We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Sanctuary B&B

Mountain Sanctuary B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eagle Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Sanctuary B&B
Save
You added Mountain Sanctuary B&B to your Saves list
161 Eagle Heights Road, Eagle Heights, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Muscatels Country Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The perfect getaway! The hosts were extremely accomodating and the service outstanding, the room large and clean, the bathroom with spa bath was massive, nice and handy to Mt Tamborine area attractions. The breakfast was fantastic. I couldn't fault this place and would definately go back if I was in the area.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the moment my husband and I were warmly greeted, to our friendly farewell, the hosts at Muscatels exceeded our expectations with their high level of customer service.

My husband and I enjoyed the picturesque views of Mt Tamborine and beyond from our verandah. The location of the lodge was within a convenient distance for us during our weekend at the Garterbelts and Gasoline festival as well.

The accommodation rooms are immaculately presented with welcome chocolates, and spacious with ample storage. The large spa bath was a pleasant surprise as well.

The traditional German continental breakfast was absolutely delicious, and not only did the hosts supply high quality, local foods, but catered to my dietary needs also.

Muscatels is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from a short break, a surprise for my wife, to South East Queensland ‘The Muscatel Lodge’ in Eagle Heights.
We arrived on Tuesday afternoon and were greeted by Stephan and Marion owners/operators in a very friendly atmosphere that makes you feel welcome from the minute you step into their B&B. We were shown the room, I had requested the ‘Romantic Room’ and romantic it was. The room breaths style and class, everything in the room is in place, beautiful decorated, high quality furniture, a very comfortable queen size bed and the cleanliness is second to none. The ensuite is open, spacious with a large vanity, a double spa bath, a large separate shower and did I mention how clean it was. The B&B is very tastefully decorated, the majority of the wall hangings is made by Marion herself, when sitting in the guest lounge you feel straight away at home listen to soft background music and plenty of reading material. Nothing is too much for both of them and they do their utmost best to make you feel at home. In the morning they serve breakfast from 08:30am, this is included in the room rate (which is by the way very acceptable for the extremely high standard Muscatel Lodge delivers) and is served in the breakfast room overlooking the garden. You can observe the daily show the lorikeets will put up for you when they get fed by Marion, all the while enjoying a German breakfast where all the ingredients are freshly prepared from local produce; from the German muesli, freshly brewed coffee (a special thanks to Stephan for all the cups of coffee you served to our table) to the bread toppings from the Russian butcher it is all made and served to the highest possible standard. We were honored by Marion’s home cooking on one of our nights, a traditional German meal, I can only say one thing ...exquisite...a must do....and I shouldn't forget the personalised menu what a special touch. The stay in Muscatel Lodge has been marked by; very friendly and professional owners/operators, a very high quality environment, very high quality service, very high quality food, a very high level of relaxation and we have met some lovely couples in the lodge and we all had one thing in common...we are all blown away by the extremely high standard Muscatel Lodge delivers day in day out and ‘yes’ it is like the advertisement says ‘a little piece of Germany in a tropical setting’.
What else can we say then....vielen dank Stephan und Marion wir kommen zurück (we will return) we had a great time and thank you so much for your hospitality it feels for us like we made new friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were visiting the Mt Tamborine area for a wedding and selected this B&B based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews. Muscatels is well-located to the shops/cafes of Eagle Heights and North Tamborine.

We stayed in the Romantic Spa Suite - the room was comfortable, well-appointed, and immaculately clean, and the bathroom was huge (with lovely large spa bath)! Breakfast was very good (especially the homemade bircher muesli) and Stephan was a friendly, welcoming host. Overall, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

You can't go wrong with staying at Muscatels. Everything is wonderful, the room, the bathroom, the beds, the breakfast, the location from the village. We love staying in Germany and for us, it is like visiting Germany all over again. Muscatels is our favourite bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a wonderful view of the Gold Coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thank you Stephan & Marion for such a relaxing stay. Absolutely beautiful lodge, short walk from Gallery Walk and tiny walk from national park circuit walk, but that's not the only reason to stay. Stephan & Marion are so friendly and attentive without ever crossing the 'privacy invasion line', and the whole lodge is full of beautiful spaces full of lovely art and interesting objects. Our room was a great size, super comfy, very private, and balcony with views to GC. And an enormous bathroom with an actual proper 2 seater spa - all absolutely spotless. And this might sound like a minor point, but there are just no signs up or anything about curfews or house rules, etc. Everything very calm and relaxing. Recommend Superior Spa Room but all lovely rooms. And the breakfast was just sensational. A very different holiday to our usual trip to Surfers' but we found a perfect place to stay and we had a great time. I can't recommend Muscatel's highly enough and we can't wait to come back. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Not only the hosts were excellent hosts, the photos of the B&B we saw online didn't do justice to what we actually found there. The rooms are spacious, as well as the bathroom (we had the deluxe spa room), and not a speck of dust was to be found anywhere. The whole place is very carefully decorated, without being overstated; the living room in particular feels very comfy and welcoming. Had we had a bit more time there we would've spent more hours reading from Stephan and Maureen's small library by the fireplace. Needless to say, the food was delicious; homemade and hearty. Muscatels is within easily walking distance from the main attractions in Mt. Tamborine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Sanctuary B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sanctuary B&B

Address: 161 Eagle Heights Road, Eagle Heights, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Muscatels Country Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Eagle Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as Muscatels Country Lodge, Mountain Sanctuary B&B is your new home for coastal views, private spas & balconies in every suite and luxurious internal room furnishings. The location is second-to-none, being within 100m of two National Park entrances and 500m from Gallery Walk - Tamborine's tourism hub for cafes, restaurants, wineries, the brewery, fudge, arts and crafts stalls. The property was previously rated as 4.5 stars with AAA Tourism inc. a Green Star for its environmentally-friendly approach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Sanctuary B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.