We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Molines

Bistro Molines
749 Mt View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Mount View
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I dined here in November on a Sunday lunch. I found the service of a poor standard with a lack of attentiveness. The food was not as good as Muse which I had tried the day before. The view is great but parking is at a premium. Worth a try once but not a second time. Prices a bit too rich for what yiy get aswell

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    47
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful views incredible service and a gastronomic delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff and service exceptional, views spectacular, food delightful. Gourmet French cuisine loved it ! Worth the experience particularly for that special occasion !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“"Wonderful"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything about Bistro Molines was beautiful.
Stunning location, gorgeous French decor, great service & of course wonderful food and wine made for a most enjoyable dining experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view, patchy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I. had dinner Saturday night, which is clearly a busy time for the restaurant. We got there early so parking wasn't and issue but it is limited as a previous reviewer mentioned. It is a bit out of the way but that's half the attraction; a winding drive up into the hills for a meal overlooking the valley and vineyards. The view is great whilst the sun is up, but a few more lights would make a big difference later on.

It's not cheap, around $30 for an entree, $40 mains and $17 desserts, but the food was very good and there was plenty of it. One suggestion - a bit more ice cream with the desserts would not go astray.

The service was very patchy, too much attention to start with but as the room filled it became less intrusive, and then we couldn't catch anyone's eye to get the bill. One waiter was quite condescending, the other very pleasant and helpful.

It may have been the time of year, the hot winds or some other factor but there we a lot of flies in the room that really annoyed us, although the waiter didn't seem too fussed about them. If this is not a one off I would suggest some serious attention to the problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A slice of Tuscany/Provence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Location was beautiful. We so hoped the food would match up to the view. It did not disappoint. We were a little early so went into the cellar door to taste and to select a wine for our lunch. The restaurant was charmingly French in its decor and the staff we great. The food was delicious and we enjoyed it all. There were no complaints.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Molines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Bistro Molines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Molines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.