dick Gorter
The Netherlands

  • Liked — Quality of the accommodation and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

A wonderful view will greet you as you enter this B&B - and what a friendly and hospitable greeting you are met with in this house. The breakfast is fantastic and is served on the veranda overlooking the ocean when the weather permits. You will fall asleep listening to the waves - A truly wonderful place that is highly recommendable.

  • Liked — The hospitality and ocean view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

We were lucky enough to stay with Raewyn and Joe as part of our honeymoon tour of the North Island. Hahei is a beautiful bay, tucked away in a nook on the East Coromandel. The hotel itself boasts FABULOUS views (see the pictures for yourself, and I am no photographer!!) and wonderful warm company.

You'll be greeted by the hosts and you enjoy a lovely glass of wine as a welcome, settle into the evening and Joe will recommend several restaurants for a bite to eat. They will even book for you. Listen to their recos - they know their stuff. We were sent to the Fireplace in Whitianga on one of our evenings and it was lovely!!

In the morning, after a very pleasant night's sleep in cosy, well appointed rooms with high quality linens, we woke to take a stroll around the bay before tucking into what could only be decribed as a breakfast for a king. Among her many other attributes, Raewyn is a fantastic chef - her muesli is to die for!.

There is plenty to do for a couple of day stay - Cathedral Cove is just round the corner and is a must-see. Take a boat trip and if you're lucky like us, you'll see some dolphins up close. (btw, Joe also reco'd the boat trip and arranged it for us!). Hot water beach is just around the corner with Whitianga worth a look too.

Leaving Hahei Oceanfront was a sad day. Nothing else in North Island came close to our stay there. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

We found this amazing homestay through Greenwoods guide (it is the front cover photo) and just stayed one night on 9 November in the back room. We wished we had stayed three and booked the suite. We pitched up on our motorcycles three hours early (because it was a cold wet day in most of the Coromandle) and Joe and Raewyn welcomed us with open arms. Nothing was to much trouble. The view from the main room took our breath away and the house itself is exceptional. the bedroom was good with an excellent bathroom and comfortable bed but the suite at the beachfront has everything. Book that if you can. Walked to Cathedral Cove in 35 minutes along the beach (ignore the signs saying three times that long) and then back for tea and wine which the hosts laid on. Followed that with dinner out at a decidely average restaurant (the better one, the Grange) open soons. Breakfast on the terrace after an early morning kayak round the coves was awesome. We stayed in many good homestays but this was the best on the beach. Book early and stay long.

  • Liked — Location, hosts, view and breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and direct
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.