We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Save
You added Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge to your Saves list
Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 y la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Yes, we are crazy and we took our three small children ages 6, 4, and 2 to the "jungle hotel" as the kids call it. It was one of our best experiences in Ecuador. Our guides, Delphin and David, were fanatastic with the kids. We hired a private guide for our family and it was well worth the money. Consider the option if you have special interests. We asked for monkey and Delphin showed us all 6 species, along with giant river otters and 70 plus birds (yes, we are into birds)!!!! The guides eat meals with their group, so for us it was Delphin and our family. It was great to get to know him and he helped us with our lists and other questions. David brought his mom to see us and she helped find some kid sized rain ponchos. We felt like we were welcomed into the heart of the community. The service was excellent, anticipating our needs without being overly pushy.

This is a great place for adventurous families. The journey from Cocoa is amazing but a very long day. I would suggest taking your own child size life jackets.

The environmental policies are excellent with on-site water treatment. We loved it and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you and your family still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    24
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
79
176
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Napo Wildlife Centre is owned and operated by the indigenous tribe who own the surrounding land. They have devoted themselves to eco-friendly tourism, which includes no motorized boats in the refuge and no hunting. The cottages are beautiful, clean, well-furnished and fitted with mosquito nets and fans. (The mosquitoes, by the way, were absent for the entirety of our stay.) The Lodge is situated on a lake and each cottage has a porch overlooking it. Dining facilities are elegant, service excellent, and the food good and plentiful. Lodge residents are divided into groups of 6 or less and consigned to the same two guides and paddler for the entire visit. Both our guides were excellent and very professional. They knew exactly when and where to go to maximize the chances of seeing exotic wildlife. We were fortunate enough to see the giant otters at play within 20 yards of our canoe. The guides were patient and taught us to be so - often waiting 15 to 20 minutes in silence. They were also incredibly observant, spotting things we could not have seen had we been right on top of them. Compared to one other rain forest visit I have made, there were fewer monkeys to be seen. We were kept incredibly busy throughout our stay - this is not the place to go and swing in your hammock, but then it involves a 30 minute plane ride, a two hour motorized canoe journey down the Napo and a 90 minute paddle in a smaller canoe - so that you want to fill your time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly, please fel free to tell others about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We spent 5 nights in what is surely the best ecolodge in the Ecuadorian Amazon. It's a long trip down the Napo from Coca (not helped in our case by a sudden squall which meant the boat had to shelter by a sandbank for half an hour) and then another hour by dugout to the lodge. On arrival you are allocated a group according (approximately) to your interests indicated on a questionnaire sent in advance. Generally early starts - in some cases with a wake-up call at 4.30am, 5.00 breakfast, but given that dawn is the best time to see the wildlife, it's worth it. And there is plenty to see. We were lucky and saw the Giant Otters in one of the creeks, plus 6 species of monkey, about 150 species of birds, numerous frogs (but no snakes...). The canopy tower is the best place to see the birds, but note that, as some reviewers have already mentioned, wildlife is generally less easy to observe here than in Costa Rica. Other highlights - the hoatzin (called stinky turkey by the locals - well they are not that stinky, just smell somewhat like a cowshed!), bulldog bats and caiman, and the stunning Black-necked Red Cotinga, an amazing black and scarlet bird that requires a long trek down the Tiputini trail to see it, and Paradise Tanagers - with 7/8 different colours all one on bird little bigger than a sparrow. The food was excellent, surprising given that supplies are almost entirely brought in by dugout. We had a cookery demonstration by Juanito - responsible for making the delicious Aji salsa which is served with all meals. Being a determined group of Brits, Canadians and Americans, we also tried the Chontacuro, the large and surprisingly tasty larva of the Rhinoceros Beetle. Local delicacy: two of the larvae disappeared whilst in the kitchen and before being served, lightly fried and skewered, at our table.... they were probably the largest bugs we saw: there were hardly any mosquitos, and the bug quotient was surpisingly low. Beware of the midges though - they are tiny and will bit the unprotected arm or leg, so repellent is necessary at dusk and dawn.
The trip was organised by Andesconexion, and was very well done and efficient. I can strongly recommend both the lodge and the travel company. We were well looked after for the whole period and the guides were excellent and went out of their way to ensure we saw as much as possible. Miguel and Hugo had the sharpest pairs of eyes and could spot wildlife which seemed to us practically invisible. The efforts of the community to build and maintain the lodge in the unique rain forest it serves were evident - and this is a project that surely deserves support.
Thanks to all for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The place is very beautiful,clean neat.The staff is great,helpful,nice.The naturalist was great,the food was excellent.What a great way to spend a vacation.We had a phenomenal time.And on top of this the place is owned and runned by the village people.THANKS TO EVERYBODY THAT WORKS AT THE LODGE.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We hiked in the rainforest with native guides as well as well-versed and highly educated biologists. Together they showed us the parrot licks--where hidden from view of the birds you can see hundreds of parrots and parakeets gather to eat the clay. There are also numerous chances to see monkeys, other birds, orchids and caimans. It is a great place with great service and good food. But it is not easy to get there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Lodge is facing the Anagu Lake in the Amazon Basin and just full of the natural experience. My room (#5) was immediately in front of the lake and at the end of the property. Each room has a front patio facing the lake with Hammock and chair to enjoy the view and relax, however if going after Sunset wears lots of Deet - the insects are numerous. Of course if going to the Amazon you should be expecting: insects, the occasional lizard etc in your room (there is a mosquito netting for your bed; but well room is a different story). Lighting is low in the room and given one small bath towel. If washing your own clothes - beware as with the humidity clothes don't seem to dry and there is no hair dryer in the Lodges to help that process along; though you can have the Lodge do laundry for you. The Ponchos/Rain Boot provided by them are good quality - I was happy that I didn't feel like the 1000th person to wear them. Any Rain Boots don't have great soles so wear thick socks. Throughout your trip you want long pants and sleeves for the walks and even then shower have each outing. I failed to do this one walk and ended up with about 50 x chigger bites (microscopic mites that well you don't feel until too late but couldn't have been prevented by a good washing down from coming in from outdoors); which are torturous in their itch as well as massively unslightly and I got these despite the deet and long pants/sleeves. My guides (David and Malotin) were exceptional... patient, knowledgeable, friendly.... so skilled in seeing/hearing animals. Along with numerous birds and monkeys and insects/small reptiles, I was extremely lucky for the rare sighting of the sea otter and Tabir. You should note a lot of the larger animals are extremely rare to see, heard maybe a couple of times a year! So if you are going to expect to see these along with the puma, octlet, anteaters etc, you might be disappointed. The setting of the Lodge, with the service and especially the guides really made the stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

first let me say that when i booked napo and told them i used a wheelchair and my husband would be carrying me around the jungle they responded positively and said they would be happy to accommodate us. so i have to give them credit where credit is due. we had two problems with our visit, the first was that the address for payment changed and they did not notify us so our checks for payment are still lost and needed to be cancelled at our expense. Secondly they held our luggage while at napo but when we returned to quito our luggage was not at the airport and they told us to drive our rental car across town in a city we did not know to pick up our luggage at their office. luckily simon rental car saved the day by driving us to the office a good 20 minutes away and even our driver had a hard time finding the office. napo is in a very nice setting. it rained the first 12 hours making animal viewing poor but flooding the forest which was very beautiful. all and all animal viewing is not as good as costa rica as animals are farther away and better camouflaged but the trip is worth while. we did see the resident anaconda (a baby at 10 feet) and the scarlet macaws. the place is very expensive by ecuador standards where a luxury hotel can be had for $60. the community that runs the camp is not a true amazon community but a tribe that moved from the highlands. overall nice for a one time trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope you still remember your time at Napo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 y la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.