We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still enjoying memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paperbark Camp to your Saves list
Paperbark Camp
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still enjoying memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic visit to Paperbark camp about a year ago. It was absolutely fantastic! I really loved the gorgous outdoor bathroom... so much care had been put into preparing the rooms, from the DEET-free mosquito repellant (very much needed! and very effective) to the very scene-setting mosquito net. free and freely available bikes and canoes kept us busy when we weren't eating in the AMAZING restaurant the gunyah. that is still one of the most memorable meals of my life- i still remember very clearly everything both me and my partner ate (if they still have the chilled mousse with honeycomb and popcorn, i highly recommend it) and their cheeseboard is the best i've ever enjoyed. the career waiter who was looking after us for the night was perfect - i could never speak highly enough about the service. lastly, only earlier today was i reminiscing about the breakfast; no bacon and sausages swimmning in grease, no spongy scrambled eggs, no pools of tinned baked beans instead was a fantastic array of deliciously revitalising cold foods including the best granola (ever), delicious yoghurts, honeys, rhubarb as well as a very very very good a la carte selection of hot dishes.

i think it speaks volumes that almost 12 months after my visit, i still enjoy the memories of our visit, and i am constantly comparing all hotels to paperbark camp's standard or service and care.

thank you for a perfect weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
103
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from spending three nights at Paper Bark Camp.

What a experience! It was not what I was expecting but in a good way.

There were 3 of us my husband and I plus our 10 year old daughter. We had a normal tent which had a double bed and a double bed camp bed. Both beds were very comfortable, we slept
very well.We had a bathroom which was connected to our tent. A bit of hit and miss with the hot water. There are no power plugs either in the rooms but you can dry your hair in the main bathrooms connected to,the main building.

We had a package that included breakfast and dinner. The food was amazing 5 star all the way. Every meal was a culinary delight. However on checking out I was disappointed to see they had been charged for coffees, especially seeing they made no mention they would be extra with breakfast. Also no drinks are included in the package.

The main dining room is nice with games and books. Complementary bikes and canoes are available.

We saw a whole family of kangaroos and the possums were very friendly. Yes there are a lot of bugs but there is also plenty of aroguard on hand.

The beaches surrounded the camp are beautiful and there is plenty to see and do around the camp.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

In a nutshell it's a great experience you are right in the middle of nature with great food however the tents are very basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent away from the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here one night during our Grand Pacific Driver Tour and what a place! In the middle of nowhere with a serenity to it that is only broken by the sounds of the wildlife! It was amazing - staff were friendly, took our bags and us straaight to our tent - outdoor bathroom, lovely bed and verandah. We went kayaking, you could take their bikes for a ride and was such a nice place just to switch off. I wouldnt recommend the Wetlands walk, however as its really creepy and quiet and no sites to see, just takes 20 mins to walk to the car park! We had already eaten some local fish so wasnt hugnry for dinner but we had a cheeseboard and a glass of wine with a little visit from the local possum at our table!! Watch out for a service charge of $7 per person on a Sunday which they wanted to charge us on a $28 cheeseboard - which the waiter agreed to knock down to one $7 and this was the only thing that was disappointing as it was tiny and served with stale bread! Lovely setting though but the meals looked overpriced for what they were.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were at Paperbark on the hotest day of January and it was still perfect. We had 2 tents one of the newest and one of the older ones, they were both immaculate and at best equipped. The staff did all their best to make this an excellent stay. Our luggage was immediately taken care off, ice tea and iced water was offered at the hotest moments, breakfast and dinner were perfect !!! Kayaking was lots of fun. The lounge is spacious and confortable, the camp exactly what we were expecting. We are rather demanding customers so please believe us, Paperbark is a great experience. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All tents are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe tent and it was lovely. I don't love nature so this was a perfect in between for me. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. We woke up in the morning to kangaroos eating outside our tent which was cool.
We really enjoyed the restaurant and the staff was great! It was a great starting point to venture to the surrounding beaches in the area.
The only thing I wished for was a flashlight so I could see at night when i walked to the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had our honeymoon night at Paperbark camp, the experience was amazing.
The staff were very friendly, the food was amazing and we loved the fact the head chef
is from South America, next time we would like to see more South American food on the menu

I would recommend this experience to all Sydney slickers, you will love it!!!

thanks
Rubes

Room Tip: rooms were very private and very well presented, I would recommend this to all international clients...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

An amazing place to stay. Its far enough from civilization to switch off and relax but close enough that you can still enjoy the local area.

The Gunyah restaurant has the best food in the area.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paperbark Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.