We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to come to in Ecuador for the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baja Montanita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baja Montanita to your Saves list
Hotel Baja Montanita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Montanita
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place to come to in Ecuador for the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great place on the beach, great staff, great food! We will return. The location is perfect because you can walk to the center of Montanita by way of the beach. We really enjoyed just sitting out by the ocean bar and also enjoyed the swimming pool. The rooms great too because they all overlook the beach
Thanks to the wonderful staff led by General Manager, Olivier Peroche, we had a great time. Olivier is very attentive with guests. Ask for Johnny in the restaurant and bar. He is great and a lot of fun to hang with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is at the end of Montañita and if you are one of those persons (like me) who likes to be far away from the crowds, this is the hotel to stay. This is by far the best in terms of standards. All others are hostels ( 1 or 2 stars). This hotel is a 3 plus. Yo can easily walk along the beach towards town. Rooms (de luxe) are fairly good with a nice ocean view; bathrooms are fine. Air conditioning works very well.

Room Tip: The have rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Baja Montanita for one evening during the August off-season. It was easy to see that the place might have been special 'back in the day' but it is now showing a bit of wear. Clean and good service...just not up to the price levels that they charged.

POSITIVES

Good service all-around and very clean. Comfortable beds. Location is at the very north end of the beach - good for some quiet rest away from the action. The kids didn't use the pool, but it looked fun and well-maintained. It's right on the beach.

NEGATIVES

The price simply didn't match up with what you can get for much less elsewhere in Montanita. Door locks were laughable - no deadbolts and worn after years of use. I could have leaned hard on the door and it would have popped open. Bathroom window didn't lock either, so there's no leaving valuables in the room if you stay here. It's quite a walk (even over the beaches) to Montanita, so note the distance if you want to enjoy the nightlife.

OTHER

Food was above average and traditional Ecuadorian fare. We enjoyed our ordered meals (fish, shrimp, soups) and they came out quite well. Breakfast was well-served, but coffee was poor and choices limited. Everything was well maintained...just a bit worn. Maybe the place gets more lively during the high season.

I'd recommend Hotel Baja Montanita if you are a fussy traveler who wants to get away from the noise of Montanita and doesn't mind paying more for something less adventuresome. Probably a better choice for those travelling with little kids.

Not sure where we are going to stay next time in the area, but we'll likely pass on Hotel Baja Montanita due to the price vs. value provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is too expensive for the town the food at the hotel was twice the price of the food in town as well and what they call a private beach is a human sized sandbox with lounge chairs over looking the beach, we did not have hot water for 2 days the breakfast is the same thing everyday, I would not recommend this hotel the only good thing is its far away from the noise in town, sunbathing topless is allowed only when guests don't complain but meanwhile 14 and 15 year old girls are allowed with thongs on the property swimming pool so its OK to show of your buttocks but not OK for a woman to be topless with her husband present. what a joke we always stay in resorts in other countries and no one has ever told me to put on a top that's why its worth staying at a high end resort with full service and paying a few thousand dollars then staying in what i call a cabana style hotel it needs much updating no coffee pot in the room we had to wait till 8 am when they brought out coffee and the coffee in the pot was instant not even real coffee do they serve.the wifi room only has 1 computer no gym room as well this was a waist of money I should have stood at the Hostile next door. the mini bar was to expensive as well our mini bar bill was 165. for 9 days and my husband would drink 2 beers daily and 2 mini wines which equal 1/2 glass what a rip off we would buy our snacks in town which was much more cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've just stayed there in the last week of January12. Altough the hotel could get some renew in the average it's ok. Compared to the other options it's the best choice. 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and stores - use the beach to make the walk- it has a nice pool and the room is very confortable. The guys in the front desk are kind of useless but you can get around them. Food is cheap and good. Beer is cheap too. I've got a little worried when I saw there was no safe box in the room but the people working there are very honest. Take some old clothes in good conditions to bargain with the beach sellers and get favors in the hotel. On saturdays night life is insane and in the other days it's o preatty neat. Almost forgot, it's right in front of the Montanita point break...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is the best in the Montanita area. The view from the room is amazing and it's a few steps from the sand and sea. It also has a good size pool. The food is excellent and the staff is very cordial and informative. Johnny and Otton were always attentive and made us feel at home. The rooms are clean and the whole area aroun the buildngs is well kept. Break fast is included. I would definitely recomend it and definitly will be coming back

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but room 102 has the best one. If not 102, try 103 it's pretty g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I've stayed at several hotels when visiting this surf beach. It's the best stay thus far.
It's about 10 mins walk to main strip but if you want to surf this hotel is actually in the center of action!
The price is the highest compared to rest of hotels but well worth it. If you want comfort, relaxation and are used to 5 star hotels then this is it. The food is amazingly fresh, free WiFi, they have their own pool and the rooms are cozy with a view of the ocean.

This is an excellent stay for families since you can get two joining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baja Montanita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.