We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST location in Hahei...Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Save
You added Hahei Oceanfront to your Saves list
23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hahei B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST location in Hahei...Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hahei Oceanfront for 2 nights on our honeymoon. Raewyn and Joe are fantastic hosts and the location is amazing. The room was clean and well appointed and had an ensuite bathroom with shower. While not advertised, every room has at least partial views of the ocean. The beach is steps from the backdoor and the views off the patio are breathtaking. I would also be remiss if I didn't mention Raewyn's home-cooked breakfasts, the quantity and quality of which my wife and I still discuss. Definitely not to be missed. If you are going to the Coromandel Penninsula, you MUST stay at Hahei Oceanfront.

Thanks for a fantastic honeymoon!
James & Amanda

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed at Hahei for one day/night which was definately to short as its a wonderful B&B.
The house is very modern and beautifully decorated and the view is out of this world, the house is ON the beach above the sand and is at the end of Hahei beach so you look out to the water and all the way back to the islands and its a truly special spot.
The breakfast that Raewyn makes is 5 star and delicious and you must try her homemade museli as its lovely.
They are very hospitable and lovely people.
The house is a 5-10 min drive away to all the sights like hot water beach and cathedral cove but worth the stay for the location.
The restaurants in the area are not so good, we went to the church which was very expensive and the food was not very good however the local wine was.
Overall we would recommend to others and def return

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

My wife and I were on a short break holiday, and wanted top class accommodation in a location that would offer some attractions, as well as some relaxation. We were not disappointed.

The rooms at Hahei Oceanfront are part of recently constructed home, especially intended to provide quality accommodation to a few guests. The rooms are light, have views, and very nicely appointed bathrooms. There are some shared fridge and sink facilities for making drinks etc. The home itself is constructed and decorated in a modern quality fashion, and is situated right at beach's edge, with fantastic beach and island views.

Raewyn and Joe as hosts are exceptional. They are hospitable beyond what one could expect of a B&B, including offering use of any part of their home, inviting guests for drinks and canapes in the evening, providing guidance on attractions (and making calls to check on availability and booking requirements of their own accord), and even driving us to some local attractions in order to allow us to walk all the way home on the beach.

To cap it all, the standard of breakfast was extremely high - in terms of choice and quality of what was offered, and undoubtedly due to Raewyn and Joe's work and talent in the kitchen.

The whole package was a fantastic experience, and one that I'm certain no one could be disappointed with.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We visited in August, hence it was a little chilly but the warmth of the welcome soon offset that! Raewyn and Joe made us feel at home and were attentive to our every need. The breakfasts are to die for (especially with that view and the noise of the ocean from the dining room) and will keep you going all day. Be aware that there is not a lot of choice of other places to eat in Winter in the evenings without travelling though. My partner had gone with the intention of doing some photography and was certainly not disappointed with the spectacular views. In particular we'd recommend the walk to Cathedral Cove, of course. Hot Water Beach was also fun for an afternoon if you're prepared to fight for your corner! Loved it, would go back any day - if you want the spectacular front suite though book soon as apparently it won't be on offer for ever, it's well worth the extra dollars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

A piece of paradise !
Everything is just perfect : location, house, seaview, architecture and decoration, hospitality, welcome, activities around, visit of the crypts, hot spool on the beach, kayaking, water temperature, quietness...
A mandatory stop on your travel in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We had the most fantastic stay at Hahei Oceanfront!
Please go there and see the fantastic house located on the brim to one of the most wonderful beaches you can imagine!
Your wonderful hosts, Raewyn and John, will make your stay a delight. They will be more than happy to help you make the most of your stay in the area. They really open their home and heart to you as their guests!
We stayed in the suite, which was a kingdom, and to wake up to that view every morning would make anyone breathless!
Savory, delicious breakfasts are served with the ocean at your feet!
We could not imagine a B&B could be a stay in heaven, but this gem is out of this world!
There is only one catch - you don't want to leave!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwedding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

When we were looking for somewhere to stay the night before our wedding, and to host our intimate wedding for 2 if the weather turned sour, we stumbled upon this little gem of a place.

This was the only B&B we booked in our 3 week tour of the South Pacific, as we wanted something a little less impersonal than a hotel chain for our wedding day.

There are only 3 rooms, 2 doubles, and a stunning suite at the front overlooking the beach and ocean (see our photos)

The Oceanfront is in one of the most stunning places in New Zealand, looking out onto the southern edge of Mercury Bay with all the rocky islets being lapped by the South Pacific, nestled between Cathedral Cove a couple of miles to the north, and Hot Water beach just the other side of the headland.

It is the perfect place to both relax and enjoy the sheltered bay and beach in summer, and explore the wonderful Coromandel peninsula with it's endless beaches, coves and views.

The house is worthy of a Kevin McCloud grand design visit! with stunning vistas out to sea from every angle, big rooms with views, a stunning deck and lawn for breakfast and tea, which drops straight down onto the beach below.

Joe & Raewyn, as the other reviewees warmly testify are perfect hosts. Having not been able to bring any of our friends and relatives with us on our wedding & Honeymoon tour of the Pacific, it almost felt like we'd stumbled across a long lost Aunt and Uncle. Especially as they knew our wedding co-ordinators David & Stephanie, and "Dave the Chef" from the local restaurant who was kind enough to be our witness, it felt like the whole of Hahei was celebrating our wedding with us!

It was great just sat on the deck over morning tea and the bubbly, Cath and Raewyn chatting about books, Joe and I on finance, fishing, and the state of the housing market!

Combined with the sunshine, It made the whole day perfect.
We had a lovely fruit and cereal starter breakfast before heading out to Lonely Bay for our wedding, and came back to a cooked breakfast (delicious bacon, mushroom omelette served on the deck overlooking the ocean, and glass of bubbly! which was absolutely lovely.

We really didn't want to leave, and wished we'd booked an extra day in Hahei now! but we were running a tight schedule to see as much of NZ in a fortnight as we could.

So take our advice, and that of the other reviews...if you're a couple looking for somewhere to relax, no kids, no rush, no need for a la carte room service, then the Hahei Oceanfront is the perfect place to stop and chill for a few days, if like us, you're hell bent on flying round New Zealand to see it all in a couple of weeks!

other things worthy of a note:-
Also useful, if like us you needed to update a web-site, and re-confirm flights, etc, is a PC with internet access on the landing upstairs.

Take a moonlit stroll down the beach towards the restaurants, we did the night before our wedding, it was lovely.

Contact Joe & Raewyn before you travel - they'll happily book a restaurant for you, there are 3 within strolling distance - "the Church", "Luna", and a pub I can't remember the name of.

NB:- we went just at the end of the summer season, and all the restaurants in the area close about 8ish at the latest if there's no one eating.....though say Hi to Dave the Chef at Luna from us!

We shall return!

Tony & Cath

  • Liked — Joe & Raewyn....and the Views!
  • Disliked — Nothing. Couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.