We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View,ambience & dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Molines

Bistro Molines
749 Mt View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mount View
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“View,ambience & dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Girls weekend with besties finished off with a lunch comprising of good food, service, ambience and views. The setting is Tuscan minus the olive groves high on a hill with lovely views. French style cuisine, with a dessert that was one of the best I have ever had. Mille fuille chocolate mousse with caramelised orange. 10/10. The house dessert wine very good also. Service attentive without being intense. An all round very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    56
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, view and decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was good quality and reasonably priced and we got served a bowl of veggies for free!
The service was a little below par for fine dining but I'm pretty sure the waitress was new and she was trying very hard so no complaints, just a comment. We had entrees and mains but found the desert list not inspiring and didn't order any.
the highlight is probably the view off the balcony, out over the wines towards to valley it really is vert pretty... so not sure why people were not seated on the balcony??? the tables were set and the weather was good but for some reason everyone bar 1 table was seated inside. 1 couple requested an outside table and the waiter said no, they asked again and eventually he let them move outside, I found this abit annoying as I would have prefered to sit out but was not given the option. overall we enjoyed it but the service in general needs polishing before i could five it 5 stars

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, food and service lack for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Touring the Hunter Valley, we were told by nearly every winery that we must dine at Bistro Molines. We had lunch on a beautiful day and were seated with a view over the vines, the venue had the potential to provide a magnificent lunch experience. We soon got the feeling that the front of house staff wanted to rush us through lunch. An amuse bouche was put in front of us without comment and when we enquired what it was, the inexperienced waitress said "I don't know, some cheese thing". It turned out to be gougeres (very nicely done). One entree, the zucchini flowers, was excellent but the scallops in béchamel (a special) was overcooked and plain. Mains arrived whilst my wife was in the lavatory and were placed on the table. The venison was great but the "deboned" spatchcock was far from deboned and drowned in a crude tomato-based sauce. We had ordered two wines by the glass, when they came out, the glasses were chipped and one was dusty, straight from the bar with no quality control. We held onto our dessert menus for a while to slow the pace but were told that "we should leave them open if we weren't ready to order". Previous recent reviews of this restaurant are accurate reflecting a great location suffering from food and service that fails to live up to fine dining prices ($25 entree, $45 main). The front of house needs to have a serious revamp.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“French Provincial chic and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved everything about it.
Be aware that if you want to have a pre dinner degustation at the cellar door next to it they are 2 separate entities and you have to pay $5 for the tasting (refundable if you buy some wine)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved the setting, the food, the service, we just loved everything about this divine restaurant....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Molines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Bistro Molines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Molines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.