We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Amazon Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yarina Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yarina Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Yarina Eco Lodge
Pto. Francisco de Orellana | office-Av. Amazonas N24-240 y Av. Colon, Quito, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Amazon Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This lodge is about a 45 minute canoe ride down the Napo River from Coca. It is located just up a much smaller river that is very narrow. The lodge is one large open air building with a lounge, restaurant & bar and a about 20 small cabins. Each room is in its own cabin and has an attached bathroom. The bathroom is partially open air, but covered from any rain. Several cabins share a propane hot water heater that only heats water once the hot water is turned on. The best way to get warm water is to run just the hot water and then turn on the cold water once it gets hot. The cabins have several screened windows with curtains, but when you have a light on in the cabin, they are pretty much see-through. The cabin walls and door have some gaps so most folks felt more comfortable using the mosquito nets located above each bed. I didn't use it during this visit and did not get any bug bites. The electricity comes from a generator that is typically only on from 6 - 10 p.m. This is when you can recharge your electrical devices. The bar had one kind of beer (large bottle for $3), 2 kinds of wine (Chilean red & white) and several type of liquor. However, there is no ice for the bar until the generator kicks on in the evening. The meals were served to us family style except for the main dish (portion size was somewhat small). Since we were at the lodge on Christmas Eve, the kitchen staff cooked a turkey for our evening meal. During the day, our local guide (Hymi) took us hiking in the forest where we learned about the plants and saw many birds and some poison dart frogs. One of the highlights was an evening visit to a nearby lake where we so the glowing firefly larvae in the shallow water. The lodge has a monkey-viewing platform where they set out bananas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'll start off by saying the listing should have the lodge location in Coca, since it is less than an hour by boat from there.

My wife and I started our two week honeymoon in Ecuador spending 4 days/3 nights at Yarina followed by a week on the Galapagos. The idea was we could do some fun, interesting stuff in the Amazon followed by a week of stress-free relaxing on the Galapagos. And it turns out this was the opposite of the truth! Our experience at Yarina was can be described as peaceful, relaxing, romantic, and spiritual.

We can't help but feel very lucky have had an amazing guide, Livio. There's a couple of other posters on here that have talked about him and his appreciation and connection with the jungle. We cannot agree more. Being able to experience the jungle through him made this experience something we will never ever forget. He had a knack for finding wildlife at the slightest indication (which I would have been oblivious to). He also showed us how to make a variety of tools and clothes from the basic plants and trees in the jungle.

As for the lodge itself, the setting was breathtaking. It was about a kilometre away from the Rio Napo which made it very quaint. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable. The showers had more than adequate hot water. It was unreal for us to sleep with only the sounds of the jungle (which you may need one night to get used to). All the meals we had were excellent and the service was second to none.

Our experience at this lodge could be described as a Retreat on steroids. It will probably always stand as the most organic and enriching times of my life! The friendliness and promptness of the staff as well as their powerfully deep appreciation of the jungle and all that it provides will always stick with us. Yes, life-changing. Thank you Yarina!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying in this lodge was amazing. The cabins were cozy and clean and the food was fantastic. The best part was being in the middle of the rain forest and hearing the rain on the roof and the monkeys playing in the trees. A wonderful experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is located one hour from Coca by boat. It has 20 cabanas made of bambu in the middle of the Amazon forest. Staff is friendly, the local guide Eduardo competent and absolutely necessary to walk you throughout the forest. Activities 3/4 times a day, rubber boots provided by the lodge. There is hot water, electricity from 6 to 10pm. Absolutely recommended for the perfect visit of the Amazonian.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

the short 3 days of my stay. This ecolodge is the most unique, lively, beautiful, magical, friendly, delicious, MOST PERFECT place you could ever ask for. If you want EXCELLENT food (I was weary at first because I have a 'california girl's' stomach...!), a beautiful and serene location, service worth raving about and all of the magic you could hope for in a rainforest trip then you had BETTER make your Amazon/Napo stay at the Yarina Ecolodge.

After landing at the (very tiny!) airport in Coca, we were picked up by the employees in taxis. It was a bit rainy and in the shuffle of 6 suitcases, a handful of carry-ons, and a few non-spanish speaking tourists later, the owner of the lodge discreetly stepped in and paid the taxis out of his pocket while we were getting situated.That was sign number one that we were being taken care of in the most worry free way. Check in was easy at the dock and off we went down the magnificent river in a motorized canoe. Arriving at the lodge was the most breath-taking thing! The lodge is located at the top of a hill surrounded by beautiful forest on every side with the river bank on its shore. We were welcomed by the amazing parrots that had been fed a line or two! Mostly just whistles but never the less, we loved those parrots! Our server Frankie treated us like family the whole time, if you get the pleasure of his company, consider yourself lucky! I could write an entire narrative of our whole time there but it would take hours to write it all. so here are a few summarized reasons as to why i loved the time i spent there, and will most likely be returning during my next trip to Ecuador:

-There was close attention paid to us by the staff (Frankie especially)
-The food was probably the best I have ever had in the world
-Our tour guide for the weekend, Dennis, was the most knowledgable person for the job, he could tell you ANYTHING you wanted to know about any plant, insect or animal in the rainfoest. and this is not solely from academics but from his own life experience living in the area. DENNIS is the guy to request!!!!!!!!!!!! He made us traditional bracelets on the spot from the fibers he collected from a plant we walked by, i mean you just cant beat that! he did the same with another and wove a whole basket in front of our eyes! he cooked us traditional food over the fire pit during one excursion and another time, we went out and caught pirahnas and they cooked them up for us to taste! he took us hand canoeing at night to spot caimans which are alligators (totally safe i promise!) and also on a 4 hour day hike through the most amazing part of the rainforest!
-We saw monkeys and lizards and outrageous looking insects, alligators, pirahnas, incredible amazonian birds, tapir footprints, and countless types of trees. he taught us about the medicinal and other uses of plants in the rainforerst....i can go on and on literally.
-We met a truly indigenous family that lived off the land, bought a few trinketts from them to show our support. They knew we were coming and their family is one of a few that the owner of the lodge is helping to educate. The owner of the Yarina lodge has built and is busy improving a school for the local indigenous's children to learn basic academics. This is another reason I pride the yarina lodge, their main desire is to better the people that live there. One of the most astounding things the indigenous said to us went like this (my dad spoke to them in spanish):
My dad: "We hope you don't mind our intrusion on your property to visit your family."
Family member: "It is no problem at all, we are all visitors on this planet, what is mine is yours."
It blew me away to hear the extreme difference in the way other people's life philosophy is all about. I can say I had a lot to reflect on after our visit to that family. To see how they live so happily with the simplicity of living off their sustainable environment is definitely good food for thought and reflection on ones-self...
-More misc: rainboots were supplied, even for my husband who has giant feet. there are mosquito nets for each bed. they have good wine, beer and other kept on room tabs! this place literally has it ALL.

You cannot, i repeat, you CANNOT beat the experience we had at the small paradise hidden in the Napo section of the Amazon Jungle called the Yarina EcoLodge. You may be able to pay more money for a place that has electricity 24/7 (here electricity was from 10am-1pm and 6pm to 10pm daily but battery powered lanterns were supplied), American food, and less bugs but I can guarantee you will not have the same genuine experience in the rainforest that you would if you stay here. If you want a real escape from the lives we lead to enjoy Mother Nature at its finest, then you have no other alternative but to spend your time at Yarina EcoLodge.

Viva Yarina! Viva Napo! Viva Ecuador y Viva El Mundo!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I loved that they had a space for you to set out "things". Gas light in our room to use when the lights went out at 10. Food was good and plenty of it, so was the beer. We enjoyed the hikes that were offered and the staff was pleasant. My favorite was the parrots that wolf whistled when you walked by or yelled OLA!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

About 1 hour boat ride from Coca. Spent 4 days and 3 nights in clean individual cabin. Lots of hiking available with the local guide, went for a canoe ride at night looking for caymen. Food was average and there could have been a little more offered. Frogs outside my window sounded like an alarm clock going off, hard to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarina Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarina Eco Lodge

Address: Pto. Francisco de Orellana | office-Av. Amazonas N24-240 y Av. Colon, Quito, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YARINA Eco Lodge is strategically located in an area of forest that counts on the highest diversity of micro-habitats in the Napo area, this means that there are more species of animals, birds, reptiles and insects than else where in Napo river and surrounded. Welcome to the fantastic world at the Ecuadorian Amazon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Yarina Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarina Eco Lodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarina Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.