We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good laughs at a very good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
6 Jackson Place, Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hahei B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good laughs at a very good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Mark's B&B in Hahei for two nights and would do so any time again.
We enjoyed the amusing chatter and of course the continental breakfast on the deck with real coffee and a selection of other good things that made for a good start of the day.
Mark was a great help without fuss providing any kind of information, truthful (yes, I burned my feet at Hot Water Beach and yes, food at The Church is excellent), for restaurant reservation and safeguarding things one unwittingly leaves behind... :o)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I chose to stay here because the swimming pool looked inviting and the price was within our budget. We weren't disappointed. The accommodation was as good as the photos suggest and Mark was a friendly and helpful host. He made some good recommendations for dinner options and also gave us and the other couple staying useful advice regarding local activities to suit our different tastes and also the rainy weather. Breakfast was excellent and Mark was accommodating on the time it was served. All in all, this was a great find.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have just got back from our trip in New Zealand, and I wanted to give Mark's B&B a great review as he was just a brilliant host and runs a nice B&B. We stayed with Mark for two nights, and every day he gave us brilliant suggestions of things to do each day, and pointed us in the direction of a nice pub and restaurant in Hahei. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was tasty (he was very accommodating to our needs), I highly recommend the place for anyone passing through Hahei and visiting Cathedral Cove.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Me and my wife have just stayed with Mark this past weekend and can say that it has been one of the best places I have ever been to with the most amazing location and scenery.

Mark was very welcoming and made us feel right at home in his perfect setting. He was very helpful and knowledgeable with advising about activities in the area. On top of this we were served with cooked breakfast to die for, I have never had such a well portioned and nice cooked breakfast that I can recall, the only regret was that I couldn’t finish it.

Thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I went there for 4 days with my girlfriend. Our first impressions were very good with a friendly host. He recommended a restaurant across the street with a little pricy menu and then spoke bad about the other places in town. We went to one of the other places in town and found him 2 times.

The breakfast is the worst i have ever tried. I tried the continental and the fruit he served was rotten and there were mold on the grapes. I just ate a toast with jam instead.

Our room was okay, but needed a fridge.

2 thumps for internet and washing machine. Hahei B&B is also to expensive for what you get and I wont recommend it to anyone. Been in NZ for 1 month and this is the worst place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Andreas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us about the time you spent at our B&B. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not all it could have been.

There are a wide range of wonderful dining and activity options in our area depending on what you are seeking, and we try our best to recommend those that will fit with what our guests have told us they are looking for. We apologise that in this instance our recommendation did not fit your expectations, and we will keep your comments in mind when we advise guests seeking restaurant suggestions in the future.

We also apologise about your experience with the fruit. The fruit we serve at our B&B is organic, which means that while it is preservative, hormone and chemical-free, it sometimes isn’t as shiny and bright as other fruit in the market. That said, we agree it should always be fresh, and if we are informed about an oversight regarding any food we serve at the time, we are happy to exchange it for something else where available or make up for it in another way during your stay.

Again, we are very sorry to hear your experience did not live up to first impressions. It is important to us that we are able to provide as enjoyable an experience as possible to all our guests, and we do hope the remainder of your travels were all you hoped they’d be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have stayed here twice and really relax as soon as we arrive. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and very airy. Mark is a very good host and very willing to provide any help where necessary but will leave you to get on with your stay otherwise. He cooked a cray for us that my husband caught while diving locally. The pool is lovely and the walk to the beach and restaurants very convenient. Breakfast time is flexible and Mark is very willing to make any bookings with activities or restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, depends on the party travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

B&B was lovely - large room with huge comfy bed and good ensuite. Pool, garedn and spacious and deck outside. Great (huge) breakfasts.
Kind,friendly and helpful host, who when we made mistake with our booking and turned up a day late refused to charge us for it....and also went to check out our walk to Cathedral Cove which had been part close to to walkway repair.
Near to cafes, shops and a 5 minute stroll to a beautiful beach, and just across the road from a very fine restaurant. Would definitely stay again if we return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hahei Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 Jackson Place, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hahei Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list