We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hahei Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Hahei Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We camped here for a week over Christmas/New Year. The location is absolutely beautiful. The white sandy beach was about 200m from our site which was just great!
We enjoyed the great facilities with kitchens, bathrooms etc all spotlessly clean despite the fact that they were running at full capacity.
The site is close to Hot Water beach and Cathedral Cove and a short walk to Hahei shops where you will find a decent cafe and a decent range of shops, including a great icecream shop which we visited regularly!
There were loads of other campers who had been visiting Hahei for 20 odd years and were very clear that there is no way they'd go elsewhere. I tend to agree and we are definitely considering a return trip next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It was our pleasure to accommodate you this Summer. Thank you for sharing such a positive review. We look forward to you becoming one of regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
104
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a kitchen cabin for 6 nights. On checking in the reception was busy and while waiting I (and several other people) were unfortunate enough to have to listen to one of the receptionists treat a foreign tourist like a complete idiot when he asked a question regarding his booking (note to staff: if someone asks a question about something you've told them, repeating your original statement only louder and louder until you are yelling at them is obviously not going to help). The cabin was fine and just as expected however the state of the shared toilets/shower block in the mid-afternoon was not. They were filthy, toilet paper on the floor, poo on the walls and while I understand how busy holiday time is I would expect that in peak season they might be cleaned twice a day instead of just first thing in the morning.
The beach just over the dunes is the best bit about this camp - obviously having a monopoly by being the only holiday camp in town means they know holidaymakers don't have many other options so it's a case of put up or shut up.
I wouldn't pay to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Trudi. We appreciate you taking the time express your thoughts.
We know we are in an extraordinary location and our intention is to provide a positive and enjoyable holiday for all our guests. It is disappointing this wasn't your experience. Our ablution blocks are checked 3 times a day. Unfortunately not all guests have the same hygiene standards. This is obviously out of our control. In regard to reception staff attitude, this has been noted, and will be followed up with further training if necessary. Holiday makers do have a choice of where to stay. We are fortunate a lot of our guests have been camping for generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, N
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Thank you for another fantastic camping trip. A small amount of flooding with heavy rainfalls one night, but we managed to dry out quickly and then spent the rest of our week soaking up the sunshine on one of the best beaches in NZ. Did a bit of kayaking around to Cathedral Cove and around the rocky islands and outcrops off Hahei beach. As always the campsite was just great, really friendly neighbours and an excellent spot in A block. Will definitely be back at Easter!
Short drive to Whitianga either via Cooks Beach and the ferry or directly on the State Highway. Hahei General Store has everything you need and is a short walk from the campsite. My only suggestion would be to add more freezers as these were limited to 1 small freezer. Toilets and bathrooms were adequate.

Room Tip: The blocks closer to the beach are obviously better - we usually camp in C or D block but were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for visiting us another year. Luckily we didn't get hit as hard as the neighbouring beaches during the downpours! We love our local beach and highly recommend the kayak tour around the islands. The friendly atmosphere within the camp keeps the same families being welcomed back year after year. We do have future plans for another ablution block in the future. Secure freezer space is available. We are hoping to provide more accessible camp freezers in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Friendly staff and a great spot! Inspite of a drop or two of rain (!) we had a lovely time and with small kids the facilities made the holiday really easy. Amazing to see rubbish bags collected from the tent every day - we'll be back thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments! Hahei was more fortunate during the brief downpour than some local beaches. Our ground staff are kept extra busy during Peak season to ensure the campers have clean surroundings. We'd love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thanks for a lovely relaxing stay. We were camped close to the beach, awesome listening to the waves close by. New Years Eve was great fun too. We did have a bit of rain but the excess water soon dried up when the sun came out again. Enjoyed the clean facilities and free showers too - nice surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
You are welcome! Our long-term campers organise the popular new year celebration. We were thankful the rain was short lived this year. Smiles returned quickly once the sun started shining again. Thank you for noting the cleanliness of the facilities staff work so hard to maintain. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Gorgeous location, our campervan was parked directly in front of the beach. nly a short drive or walk to access the Cathedral Cove walkway. Toilet/shower facilities were clean and adequate facilities were provided. A great start to our NZ holiday!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Excellent! We're happy your introduction to New Zealand started here. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again, and really appreciate you taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fantastic location - right on the beautiful beach front and only a short drive or 30 min walk from the Cathedral Cove walkway. Small village close by with cafe/pizza/icecream and a shop with most of the basics for camping etc.
Toilet/shower facilities could perhaps do with an upgrade, but there's hot water (albeit in 5 min restrictions) and they do the trick.
BBQ area and kids play area are excellent.
Friendly staff
I will definitely be visiting again, I love this area of NZ.

Room Tip: We were camping in a motorhome - most spots are fine, some on the beach front. There are also cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our proximity to the stunning Hahei beach makes the resort a popular choice for visitors. The Hahei village provides most necessities and treats. There are future plans for ablution upgrades. We have a variety of accommodation options to suit all budgets and holiday syles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.