We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Mount View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Mount View to your Saves list
Cedars Mount View
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   60 Mitchells Road | off Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Genuine escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On arrival at Cedars you initially wonder if you've gone wrong as the road is nothing more than a dirt track. However persevere as once you arrive at your lodge (no need to check in), the music will be on, the fire (if needed) will be lit and a local bottle of wine from the fantastic Hunter Valley waiting for you. The room (The Vue lodge) is truly breathtaking with a comfortable king size bed, a spa bath, a leather seating area and a full working kitchen (complete with breakfast requirements). There is also a BBQ and full satellite package. There is no excuse to not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Wow... Value for money without loosing the luxury!! Large spaces, perfectly proportioned!! We will be coming bak again and again!!! Well done!

*didn't get good phone reception- but this added to a wonderul week, getting away from the "hustle and bustle".

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in the Gums lodge. The lodge was set away from any others and extremely private. It had a two person spa in the spacious ensuite, great gas fireplace, good sound system, large balcony (with BBQ) and great serene views across the valley. It was absolutely the most perfect place away for the weekend and both the girlfriend and I had very little phone reception in the cabin which was a great escape.

Bree, at Cedar Mount View, was fantastic in meeting all our requirements before we arrived. Waiting in the cabin on the night of our arrival was the bottle of wine we selected, gas fire on, music playing and lights dimmed. The next day she had organised a private driver for a tour around the Hunter wineries for 4 hours and then dinner at one of the great restaurants nearby.

Overall, it was one of the best and most carefree stays I have had anywhere in a long time. Just what we needed. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the Cabins looked great, but we stayed in The Gums, which looks like it has another room for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulli, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the "Vue" cottage. Upon arriving the first thing I noticed was how well appointed and spotless it was.

There is plently of comforts including pay TV , spa bath , stacked pantry for breakfast and more than enough tea and coffee provided. The attention to detail was awesome.

The cottage was so comfortable , that when it came time to go for dinner I was relectant to leave the spa and beautiful private setting.

The property is quite secluded and out of the way.There is roughly a 3 km dirt road so if you are staying there you dont want to be coming in and out many times a day.

It is best suited to couples for that Romantic getaway. It is certainly one of the most romantic settings I have been in for a long time. I loved it and did not want to leave.

10/10. Thank you Cedars for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Cedars Mount View for 2 nights when touring the Hunter Valley in March, The property itself is located a little away from the town and can be a bit difficult to find on the GPS, so you need to call the owners in advance and get the GPS instructions clear.
We reached a little late in the evening and found that the winding road can be a bit tricky to navigate, so recommend getting there before sunset (if its your first time in the area). The owners believe in giving complete privacy to guests, and it is possible to enter, stay and leave the property without seeing anyone else! The cottages are ready and unlocked prior to arrival, and you can simply drive away when done - meant for people who want to get away from it all! Speaking of which, there is no network either in the cottages, so we were without the internet or our phones.
The cottages itself was nice and well-furnished, with a reasonably stocked fridge, a nice sit-out area and a good selection of DVDs. The property is sprawling and beautiful, and very peaceful. Overall it was a nice place to relax and unwind. Probably not the closest if you want to do the Wine Route all day long, but great for a group of friends or a larger family (we we just the two of us).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had an amazing stay in the Terrace on Sunday night. Completely private with everything you need including breakfast supplies. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place really is different to what you normally get in the Hunter Valley.

The tend over the past few years has seen Hunter Valley offering all sorts of 'resorts' and accommodation options as part of vineyards or as part of the rural countryside. You check the photos and location online, make your booking and look forward in anticipation. Then you arrive and are immediately disappointed as you realise the property is small, they have photographed from angles to give an impression of privacy, and so on.

Well Cedars Mount View is exactly like the photos, and provides even more privacy than you imagine. They have done it perfectly. Lodges are spread across the countryside, and some are completely private from others (you can't even see them).

Night time is fun as the place is riddled with wombats, and early morning your lodge will be surrounded by kangaroos.

We stayed in the Terrace. Live it large and get a helicopter ride to your restaurant and you can get them to pick you up from in front of your lodge!

It seems expensive but is very good value for money when compared to so many other more trendy locations in the Hunter. Perfect for couples romance. Midweek is a great time to go for 3 nights as you enjoy this location and the Hunter without the crowds.

Room Tip: The Terrace is very private and great for the romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Mount View

Address: 60 Mitchells Road | off Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cedars Mount View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hunter Valley accommodation for couples in split level open plan one bedroom spa villas or a two bedroom/2 bathroom spa cottage. Cedars Mount View offers the rare luxury of absolute privacy and quiet combined with modern, elegant interiors and all the modern conveniences including two person spas, gas flame log fire, flat screen satellite TVs, DVDs and IPOD docks.These secluded villas are fully self contained to dine in or on the deck and full breakfast provisions are supplied for your stay - espresso machine. Personal itineraries, indulgence packages and restaurant transfers are available on request. Indulgence packages include Helicopter pickups from your door for lunch or events, to in-house massage by prior arrangement.The villas are thoughtfully scattered over 100 acres (40 hectares) with a meandering Cedar Creek running through the property. There are parklike vistas, easy walking trails and abundant wildlife.Mount View boutique wineries nearby and chefs hatted Bistro Molines. Twenty minutes scenic drive to the centre of Pokolbin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedars Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Mount View Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Mount View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.