We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Save Saved
You added Casa Divina Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pinchincha, Mindo, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mindo/Galapagos Combo
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty lodging in Mindo
Woodside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have spent two summer months in Ecuador in the last two years and this is my favorite place to recharge after adventurous travelling. Casa Divina feels like home, relaxing and reenergizing, and Mindo invites exploration and has adventures to suit every fancy and energy level. Waking up to tanagers and banana trees, lounging on a porch hammock to revitalize, walking down the dirt road into town past the river where you can dip your feet or take a tube ride, visiting the butterfly farm, hiking to a waterfall, or hiring the talented Efrain to take you on a birding adventure- there is plenty to do here. And there is no need to choose ahead of time, just arrive and live in the moment. Personally, I enjoy spending time in the upstairs lounge area with games and hammocks and a view of the valley that takes the breath away. This is a great place for families, retreat groups, and as a single traveller- I love it as a place to relax and rejuvenate in the midst of my travels. Oh yeah, and the food is awesome. Ecuadoran food with American comfort. Molly will do everything she can to help you have a nice stay. (Thanks Molly!) Beautiful lodge, beautiful location, wonderful hosts- can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got a tip from a friend who had stayed at Casa Divina that it was a great experience. We were not let down! It is a stunningly beautiful couple of cabins in the Mindo Cloud Forest that provides a luxurious stay right in the middle of the Ecuadorian rain forest. The main cabin is super comfortable with an outrageously cool observation deck on the third floor. Open air with couches and hammocks. The individual cabins were super nice! Beautifully decorated and so very comfortable. Just a few steps away from the main cabin.

The food they served was wonderful! Healthy and delicious. Using lots of local specialties. Molly and Efrain were just wonderful hosts. They had a perfect sense for when we wanted to chat with them about the area and their experiences and when we just needed a bit more privacy. Their story of how they started Casa Divina and how they helped to establish eco-tourism in the area was so incredibly interesting and inspiring. They also were super helpful in helping us get some local day-trips planned to do things like swimming at a local waterfall, to visiting a boutique chocolate maker, to going horseback riding, to going on bird watching hikes. There are so many amazing things to do in this area.

It really was a major highlight of our trip to Ecuador and I unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone looking for a once in a lifetime kind of experience.

Room Tip: All the guest cabins are beautiful. Probably a bit less noise on the upper level rooms but less sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were two couples, and the only ones there, treated like family. The rooms were in the middle of the forest, quiet, and peaceful. All modern facility, with very comfortable sleeping. Breakfast and dinner were included. We also walked around the property enjoying the nature. The owners are always there to help and advise. Quite a unique experience, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The owners will take good care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were picked up at the airport by our drive and guide for the day (Efrain the owner of the lodge). On the way to Mindo, we stopped and did the Pahuma waterfall hike and orchid garden. The waterfall was gorgeous and my husband saw some new birds. When we arrived, we got settled into our cabin. We had the cabin farthest away from the lodge area on the top floor. The cabin itself was beautifully designed with scenic views from the balcony. Shortly after we arrived, it began to rain extremely hard. Still, we were able to relax in the dining/common area and watch the toucanettes, aracaris, and tons of other brightly colored birds. We'd missed lunch and were able to have a nice snack while we relaxed. Laura was very friendly and helpful, a good asset to the lodge for sure. We were the only ones at the lodge that night, so it was a quiet supper for just me and my husband. The trout was very good as well as some Ecuadorian style sides.

We got up early for a birding tour in the morning--around 4:45 p.m. My husband had hoped to see the cock of the rock bird, but no such luck that day. We did see lots of other colorful birds though. I'm not an avid birder, so it was a bit too much of a birding tour for me, but it was more my husband's trip than mine.

There was some mix-up with the driver on the day of our return to Quito, so he was a little behind schedule. It was also raining really hard. I must say, the driver scared me a bit on the drive back to town. He was flying and passing like crazy on the rainy, curvy roads. I was relieved when we reached our hotel. Mostly the passing around some corners and squeezing between trucks was the most scary.

Other than the scary drive back to town, I would say the only other negative thing would be that we were charged more than we were expected for the cock of the rock tour. We had specified in several emails that we wanted the cock of the rock tour, but then were actually taken on the Paz de las Aves (sp? ) tour which cost an extra $80 or so. So, the bill was slightly higher than expected. But, we didn't feel the need to fight the charge, since my husband did enjoy the birds and the hummingbirds we saw (even though the cock of the rock didn't show that day). I guess we did end up with a longer bird tour and a hot lunch with a local family out of the increased price. Still, it would have been nice to know about the increased cost up front.

All in all, the location is spectacular. The facilities are beautiful. The guide, Effrain, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The flowers, birds, and butterflies on the property are wonderful. It's definitely worth getting out of Quito to this wonderful setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Casa Divina because our new friends from an earlier trip in Ecuador invited us to join them in the activities they had planned through the retreat. We took one look at the facilities and we were hooked. (We had actually already paid to stay at another hotel in Mindo for 2 nights and chose to forfeit that money and stay at Casa Divina.)
The setting, the food, the activities were all terrific. But best of all were our hosts: Efrain and Molly. Molly was so gracious when we just 'appeared' on her doorsteps. We were very fortunate that they had a suite which had just been vacated and was in the process of being cleaned. The suite was so inviting, spacious, and clean; a porch with rocker and hammock which looked out over the tropical setting brought peace to our souls.
Efrain was with us on all of our activities, some which he lead and others that were lead by local vendors. He made us feel safe.
I mentioned the food, but I would be remiss if I didn't mention Laura who was in charge of lunch and dinner service. (Breakfast and Dinner are included in the room charge.) Lunch is available, if desired, for an extra charge. Laura is Molly's right hand person, so charming and always helpful!
Casa Divina offers a package which include pick up and return to Quito as well as room, food, and activities. While we rented a car and drove to Mindo, I would recommend the pick up and return option. We didn't need the car in Mindo as we were driven everywhere by Efrain.
Just wish I had discovered Casa Divina when I was planning our trip to Mindo!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a very relaxing, exotic place that is only 2 hours from Quito and yet boasts a wide array of activities all coordinated and accompanied by one of the innkeepers, Efrain Topanta. Efrain is a certified guide and expert on the birds in the area. Mindo is renowned for the great numbers and variety of birds. Put those two pieces of information together and you get outstanding guiding focused around birds and their habitat. For me, the greatest thrills were the white water rafting (class 3 and 4 rapids) and the ziplining (10 lines). We bought the package at Casa Divina which included everything. Molly, contrary to what you will read in "Keith's" review was gracious and flexible. My wife and I felt like this was a hidden gem and a very good value. We hope that Casa Divina will be in our travel plans in the future. Our friends will definitely be encouraged to come to Ecuador and Casa Divina.

Room Tip: All the cabins are stand alone and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our first trip to Ecuador and what better place to start our holiday. The accomodation is amazing, the outlook from your treehouse is a nature lovers dream. The birdlife was everywhere, even with the afternoon rain the toucans were near our balcony just watching us relaxing in the hammock.
Even if you aren't a birdo, you can't help but enjoy watching them. More relaxing than yoga!! Efrain was great as our guide for a morning excursion and had great knowledge and patience.
The meals are delicious, yummy soup, mains and of course sweets. If you are lucky you might even get to sample Molly's brownie - the best (thank's for the recipe).
Hopefully we will be back again one day when we return to South America.

Room Tip: We paid for the transfer through Molly and we arranged time to stop at the Equator monuments and Tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pinchincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Divina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.