We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Molines

Bistro Molines
749 Mt View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mount View
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bistro Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is definately a Lunch restraurant as would wound not get the fiull magnificese of the view at night. The food matches the view as does the Tellavera wine selection.

We had Sunday lunch with friend from West Coast USA and Hawaii. A high point in their trip to Australia.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    56
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have to say that all 3 of us were disappointed in our lunch. All 3 of the dishes were tough - filet, venison, duck. After all of the great reviews and my selection of this restaurant from reading online, it was a huge disappointment.

We did love the view and enjoyed our day in the Hunter Valley.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sublime in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I love the Wine Country, it doesn't matter where in the world I am, because where you find grapes that are lovingly cultivated, you are more than likely to find natural local produce, that is lovingly delivered to a restaurant table. We had the pleasure of having a lingering lunch at Bistro Molines, the first thing that strikes you about it, is the view that it has over the Hunter Valley, it is absolutely picture perfect. My girlfriend is a vegetarian (I know, but everyone has their failings), lets face it, the restaurant is a Bistro paying homage to local produce, so there's plenty of protein.

The Specials Menu had a couple of vegetarian options, but what she loved and really appreciated, was the "Off the Menu" dish of Pumpkin Tortellini created for her. This says one thing, that Chef and Owner Robert Molines cares about his customers, and it shows. Sally his effervescent and engaging wife works the front of house with the same care.

Earlier in the day we happened to be in a local shop in Pokolbin, and mentioned that we were lunching at Bistro Molines, we got a simple reponse from the owner, "It's the best in The Hunter",
lets face it the locals would know.

As a footnote, we happened to spend two nights at Little Orchard, the self contained, freestanding two bedroom cottage on the property, with it's stunning french doors, leadlight windows and french provenical furnishings. We vacated this morning, giving way to a Wedding being held there later in the day, the wedding couple are staying there for three nights, lucky them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely outlook and food to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a Saturday lunch here recently whilst visiting the region. I feel the restaurant was probably a little short staffed as we were seated for quite some time before anyone came near us with water and then it was a wait for our wine.
Having said that, our meals were fabulous. The servings are large and the food was lovely. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon.
The floor staff are friendly but busy and the only improvement would be to have 1 or 2 more floor staff as I did have to chase them for drinks and then our bill.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The setting and location was magnificent. The decor was probably Hunter Valley meets The Hamptons. At every corner, wall and table were grand yet subtle decorations in pale hues. The vase of long stemmed white roses on a nearby sideboard looked beautiful. Windows were thrown open to allow the breeze to fan patrons. Views were of rolling hills and grazing cows! Add to this starched white cloths and sparkling wine glasses and you get the mood. Food was amazing. We had the degustation menu for 10 and felt quite spoilt. The entrees to share didn't disappoint. Dishes combined fresh produce with a quite modern variety of garnishes - figs with Gorgonzola and prosciutto, gravlax served with blood orange segments and radicchio - and there were more. Mains were just as delightful - duck with red cabbage and peas, beef fillet with bacon and Bernaise sauce and more. Most of us had the quince tart tatin for dessert which had been prepared as individual single serves. It was off the planet! Whilst I haven't mentioned every dish served to our large table, the variety and attention to detail was brilliant. Can highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Molines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Bistro Molines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Molines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.