We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages On Mount View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages On Mount View to your Saves list
Cottages On Mount View
1329 Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location near wineries. Owners very welcoming, the spa is amazing. Good sized cabin. Only negative was we didn't get the bottle of champagne which was advertised but then we never asked about it either so can't complain too much!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Cottages On Mount View, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our cottage, the heated spa under the stars and our great Mount View location. You will be welcomed back at any time and we'll make sure you receive a local Hunter Valley wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The place was nice however when we had someone come back with us at 2.30am who slept on the couch we were over charged on an already agreed price without authority. When we rang to negotiate on an appropriate price as nothing was supplied (towel, bed, sheets or breakfast) they would not negotiate. There was a man standing there the entire time we packed up because we were running slightly late due to the difficulty on finding the place the night before. There was absolutely no negotiation and we were left feeling very angry and upset after what should of been a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Cottages On Mount View, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are very pleased that Cottages On Mount View met your expectations as a nice place to stay in a good location, with good rooms and a high level of cleanliness. We work 7 days a week to provide a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests and other reviews received to date show our personalised efforts are appreciated.

At the time of your initial enquiry, our tariffs for additional guests over and above your intended guest numbers were provided in writing and subsequently agreed at the time of booking. Unfortunately, you did not advise us of your increased numbers during your stay, however, we do consider adequate provisions were available, as the cottages contain a double sofa bed, spare blankets, doonas and pillows. We also note that we removed an unused towel and face washer and surplus breakfast items (bread, butter, jam, milk, tea, coffee, juice and chocolates) from the cottages after your stay.

Whilst we offer late check-out by prior arrangement whenever possible, this was not requested and was not possible due to incoming guest reservations. Our usual 10am check-out time was extended to 11am for a Sunday check-out. We simply ask that outgoing guests have consideration for incoming guests and allow us sufficient time to thoroughly clean the premises for their arrival. After a polite reminder at 11.30am and your promise to be out in 10 minutes, and a second polite reminder at 12 noon, your party was still in occupation at 12.30pm, leaving us only 90 minutes to clean 2 cottages, which usually require 90 minutes each to our standard. We waited in the car park for 5 minutes whilst you were packing your cars for return of our keys, in order to save you stopping at Reception on your way out.

At the time of your departure we spoke in person with the member of your group who was the credit card holder to discuss the increased guest numbers who had used our facilities and received verbal authority from her to charge a small additional tariff as pre-agreed. In our final conversation after your departure, we were disappointed by your demands for free accommodation, but particularly by your threats to rally your friends into sending 9 poor reviews on the basis that we declined to provide free accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the cottage' for the Lionel ritchie concert weekend, we loved the fact that we were in the bush in the peace and quiet.The cabin was gorgeous, clean and tidy, we loved the welcome basket full of yummy food and chocolates.John was extremley welcoming , and greeted us as we arrived! Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The cottages were very clean. The service by John and his team was exceptional! We arrived back to the cottages after midnight and he was there with lights to show us to our rooms! The breakfast basket was also divine. Thanks. We look forward to returning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What wonderful people John and Andy are. Friendly welcoming and very hospitable. Loved the cabin, the serenity, the added extras such as the breakfast basket (lasted us for 2 mornings), the chocolates and the red wine waiting for us when we got there, as well as a pre - warmed spa!! Very close to all the wineries which John and Andy would only be too happy to book a tour of for you, they booked our coach ride to Hope Estate to see Bruce Springsteen - it was all too easy!! Thanks John and Andy - we will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Cottages now for the past 5 years, it is our home away from home. John and Andy are the most gracious host, nothing is too much trouble.
Our breakfast basket is always overflowing and the spa is always warm, just ready for us to start relaxing from the minute we get there.
We feel like we are on our own as our neighbours are so far away that we don't even know they are there. There is no traffic noise, just the bell birds as you come into Mountview, that is how we know we have finally arrived.
I'm not one to sleep in but I can't help but when I'm in our cottage.
It hasn't changed in 5 years, which is a very good thing for us, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you want a mountain view choose room 1 or 2, otherwise for a more secluded experience room 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the cottages in August last year with my mother. We needed to get away and de-stress. We could not have chosen a better place. The property was secluded, yet close enough to town and the wineries, the best of both worlds. On arrival we were welcomed by a lovely basket of goodies containing breakfast supplies, chocolates and a very nice bottle of wine. The cottage was clean, comfortable, containing all the required amenities. The bonus was the log fireplace which made the cottage cosy and warm. The owners John and Andy were amazing, even coming to rescue us when we got lost at night coming back from one of the more remote wineries. Now that is service! They were more than happy to assist us in planning our sight-seeing, and suggesting places to eat etc. Another great feature of our cottage was the spa. It was very liberating being able to sit in the spa under the stars, in winter... I would (and have) recommend these cottages to anyone wishing to stay in the Hunter.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the deluxe spa cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages On Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages On Mount View

Address: 1329 Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
120 bushland acres with abundant birdlife and wildlife, minutes to many cellar doors, restaurants, concert venues and Hunter Valley favourites including Hunter Olive Centre, Hunter Valley Chocolate Company, Smelly Cheese Shop, Blue Tongue Brewery and Hunter Valley Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cottages On Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On Mount View Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages On Mount View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.