We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HANDS DOWN BEST PLACE ALONG NAPO RIVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yarina Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yarina Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Yarina Eco Lodge
Pto. Francisco de Orellana | office-Av. Amazonas N24-240 y Av. Colon, Quito, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HANDS DOWN BEST PLACE ALONG NAPO RIVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

the short 3 days of my stay. This ecolodge is the most unique, lively, beautiful, magical, friendly, delicious, MOST PERFECT place you could ever ask for. If you want EXCELLENT food (I was weary at first because I have a 'california girl's' stomach...!), a beautiful and serene location, service worth raving about and all of the magic you could hope for in a rainforest trip then you had BETTER make your Amazon/Napo stay at the Yarina Ecolodge.

After landing at the (very tiny!) airport in Coca, we were picked up by the employees in taxis. It was a bit rainy and in the shuffle of 6 suitcases, a handful of carry-ons, and a few non-spanish speaking tourists later, the owner of the lodge discreetly stepped in and paid the taxis out of his pocket while we were getting situated.That was sign number one that we were being taken care of in the most worry free way. Check in was easy at the dock and off we went down the magnificent river in a motorized canoe. Arriving at the lodge was the most breath-taking thing! The lodge is located at the top of a hill surrounded by beautiful forest on every side with the river bank on its shore. We were welcomed by the amazing parrots that had been fed a line or two! Mostly just whistles but never the less, we loved those parrots! Our server Frankie treated us like family the whole time, if you get the pleasure of his company, consider yourself lucky! I could write an entire narrative of our whole time there but it would take hours to write it all. so here are a few summarized reasons as to why i loved the time i spent there, and will most likely be returning during my next trip to Ecuador:

-There was close attention paid to us by the staff (Frankie especially)
-The food was probably the best I have ever had in the world
-Our tour guide for the weekend, Dennis, was the most knowledgable person for the job, he could tell you ANYTHING you wanted to know about any plant, insect or animal in the rainfoest. and this is not solely from academics but from his own life experience living in the area. DENNIS is the guy to request!!!!!!!!!!!! He made us traditional bracelets on the spot from the fibers he collected from a plant we walked by, i mean you just cant beat that! he did the same with another and wove a whole basket in front of our eyes! he cooked us traditional food over the fire pit during one excursion and another time, we went out and caught pirahnas and they cooked them up for us to taste! he took us hand canoeing at night to spot caimans which are alligators (totally safe i promise!) and also on a 4 hour day hike through the most amazing part of the rainforest!
-We saw monkeys and lizards and outrageous looking insects, alligators, pirahnas, incredible amazonian birds, tapir footprints, and countless types of trees. he taught us about the medicinal and other uses of plants in the rainforerst....i can go on and on literally.
-We met a truly indigenous family that lived off the land, bought a few trinketts from them to show our support. They knew we were coming and their family is one of a few that the owner of the lodge is helping to educate. The owner of the Yarina lodge has built and is busy improving a school for the local indigenous's children to learn basic academics. This is another reason I pride the yarina lodge, their main desire is to better the people that live there. One of the most astounding things the indigenous said to us went like this (my dad spoke to them in spanish):
My dad: "We hope you don't mind our intrusion on your property to visit your family."
Family member: "It is no problem at all, we are all visitors on this planet, what is mine is yours."
It blew me away to hear the extreme difference in the way other people's life philosophy is all about. I can say I had a lot to reflect on after our visit to that family. To see how they live so happily with the simplicity of living off their sustainable environment is definitely good food for thought and reflection on ones-self...
-More misc: rainboots were supplied, even for my husband who has giant feet. there are mosquito nets for each bed. they have good wine, beer and other kept on room tabs! this place literally has it ALL.

You cannot, i repeat, you CANNOT beat the experience we had at the small paradise hidden in the Napo section of the Amazon Jungle called the Yarina EcoLodge. You may be able to pay more money for a place that has electricity 24/7 (here electricity was from 10am-1pm and 6pm to 10pm daily but battery powered lanterns were supplied), American food, and less bugs but I can guarantee you will not have the same genuine experience in the rainforest that you would if you stay here. If you want a real escape from the lives we lead to enjoy Mother Nature at its finest, then you have no other alternative but to spend your time at Yarina EcoLodge.

Viva Yarina! Viva Napo! Viva Ecuador y Viva El Mundo!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I loved that they had a space for you to set out "things". Gas light in our room to use when the lights went out at 10. Food was good and plenty of it, so was the beer. We enjoyed the hikes that were offered and the staff was pleasant. My favorite was the parrots that wolf whistled when you walked by or yelled OLA!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

About 1 hour boat ride from Coca. Spent 4 days and 3 nights in clean individual cabin. Lots of hiking available with the local guide, went for a canoe ride at night looking for caymen. Food was average and there could have been a little more offered. Frogs outside my window sounded like an alarm clock going off, hard to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieu-Bethesda, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spend 5 days at this lodge in October. It was a budget choice as the other lodges were out of our price range.
We flew in and then went by motor boat to the lodge. The lodge itself is simple but clean. There is only electricity for a few hours in the evening and obviously no internet.
We had a room with 2 single beds and a shower. Outside there is a small veranda with a hammock. The rooms were clean and the water was hot.
The common areas are very nice with a good view of the river and some forest.
The food was excellent and a lot!. I found having breakfast at 6am quite difficult as that is very early to eat. I know they did this to beat the heat - but it seemed just as hot in any case.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were serviced every day.
Our disappointment was that nobody spoke a word of English (but when we booked they assured us that the guide was English).
The daily activities were rather boring for us as we couldn’t understand a word - and trudged behind the guide through hectic heat. It’s difficult to see animals in the jungle but we did see lots of insects and plants. The activities were the same every day and one afternoon we found it more pleasant to lie in the hammock and watch birds in the jungle.
So a good choice for budget travellers, the food is good and plentiful. The daily activities sounded great on the web but wernt that great in reality. You certainly need Spanish to stay here.

Room Tip: We didnt have a choice of room allthough they all seemed pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amore88
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I did the 3 day 2 night stay and thought the amount of time was just right. My husband and I paid extra for a shaman experience and the full day tour of Yasuni National Park. That was well worth it! Some of the scheduled daily events didn't appeal to us-like blow dart practice or piranha fishing. The hiking was fun-especially the night hike but at times the trail was a little hazardous. They are in the process of building walkways thru the swampy parts but right now they are raised, narrow planks with bolts sticking out and some fair sized gaps. Our private guide for Yasuni who was also our interpreter for the shaman, Livio-was awesome! He made the trip so fascinating and his love for the jungle really shows. The guide at the lodge itself seemed a tad too serious at times and we felt like we were wearing on his patience! The cabanas are comfy, Of course they're spartan-this is the Amazon. Of course there's limited power. We went there to get back to simple and we succeeded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After an hour of fast boat from Coca you reach this lodge in the middle of the rainy forest. Of course it is a "spartan" place, with bamboo/wood bungalows without air conditioning and with electric power only in the evening (but hot water all day long). The experience of the Amazonian Forest was very fantastic, you are part of the nature, in the middle of plants and a lot of animals. Good quality of the food, and very nice personnel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was there the last week in May 2012 for 5 days and that was too long, I think 2 or 3 days are sufficient enough. I enjoyed the lodge I thought that the service was great and they provide vegetarian/vegan meals. The staff members were really friendly and the excursion was fine and nice but long at times. I did not like how they brought indigenous (Waorani) from Coca fully clothes and then later they changed to be nude so they can give us a fake show of how indigenous are deep in the jungle, thus my three stars. Overall I did enjoy this even though internet was not available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarina Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarina Eco Lodge

Address: Pto. Francisco de Orellana | office-Av. Amazonas N24-240 y Av. Colon, Quito, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YARINA Eco Lodge is strategically located in an area of forest that counts on the highest diversity of micro-habitats in the Napo area, this means that there are more species of animals, birds, reptiles and insects than else where in Napo river and surrounded. Welcome to the fantastic world at the Ecuadorian Amazon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Yarina Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarina Eco Lodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarina Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.