We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Selva Amazon Ecolodge to your Saves list
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
265 Foch and 6 de Diciembre, Sonelsa Building 6th Floor, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“What an amazing place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Overall, an incredible experience.
We traveled to Ecuador summer of 2012 with our 3 kids (8, 10 and 12 years). We booked our trip to the amazon thru our Hotel in Quito. Once booked, all we had to do is to show up at the hotel lobby the morning of the trip with our bags. They took care of everything. picked up in a private shuttle to the airport. Greeted by their agent who handed us our airline tickets and took us thru the security into the plane, helped us get our luggage on the other end.
That is where fun began. From high speed canoe ride, to hiking thru the jungle to get to the lagoon where the lodge is located. A second canoe ride brought us to the La Selva lodge, an incredible, comfortable luxury in the middle of amazon. This is a very very well organized place. Two to three guided tour (by foot or by Canoe) per day as well as night tours to see the nocturnal animals. There is electricity, warm showers, wonderful food and very very safe.
Do bring binoculars and telephoto zoom lenses.
We caught Piranhas off the dock, swam in the lagoon, visited local families (shot blow darts) and howled back at the howling monkeys. All in 3 days.

Room Tip: All rooms are new. upper level rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
85
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from spending our honeymoon at La Selva, and it was nothing short of amazing. The journey from Quito to the lodge is definitely an adventure, but we really felt like it added to the specialness of the experience, the paddle canoe ride from the dock in the jungle out into the lagoon where you fist spot the lodge was simply stunning. The lodge itself is wonderful, newly remodeled and extremely comfortable. We stayed in one the the superior suites on the lake and enjoyed the open screened walls and doors, it was incredible to be immersed in the jungle. Our naturalist guide Marco and native guide Omar were both outstanding! Please understand before you come here that no matter how wonderful the guides there is no guarantee that you will be able to see all of the wildlife that you are hoping to, this is the jungle people, and you are dealing with real, wild animals here. That being said we were extremely blessed to see a ton of wildlife in our 5 days at La Selva, the first evening alone our guides helped us spot squirrel monkeys, long nosed bats, and coolest of all a Harpy Eagle at the top of a tree along the lakes shore. We saw innumerable types of birds, 4 types of monkeys (the red howlers are my personal favorite), lizards, frogs, and as you would expect in the jungle bugs. Although I will say that they do a great job of keeping the bugs out if the rooms as much as possible. The food was remarkable, 5 courses for dinner every night, and the fresh fruit juices were so delicious. The bartender also makes great cocktails. As a part of our honeymoon package we were treated to some extras which were lovely, a dockside dinner and breakfast on the lake, a massage in the butterfly house, and our favorite a sunset lagoon cruise in a indigenously canoe. We were incredibly sad to leave La Selva, not ashamed to admit that I shed a tear or two on the canoe ride out. Can't wait to return again! If you love adventure, wildlife, and the outdoors this is the spot for you.

We also went on a couple of tours while we wee in Quito, we did the Colonial Quito tour and toured to the Telerifico cable car and the Solar Museum at the Equator with a great local guide Ivan (vizcainoivan on reipadvisor). He was incredibly knowledgable about the past and present of the city, as well as just fun to be with. He had very interesting stories and facts about all of the locations we visited, and was very willing to answer any additional questions that we had about the city our just Ecuador in general. We would recommend him for any tours in Ecuador, he can be reached directly via email at ivanv81@hotmail.com.

Room Tip: We loved superior suite 14, it was close to the common area but fade into the jungle along the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just returned from staying 3 days/nights at La Selva Lodge and must say that we absolutely loved it! True that is a little difficult to reach, but that adds to the sense of adventure. Even the 3 hours boat ride to get there is enjoyable. After all, it’s not every day that one gets to spend 3 hours feeling the breeze on your face while seeing the Amazon rainforest, the little villages on the banks of the river and the local people fishing on their tiny canoes.

As for the lodge itself, it is beautiful. We stayed on a Family Suite and it was definitely worth it. Besides being spacious and comfortable, it had the added bonus of having its floor entirely tiled. Apparently the smaller cabins don’t have that feature, which came in very handy as during the middle part of the day it gets VERY hot. Being able to lay down on that cool tile under the ceiling fan helped a lot. The cabin was spotless and the bathroom very well appointed.

The common areas are open and with stunning views of the lake. One very pleasant surprise was the quality of the meals. To our amazement, their French chef kept sending delicious gourmet dishes out of the kitchen (quite a lot of dishes too!). The natural juices were also great.

Last, but not least, our guide and his assistant (Rodrigo and Enrique) were fantastic. They are both native of the area and through them we got to experience the jungle in a fascinating way. Not only they would spot all kinds of birds and animals, Rodrigo would literally show us how people there make use of every tree and plant in the forest, not just for the obvious reasons of meals and medicine, but he also showed us leaves that are used as sandpaper, he made ropes out of certain leaves which he then used to climb up a palm tree. The list of things he did goes on and on. It was all so interesting and fun.

The activities are perfectly planned early in the morning and late in the afternoon and early evening. Although I read some reviews complaining about the down-time in the middle of the day, I think it was perfect, because that time of the day is just too hot to be active, so it’s great to take a nap after a great hearty lunch, read a little, or just enjoy the view of the lake.

Room Tip: Family suites have tiled floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed three nights at this beautiful, recently renovated lodge on the shore of Garzacocha Lagoon, close to the Yasuni National Park, one of the places with highest biodiversity worldwide. We had a fantastic experience and we can only recommend this place. We were only 10 guests at the lodge. We were a family of 5 and therefore we got two guides (the professional guide plus the local guide) only for us! Both Marco and Raúl were excellent guides and we enjoyed every minute of the walks through the rainforest, the canoe navigation in the lagoon, the visit to the local family and to the parrot clay lick, the piranha fishing in the lagoon... The individual cabins are spacious, simple but very beautiful and comfortable. The food was really outstanding, amazing what the young French Chef does with local products. Service was also great. The place is as great as it looks like on their website. Only one warning: La Selva is an eco-lodge and the transportation along the Napo river is done in traditional motor boats, not as fast and comfortable as others more powerful and modern boats that you see around. You have to be prepared for the tedious 3 hours navigation back from the hotel to Coca. Anyway, a great place to get acquainted with the Amazonian rainforest and feel very well treated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ok, so you want something completely different! A couple of plane rides from Ecuador's capital, Quito, then a 3 hour motorised canoe trip down the Napa River - tributary of the Amazon - then a 30 min boardwalk trek, then a 30 min paddle canoe down a dense jungle river and into a large black piranha infested lake where a palm roofed hotel emerges at the other side. Welcome to La Selva, a totally authentic Amazon experience where you sign a disclaimer BEFORE you get there as this is the jungle where wild animals reside! Believe me, I hate spiders and snakes and I survived! It was one of the most incredible trips where you just need to trust your guide implicitlly and go with the gentle flow. Food was Michelin star quality and the Kitchwa indigenous people were a real joy to meet.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished lodge close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the second time I have used Columbus Travel in Quito for my adventures within Ecuador. The first time was when I booked a tour to the Galapagos on the Galaxy Yacht in 2009. I loved that trip - the boat was top notch and the program and guide were outstanding. The food was also quite good.

In 2012, I returned to Ecuador on another business trip and looked up my agent Diego at Columbus. He was still there and he remembered me. This time, he helped me book a trip to the Amazon at the newly-renovated La Selva Lodge. I found five star accommodations in the middle of the rain forest. The food was truly outstanding - 5 course dinners every night and so many different types of juices to choose from! The room I was given was absolutely beautiful and immaculate. The bi-lingual guide was terrific and our indigenous guide was a delight. I would like to thank the entire staff of La Selva Lodge for a truly unforgettable trip.

I traveled with my partner to the Galapagos. He really loved the snorkeling This time, I travelled alone. I met great travel companions from around the world. Several were traveling with their kids, many of whom had been to the Galapagos. My impression is that if you and your family really want to see a LOT of wildlife up close, then the Galapagos is the better choice as the animals are right out in the open practically posing for pictures. The Amazon rain forest is a bit more subtle. If you like long walks in the forest and enjoy small creatures, lush vegetation, and the true sensation of getting away from it all, then La Selva is for you.

But why choose? Do both. For once-in-a-lifetime travel, Ecuador is the place to come and Columbus Travel is a marvelous agency to work with.

I am looking forward to my next visit to Ecuador - can't wait to see what new adventures await me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

La Selva lodge did not come up to expectations! If I had known that they were doing major renervations I would have changed my Lodge. Bang bang all day long and workmen every where. Staff not friendly, I think under new management. Food not great. When I eventually got a birding guide things improved. They did not read my forms to see that I was there for birding mainly. The area was not good for birding very difficult to see birds. The guide who was excellent had to use the call recorder to bring birds out into the open. Most times he was sucessful. A lot of time is wasted getting to the lodge. took 3 hours by motorised boat.Then a walk and then another canoe.When you get there it is now lunch time so nothing further is done until 4pm. A bit of a rip off.Same when you leave the lodge it is 6am. and a long journey in front of you !The river was in flood so it took 4+ hours to return.

Room Tip: Stay at another lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSelvaEcolodge, Public Relations Manager at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Wood,

We are sorry to hear that the lodge did not live up to your expectations. We realize it is a bit of a journey to get to the lodge, but we can assure you that this is the only way to get the deep Amazon experience that most of our clients are looking for. As you know, we do have special birdwatching programs, but unfortunately our forms only indicate that you love nature and birds so we were unaware that you had wanted a specific birdwatching tour. We hope this issue was resolved in a timely manner, and we are glad that you did enjoy your guide after all. All the agencies we work with are aware of the renovations and as a result your reservations specialist should have advised you about the renovation of the lodge. The construction work was supposed to be done during the time the clients went on the guided tours and we are very sorry as this does not seem to be the case for you. We have now completed the renovation of the lodge and we can guarantee that there will be no more construction work while we have clients at the lodge.
Best Regards,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: 265 Foch and 6 de Diciembre, Sonelsa Building 6th Floor, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge is the perfect Reserve for all kinds of travelers. We offer naturalists - wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you.At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guide and a bilingual Naturalist Guide divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well hearing, seeing and even smelling things guests cannot, they are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon.Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the AmazonThe Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.