We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Kayak tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
88 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
0064 7 8663877
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cracking Kayak tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went on this kayak trip on 31st March. It was oh for awesome. They only take eight of you in one trip (between four double kayaks) so it feels personal. Haydn, our guide was the font of knowledge from the Maori history, the geology of the place and all the flora and fauna. We did a large circle tour out to an island and round to Cathedral Cove and back to Hahei Beach. It was amazing - the sea is so clear and the scenery breathtaking. He had us canoeing between rocks and through a cave. At Cathedral Cove he whipped out coffee and hot chocolate making stuff along with biscuits.
I highly recommend this tour and if I have time, I'll go back and do a full day trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Great! So pleased to hear that you had a good time on the water with Hayden. Thanks for posting such a detailed review.. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Hayden. Thanks again for kayaking with us and we look forward to seeing you back for the full day tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I want to do this again...Amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Four of us went on this trip (including my retired parents-in-law) and LOVED it.This trip is excellent.

First off, the introduction to kayaking from the friendly guides on the beach really put us novices at ease.

First we kayaked about 5kms, across the crystal clear ocean, around the little islands in Hahei until we got to Cathedral Cove. All along the way our guide Cam was telling us about the history of the area, and also taking us through little short cuts and fun routes through the islands.

When we got to Cathedral Cove, Cam got our tea & coffee and biscuits ready, while we explored the beautiful beach setting that is Cathedral Cove.

On the way back to Hahei, our guide took us all along the shore line, where we could see the shoreline up close.

I would really reccommend this trip, regardless of your ages or fitness levels. It was brilliant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Awesome. Thank you for your detailed review. You are so right that kayaking is something that everyone can do and is something that families and friends can enjoy together. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to Cam, he'll be thrilled to receive such positive comments. Go well and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend a Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really great guide, lovely scenery and lots of wildlife. A fun day out! I was on my own but the group were really friendly and the guide made sure I wasn't lonely. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What a great review! Your feedback is so encouraging for us and it is very much appreciated. Thanks for posting and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Morning tour 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We decided on this tour before leaving Australian shores, actually before we had even booked our tickets to fly over and some of our holiday was changed to fit this in! We were looking at a full day tour but time prohibited it as we found out we had more family close by to meet. So went with the morning Cathedral Cove tour with latte on the beach!!!

We drove up for a look as we were visiting family and booked for the next morning. Was great, we were in a group of 3 but due to both being novice we were moved up to the next group to ensure we had as great an experience but without lagging behind waiting...

Only disappointment was it seems ours was the only group that didnt seem to get any more than 1 or 2 photos as they said they came out blurry :( Glad we did take heaps of pics ourselves as we are lucky enough to have a waterproof camera and it fit nicely in the front of the lifejacket! But we also asked the tour guide to take a couple for us out in the middle of nowhere - they worked out great!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review! I am very happy to hear that you had such a good time kayaking with us. We always encourage people to bring cameras with them (we supply dry bags to keep the safe) and I am pleased to hear you got some great shots to remember the day by. I'll pass your encouraging comments onto the guides.. feedback like yours is always appreciated! Many thanks for kayaking with us and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first activity of a month holiday, which we took part in the day after landing from the UK. The tour took approx 3 hours (including tuition time). The scenery was fantastic and our guide was very knowledgeable of the area and history. We had plenty of stops for photographs and were very surprised when our guide (sorry name eluded me) cooked up frothy coffee and hot chocolate on Cathedral Cove beach - nice touch (including the cookies). Felt safe all throughout the trip, enjoyed it immensely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What an awesome review, thanks for posting. So glad to hear that you had such a good time with us. Thanks again for coming and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.