We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hahei Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Hahei Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
brisbane
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great location for campervans - can have the beach on your doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    90
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
103
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friedrichshafen, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Top location but the suite at villa comlex are not worth the money. Actually one of the worst rooms during my NZ travel. Smelly room, bath heater not working, batteries for room heater empty. Money had to be paid before checking the room. I would have left the place if it was not late in the evening

Room Tip: Watch the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed for the Christmas period. For 6 days this was a very busy park with the campers. I would not camp here as the space a bit small as it gets pretty tight. I loved it in the Villas . Home from home comforts . Nicley deco and all mod cons , Dvd player and great kitchen. Have you own deck and use of bbq. Great space for the children and 25 seconds to the beach. Please makesure you take your own food for a few days as there is no shops on site . You can only buy ice on site. Or go for a short wallk to the shops and cafe which is about 10 mins away. Safe beach and quite easy access. Even if you just stay one night its worth the vist to this great holiday park . Oh and you must go to Hot water beach which is a short drive .... Happy holidays

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at the Hahei Holiday Resort for a few nights in February 2011. We had a basic cabin, which was just a double bed, a set of bunks, a cupboard, a table and chairs and a little fridge. It was pretty basic but we were trying to save money and the value seemed to be pretty good. The cabin was fine, we didn't have any noise troubles from neighbours and we were in a shady spot. The bed was basic but pretty comfortable. We had windows at front and back which we could open to get a breeze going through. We had a nice little balcony with table and chairs which ended up being where we spent most of our time. If we went back there we might decide to upgrade and get something with a kitchen and maybe a bathroom, too. It doesn't cost that much more.
We were given a crate full of kitchen equipment so we could use the communal kitchen to cook our meals. There was a school camp on when we were there and they took up half the kitchen with their stuff so it was a little cramped but everything worked fine and it was pretty clean. There were plenty of BBQs but some of them didn't work too well. We learnt not to bother trying to cook a nice steak! The showers were also pretty busy from the school camp but again they were very clean.
The staff were relatively helpful but the man who checked us in seemed very tired. We were able to borrow a spade form them to go to Hot Water Beach which was nice. We did think they would have a roaring trade if they were to open a shop there selling just the basics. Hahei has a little general store and a few cafes but that's about it. If you want more you need to go to Whitianga or Tairua.
The best thing about this location is that you are about 30 seconds walk from the beach. We loved being able to walk along the beach in the morning and evening. Unfortunately it was a bit rainy when we were there and not a day for swimming but it's a beautiful beach, very protected and calm waters. We would have loved to do the walk to Cathedral Cove but it was closed due to storm damage. You can still get there by kayak but it costs a bit because you can't just rent a kayak and go on your own, you have do a tour.
All up Hahei is a really idyllic little spot. Calmer waters than Hot Water Beach, way prettier than Cooks Beach and more peaceful than Whitianga. The holiday park is a great place to stay there if you are on a budget. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed here for just one night, which is perhaps understandable given that it cost NZ$42 for an unpowered tent site, that was kind of small. We accepted that rate simply because we were too tired to go elsewhere. It was Summer holidays and it isn't too far from Auckland, so it has a captive audience I guess. Massive numbers of kids there, so we had to be careful driving our car in and out.

One thing to note is that the gates are locked between 7am-10:30pm every night. You want to drive somewhere outside of those hours, perhaps to watch a sunrise at Cathedral Cove? Well, you've gotta' park your car outside, because the security guard told me they open it for no one. I found that a bit annoying because in January the sun is up by 6am, so you couldn't get an early start if you wanted.

The beach adjacent to the camp is excellent, very pretty and good for swimming. Also seemed like all the kayak tours left from there. Facilities are okay but in peak season the place was jam-packed with families and even at 9:30pm there was a lot of people trying to take showers. The communal kitchen seemed a bit small for so many visitors, but beyond that I can't comment as we used our stove.

It was a decent place to stay but the next day we noticed another place over at Cooks Beach that seemed to have far fewer people, and may well have been cheaper.

I have to go with recommend this place purely because of the location, but it's not ideal beyond that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This extremely popular, expensive holiday camp is in a beautiful location on the beach front, there are no public roads between the site and the beach which is a plus for those with children. Some of the most expensive powered pitches have a great view overlooking the sea and are slightly separate from the rest of the camp. It becomes very crowded during the holiday season and therefore booking in advance is likely to be essential. Because of its popularity, communal facilities can become a bit stretched, some of the toilets are very poor and there are not enough showers to cope with peak usage. The dump station is next to the A block pitches. Wifi is available close to the camp office (8$ per hour). Never-the-less, if you can cope with these difficulties, its location makes up for all of them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed with our 3 tennage children in their sea view villa. We love this place - quiet, clean and falling asleep from the sound of the waves. The beach is just a 2 minute walk down from our front door. All the activities can be booked thru their friendly staff at the reception. After we left the place, our son realised that he has left his fleece behind, we called Haihei team, thankfully, the staff found it and was very helpful that they sent it to our last stop holiday apartment. Would like to thank them for making this holiday unforgetable. Keep up the good job HaiHei team! Thank you again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahei Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.