We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of peace, rest and balance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa to your Saves list
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Km 700 E15 Via Espondylus | Loma de San Jose - Santa Elena, Montanita EC241756, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A place of peace, rest and balance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Samai is a very special place. I was looking to find a workshop in Ecuador about Shamanism and indigenous cultures before travelling on throughout the country by myself for 3 weeks. I came across Samai online through the Sacred Journey part of their website and found a weeks workshop incorporating ceremonies with sacred plants, yoga, meditation and shamanic ceremonies. Now, I know that a lot of people might read the last sentence and think that this is the last thing that they would be interested in, or that it might be some weird, New Age retreat, but Samai is a beautiful, relaxing lodge where you can do as much or as little as you like, both in terms of the local activities on offer as well as the sacred journeys and spiritual retreats.

The rooms in the cabins dotted across the property make the most of the stunning views down to the sea and the paths to access them are well lit at night. The free wifi signal doesn't reach the cabins, but is fast and efficient in the lovely communal areas. Samai is also surrounded by beautiful forest so you'll be able to see and hear all sorts of exotic wildlife, including huge blue butterflies and humming birds.

The service has to be one of the best things about Samai, everyone was so unbelievably friendly and accommodating. I was anxious about bugs getting into the room as I'm rather bug-phobic (great choice to go to cloud forest then!). I emailed Tania, one of the owners, before I arrived to mention this and she assured me the room would be thoroughly checked and treated with Paolo Santo, a natural deterrent to creepy crawlies, and I had no problems during my week's stay. The food was also the best I had during my month long trip to Ecuador and my nervousness about travelling by myself for the first time was allayed by a pick up from Guyaquil airport and a lift with Ed and Tania to Cuenca which went above and beyond.

For a quiet, relaxing (and, if you would like it to be), spiritual and meditative escape by the ocean in Ecuador, I would definitely recommend Samai as the nicest place in the area.

With thanks to Tania, Ed and the fantastic Samai team,
Fleur

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Costumer

Your appreciation for Nature and your presence in Samai Lodge encourage us to continue to support responsible tourism.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montañita, Guayas, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was overwhelmed by the merging of jungle, ocean and mountain all in one place!The employees were very friendly and the kitchen had great vegetarian and non-vegetarian food. If I had to say what i loved best about Samai it was the views from my balcony of the mountains and ocean. The spa gives great massages and there are even shamanic healing ceremonies available which my wife took part in. All in all a very relaxing and private serene place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and it is like being in a tree house with a great balcony, hammock and view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I just spent the last week of September 2013 at Samai Lodge. It was absolutely wonderful. The food was so healthy and delicious and the service overall was fantastic. The AC system is new, although, at the time I went, I enjoyed the cool weather, a little bit chilly around this time of the year, which was perfect. I have no words to describe the powerful energy that this mountain has. Although you are in the middle of the forest, you feel a sense of protection by the extraordinary nature that surrounds you. It is the perfect escape, if you want to detach from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is the ideal place to read the TAO TE CHING, and to practice longer meditations. In other words, it is complete BLISS!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Costumer

It has been a great honor to host you at Samai Lodge.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In my previous comment/review, I forgot to mention something quite important about Samai's food: it is glorious!! From breakfast to lunch and dinner, I and my sister were delighted with the freshness of very healthy, organically grown (many items) produce, which the owners grow in the same place! I had a quinoa soup and spaguetti florentino that were simply divine!! This alone should be a good reason to come back for anyone!!! Being a demanding New Yorker, I think I have developed deep and serious appreciation for quality food. Therefore, I very much appreciated what Samai's chef placed on my table!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Costumer:

Hope to see you soon. Welcome always!!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTAÑITA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful sorroundings the forest and the ocean view one of the most beautiful convinations, great place to relax and enjoy the wilderness of nature, great for tropical bird watching, excellent chance to get closer to the ancient ecuadorian culture, very interesting healing possibilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Costumer:
Love to have you at Samai Lodge....you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about this wonderful and mystical place!! I simply loved it!
For true relaxation away from the mundane and "typical", boring hotel experience, Samai is the place to be! Not only the lodge is strategically placed on top of a hill from which you have the most amazing view of tropical forest and the ocean. Additionally, the peace, calm and soothing atmosphere and incredible joyful/generous hospitality of the manager/owner will make you feel like wanting to stay there forever!
As if this wasn't enough, they also offer special rooms for massage and/or yoga practice. As a Yoga practitioner that I am, I felt I have found heaven on earth! The place envites to truly connect with your-Self and with nature...deeply! Love their concern for the environment and the animals who surround the gorgeous and delicately decorated rooms. I am planning on returning for an extended stay, hopefully in early 2014. :-) One last thought: This is not a place for just anybody, that is for sure! Is for the special ones who truly appreciate nature, and are looking for real peace/relaxation and sane fun. :-)

Room Tip: Any room looks good, I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Costumer:

Guest like you help our spirit of service grow !!! You are always welcome at Samai.
Samai = Spirit (Quichua)
Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I found this hotel online about a year ago and chose it for my first visit to Ecuador. I was considering a move and chose this as a place to start. The owners not only welcomed me as a guest, but they went far beyond expectations to help me learn about the area. The views from the room and the restaurant were breathtaking, but it was the people that made me want to return. I returned a couple of weeks ago with my wife in hopes of selling her on the adventure. The beauty of the property and the kindness of the staff were all that it took. Samai was paradise the first time, but to share it with my wife was even better. We will return soon to look for a home, but it was the beauty and friendliness of Samai that won our hearts.

Room Tip: The view from the honeymoon suite is a beautiful as you will find anywhere on earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Costumer, was fantastic to host you the second time....see you soon again.!!!
Regards,
Ed & Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Address: Km 700 E15 Via Espondylus | Loma de San Jose - Santa Elena, Montanita EC241756, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa offers a new concept of healthy traveling services where you can experience the environment, eco-tourism activities, cultural exchange, healthy food in first class settings. Here you'll enjoy the serene splendor of the cordillera mountains, pacific ocean and rain forest all in one place! You will find the extraordinary peace and tranquility of Ecuador, that is still largely untouched by civilization, rejuvenating your spirit and give you a new lease on life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.