We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in montanita” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baja Montanita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baja Montanita to your Saves list
Hotel Baja Montanita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Montanita
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in montanita”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I have stayed in other hostels in Montanita and by far this one is the best. A little more expensive than the other ones but you get what you pay for. So if you visit montanita and if you actually are going to get some rest I suggest this one, if not then stay at the 10$ a night ones.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
30
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We just stayed one night. Loved the beach and only a few minute drive to town. Lots of places to eat there and people watch, very entertaining. Rooms were a decent size, a little older, but clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

the surroundings were nice and the room too in sort of cottage style, but far too expensive for that standard (also in consideration of country prices).

The worst thing though was that they wanted us to pay in advance (since they apparently had had problems with OTHER customers!), which in itself is an unuasual thing to ask. And we were naive to agree, to be nice. They also wanted me to sign a blank (!) VISA-slip for any future expenses (minibar etc). When the weather did not turn out as nice as we expected and we wanted to check out a few days earlier than we had paid for, they suddenly said it was too late to transfer the money back to the Mastercard (which is BS) and they also wanted to charge us $50!! They had NOT informed us of this when we checked in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

this place needs some serious attention with faded exterior and worn rooms. it is extremely overpriced by ecuador standards. the pool tiles were all falling off, shower door was falling off, exterior needed a paint job. entrance road full of muddy potholes. restaurant twice the price of the restaurants in montanita. the worst and most expensive place we stayed. give it a pass. the only reason it even gets a mention is that it is the only hotel in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We arrived at the Baja Montanita after a disappointing first night in Salinas (shouldn't have wasted our time). We booked one of the larger matrimonio rooms for $90/night plus tax (this included a safe, minibar and was on the top floor, which distinguished it from the $75/night room). We had a gorgeous view of the pool, beach bar and beyond that, the ocean. Considering we arrived on a Saturday, it was pretty empty, but May is in between seasons on the coast, I was told. The price is high for Montanita, but if you look at what your options are, and you want a hotel not a hostel, this is definitely the way to go.

We stayed 3 nights, and that was the perfect amount of time. We were very happy that we ditched Salinas to come to the Baja Montanita. The owner was very friendly and introduced himself. Once he told us the water at the bar was purified, we were happy to be able to trust the ice again (we didn't have any stomach issues at all, so that was proof enough for me).

We walked to town one afternoon for dinner and it was ok - not a lot going on, and not that different from a lot of backpacker destinations. The food at Macchu Pichu was ok but the hotel restaurant was better. We had been traveling a while and just wanted to do nothing but lay on the beach, lounge in the pool, eat and drink so this was just perfect for us. I heard Montanita has quite a party scene but it was slow when we got there, and we were recovering from 10 days of traveling and partying so didn't experience it. Also, the beach is pitch black between the hotel and the town, so it was a little disconcerting to walk in total darkness back from the town...we saw someone using a cell phone as a flashlight.

The hotel arranged for a taxi back to Guayaquil which was only $50. If you're heading here from the airport, ask the hotel to send someone for you - if you take the airport taxi you are looking at $120 - although it seems most people take the bus to get there, the hotel is down a side road from the main road, so you'll be fine with a backpack but not a rolling bag. It took about 2 hours to get to the airport, but our driver was flying so it's normally longer.

There is a single pagoda on the beach between the restaurant and the beach bar and you can make reservations for a meal there. It was so empty we had sunset dinners two nights in a row with excellent service. Everything pretty much shut down by about 9:30 on Sunday and Monday nights once the weekend people left - it seemed there were only 3 groups of us in the entire hotel after that.

Internet service was very fast. As far as other diversions, there is a masseuse who works on the premises and each of us had a massage after dinner one night, very relaxing, we were ready to go straight to bed. They have satellite TV but only a few channels, all in Spanish except for one. Other than that, the only entertainment is to chat with the bar and restaurant staff who were all extremely accomodating and interesting, but you'll need to know at least basic Spanish to do much more than order your meal or drinks.

As far as areas to improve...I think the bathrooms would be a good target for the next renovation. Our shower didn't seem to have been thoroughly cleaned in a while. Also, there was a gap in the wall where the TV cable ran where some pretty large insects came and went during the night, so make sure you don't leave any food around or you may have issues.

Based on the reviews I saw...it was exactly what I expected and if I return to Montanita I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We had not planned on travelling to Montanita on our 3 week trip to Ecuador but after a few nice days in Bahia de Caraquez we decided to spend more time along the coast. In all, 'we' were comprised of 4 adults and 2 children (3 and 5 yrs).
We booked a couple of rooms the day before our arrival via telephone.
After a 5 hr car ride along the coastline we arrived at Baja Montanita in the darkness. If you or your driver have never been to Montanita I suggest you arrive during daylight hours. Finding the resort took some work but thanks to a few strolling hippies they pointed us in the right direction.
The check-in process was smooth. We were given 2 rooms. Each room contained a master bed (queen size) and a separate area with bunk beds and a bathroom. The rooms were clean. Note that there was a musty seaside smell in the rooms but this is to be expected being so close to the shoreline. I will stress that the rooms were clean.
Waking up the next day and opening up the curtains to a full view of the beach and crashing waves was a treat.
Breakfast was nice with fresh breads, fresh fruit juices, ecuadorian style coffee (lots of warmed milk with a little coffee), and eggs (poached, fried, scrambled) and cereals.
The hotel was pretty much empty while we were there. We were told that their busy season was over. They apparently host a Billabong surfing event in ?April with thousands of tourists flooding the area.
The beach is wonderful and clean. No rocks. Waves are fun and are manageable close to shore. Out a bit further they get bigger. We rented chairs and boogey boards and had lots of fun while the kids frolicked in the shallower water and made sand castles.
The town is very unique..... I don't recall seeing anybody over the age of 40! It seemed very safe, day or night. It was a relaxed atmosphere with one street containing mostly hostels, restaurants, surf shops, and clothing stores. Along the sides of the street hippies set up little tables and sell little trinketts.
The lunch at Baja Montanita and dinner was the same menu. The food was prepared very well. I had a thick steak there a few times, always cooked to my liking. The service was personable and friendly.
At night they kept a bar open near the pool. Since there was very few guests at this time the bar was empty. The bartender was a young happy fellow, probably helped himself a little too much to the bar during his downtime! The only thing that surprised me was the cost of a beer. He charged me $7 US for 2 large cans. When I asked someone else the next day I was quoted the same price. I guess this is how they make a more money. If you plan on drinking a few while at the hotel I would suggest going to town and buying them there.
The hotel had internet which helped us plan the next stage of our trip.
Overall we loved Baja Montanita. If you are looking for a trip off the beaten path but yet well serviced I would recommend Montanita. Be prepared to see lots of dreadlocks, barefeet, dogs, and surfboards. Weather was beautiful, people friendly and it feels different than any other resort-like town.
Baja Montanita was obviously the best hotel in the area.
We payed $75 a night each room. The steak dinner was $9.00 and the breakfast was $4.00. The shrimp ceviche was very good there also.
They had satellite TV and hot water.
Beach chairs were $4 a day and Boogey boards $9 for 3 hrs.

I loved it and will be going back again. Next time I'll spend more time and learn how to surf!

  • Liked — Best hotel in Montanita....... Slim pickings there
  • Disliked — Price of beer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

A buddy and I each rented a room at the Hotel Baja Montanita on a tour of Ecuador. Montanita is a cool place, but is geared toward backpackers, so there weren't many hotel-type options available (air conditioning, etc.). This hotel looked nice, had a pool, bar and restaurant, and so we took it. The rooms were adequate and clean, and the staff was friendly. The accommodations were a bit run down, though, the room was small, and it was somewhat buggy (normal for the area). Overall, it was okay, but as another reviewer said, it was much higher priced than it should've been (about $100/night if I recall). In a town where you can get a room at a hostel for less than $10/night, I'd have expected these rooms to be much less expensive (around $50/night).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baja Montanita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.