We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand Hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hahei B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“New Zealand Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had a great time. We relaxed and enjoyed ourselves! Peter and Kaye are so friendly, nothing is too much bother. The views are magnificent. HaHei is a little piece of paradise, Kiwi style. Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, HaHei Beach, The Coromandel...spoiled for choice...give yourself enough time to experience it all. We'll be returning............ it's a brilliant contrast to our busy Sydney life.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

From the moment Kay and Peter opened the door for our 2 day stay we felt welcomed and relaxed. They showed us to our room, The Cove, with the most wonderful views of the water and the town. Kay and Peter helped us choose dinner places which were excellent. The Church in Hahei was up there with the best of restaurant either of us had had in our previous travels. We particularly liked the layout of the house: all guest rooms are separate from all each other, breakfast on the deck, lots of picture windows. Clean, fresh, warm and lots of light. Just what we needed to start our week vacation. Ask Kay how to make her perfect scrambled eggs! Stephanie, Hamilton NZ & Richard, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Love the room we've got. Has an amazing view of the bay. A tip to anyone who intends to stay with Peter and Kay (lovely hosts), remember to spend some time in the living room. Enjoy the stunning view with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Our second time here. The photo does it no credit as it is up a hill overlooking the beautiful bay with safe swimming. Rooms are spacious comfortable and most have balcony to enjoy late afternoon glass of wine. Pete and Kay are super hosts, unobtrusive but very helpful. Plenty to do around to justify 2 or 3 nights. We used it to relax at end of long trip

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We were referred to Hahei Horizon by another B&B which didn't quite fit our needs. Kay and Peter were excellent hosts, and we felt more like friends than guests. We loved it so much the first night, we cancelled plans to to move on and stayed another night. The accomodation, the proximity to the town, beach, restaurants and Cathedral Cove, and of course, the gorgeous view all made this an excellent place to spend a few days.

We loved it.

  • Liked — space, modern, style
  • Disliked — all good!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast! Our home is nestled amongst native trees on the hill, overlooking the beautiful beach at Hahei. We invite you to come and spend a night or two with us and share what this wonderful place has to offer. All of our three rooms enjoy their own private decks, the stunning views of the village, the ocean and islands beyond. Guests enjoy breakfast on the deck in the mornings and after a busy day of adventure you can now relax and enjoy the views in our open air spa. Hahei is on the Coromandel Peninsula on the east coast of North Island, New Zealand. It’s a stunning piece of coastline that provides a mecca for New Zealand holiday makers and overseas visitors alike. The outlook is superb and there are countless things to do and see whether you are budding adventurers or just want to relax and unwind. Hahei is the gateway to world renowned Cathedral Cove. 5 minutes drive sees you at Hot Water Beach and close by the many other beautiful Mercury Bay attractions. The rest of the Peninsula lays in wait not much further a field. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.