We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald green waters,white sand and the arch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Cove

Cathedral Cove
| Coramandel, Hahei, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,703 reviews 1,703 reviews
1,150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 824 cities Reviews in 824 cities
1,787 helpful votes 1,787 helpful votes
“Emerald green waters,white sand and the arch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is my favorite swimming hole in NZ. Its lovely white sand crescent shaped,with its iconic rock arch is popular for good reason. Travel light and track to Hakei beach or to Gemstone Bay,where the water is emerald green,crystal -clear and cleanest anywhere on this planet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    151
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“an unforgettable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

cathedral cove in a very nice place...at the end of the world...you need to have patience and good feet...but at the end you will enthusiastics!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A long way to walk for a hole in a rock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cathedral Cove although looking good in itself is a 45min walk in tough up and down hills walking with many steps and rocks from the top of the carpark.For this walk you need to be fairly fit and give yourself plenty of time to get there. Of course there is a lovely spot on top of the hill you can sit on a large seat and overlook the ocean but when you get near the beach where cathedral Cove is you need to walk down some 60 steps to get on the beach. It is a lovely walk along the beach and through the cove but not sure if the effort to get there and back is worth it. For me a few photos on the beach which have been taken by many people before and then the trip back up the timber steps up and down the hills and back to the carpark was a very big effort for the two of us in our 60's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolute must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sometimes tourist traps are overcrowded and overrated. Cathedral Coves came highly recommended, so were were fearful that this place would be a zoo.

After having visited the Hot Sand Beach, we took the short drive to the Cathedral Cove car park and began our 45 minute walk. It actually took something around 35 minutes. The walk itself was pretty scenic and enjoyable. Along the way, we saw some familiar faces (who had been at the Beach).

When we descended into the Cove, we immediately understood what all hype was about. The rock structures were really unique. Because we went in winter, it wasn't crowded. Felt like our private secluded getaway.

I really enjoyed venturing out into the caves. Sort of difficult and dangerous at high tide, but walkable at low tide.

If you want to have your picture taken under the archway, you may have to wait in line. Hopefully, the tourists take turns and don't hog picture time. I did see a number of tourists volunteer to take pictures for each other.

The combo of Cathedral Cove and Hot Sand Beach is a natural and shouldn't be missed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Narnia comes to life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you have seen the Narnia films then you will recognise this beach, to get there it is a nice walk down and definitely worth it. The cove itself is very unique and the beaches, rocks and cliffs surrounding it are nice too. We stopped on the way to Gemstone Bay, it was only a 5 minute detour and this was nice. Apparently good for snorkelling, although didn't do it ourselves. Worth the walk down, if only there was a lift back up!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.