We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tatahi Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hahei
glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“noisey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

we stayed in the hostel part of the motel in a double room, firstly i will start with the accomodation...it has lovley grounds with a bbq and nice landscaping and the area is good.
the shared kitchen is well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpfull.
we did however have a terrible nights sleep there was a noisy group using the comunal area till late at nightand the souns travelled far....this i didnt mind too much as they were quite funny. however the walls are really thin and i got woken up by the people in the room next door getting ready the next morning....i could hear the spaying of deodarant the wall were so thin.
bed comfy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
51
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you can, get one of the units on the edges of the property. The one we were in felt a little like being in a fish bowl at times. On the whole it was really nice though and we'd go again so please don't take the opening comment out of context. The owners were really helpfull too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My daughter really liked here. There was a lot of board games, and she spent the evening playing with other children. There was a lovely garden around the hostel. The hostel is located just a couple of minutes walk to the grocery store. But I could understand if I was paying so much money for the motel with separate shower, but it was only a hostel with shared toilet and shower. I guess that the kitchen is too small for all of guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent three nights in the cottage at Tatahi Lodge, and we had a wonderful visit. The grounds and accommodations are very clean and well kept. The garden is beautiful and the kitchen is well appointed. Debbie was very welcoming, even supplying me with a pitcher of milk for my coffee and informing us of things to do and where to eat, etc. Please don't let the word "backpacker" scare you away from this spot (it almost did for us), as it is a great place to stay. I can't imagine staying anyplace else while in Hahei! We'll be back, I hope.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

A fantastic place to stay. Kind & friendly owners Deb & Richard that go the extra mile to make your stay all the better. Very knowledgable ozzy guy named Glen working there that can point you in the right direction or answer any queries you may have;)
Great location within a stones throw from Hahei beach, which is very scenic & peaceful especially in the mornings.
Cathedral Cove is spectacular and a must see which can be walked to in under an hour, defo bring your camera! Hotwater beach also nearby is worth a visit and spades are available from the reception.
The accomodation itself ranges from a spotlessly clean backpackers up to a luxurious 6 person home. Has a tropical feel from the well maintained grounds and bbq areas.
Highly recommended accomodation:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

very good location. from their website's pictures we were expecting the units to be further apart from each other or at least the parking area wasn't so crowded. we were there during their busiest time. other than that it's a good base for exploring cathedral cove, hahei beach and hot water beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in a double room for a couple of nights in the backpackers section (the place has also motel units). The room was quite cozy with views onto the incredibly lush garden.
The communal part of the backpackers unit is quite big and very well organized, makes it so much easier to chat to fellow travelers, especially if you're on your own.
The lodge is not located right by the beach but it's only a 3 min walk away. We really liked it there.
Ah, and if you're going to the Hot Water Beach - you can borrow the spade from the lodge :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatahi Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.