We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place next to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tatahi Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Tatahi Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chievres / Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“relaxing place next to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Well furnished bungalows w.2 rooms - quiet confortable bedrooms

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    53
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
78
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somerset uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It rained the entire 4 days of our visit but staying in this lovely spot in a cabin with a spacious very comfortable sitting room, a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms meant that at least we had somewhere comfy and homely with a pretty outlook to lounge around in and read. When we did venture out, which we did everyday, at least we could dry our clothes easily when we got back, have a nice warm shower and cook in the kitchen or go out to eat. Lovely owners who went out of their way to be helpful even supplying a spade for the beach and a large umbrella, sadly didn't get an opportunity to use the BBQ. The garden is gorgeous - even in the rain! - and it is well placed for Hot Water beach, Cathedral Cove and Mercury Bay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are lighter and have views on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I plus two teenagers stayed here for one night in a two bedroom unit, It is beautiful! very clean& comfortable, plus spacious. We had a big BarBQ outside our unit plus an outside table and chairs. It was like home ! It is about a 10 min. drive to Hot Water Beach the hotel supplied us with shovels and extra towels.

Room Tip: We had the end two bedroom unit, it was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My son, 20, and I stayed there for one night in a doubleroom ensuite. A very nice room that had small details to make it even more nice! A lot of shells as decorations and used in different ways.

We were late because our car broke down outside Auckland, but the lady from the motel called us and asked when we came. In the fridge there were some fresh milk! Lovley!

The kitchen were well equipped.
The only not so good thing was that it took ages for the stove to become hot. We almost thought that we were doing something wrong or that it didn't work.

There are also the backpacker-rooms where my son has slept earlier and they are next to the kitchen.

All together we would recommend this to anyone.

Liselotte and Robin from Sweden

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We enjoyed our one night as some have stated cost for a studio room was up there, but apart from that no complaints. Close to beach, restaurant etc.

The spade is a nice touch

Would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

we stayed in the hostel part of the motel in a double room, firstly i will start with the accomodation...it has lovley grounds with a bbq and nice landscaping and the area is good.
the shared kitchen is well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpfull.
we did however have a terrible nights sleep there was a noisy group using the comunal area till late at nightand the souns travelled far....this i didnt mind too much as they were quite funny. however the walls are really thin and i got woken up by the people in the room next door getting ready the next morning....i could hear the spaying of deodarant the wall were so thin.
bed comfy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you can, get one of the units on the edges of the property. The one we were in felt a little like being in a fish bowl at times. On the whole it was really nice though and we'd go again so please don't take the opening comment out of context. The owners were really helpfull too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatahi Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.