We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another San Jorge gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve
San Jorge de Milpe Private Reserve | near Mindo, Mindo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mindo
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yet another San Jorge gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Tandayapa was amazing but this was yet another gem. Different but equally worthwhile. Birds, nature, swimming holes and again the accommodation was extremely good. This was the third element of a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Another beautiful San Jorge birding lodge. Our room was floor to ceiling glass on three sides with windows that opened very close to the feeders. So we had quite a show going on right outside our windows. Pilar, the incredible chef from Tandayapa, traveled with us to Milpe and prepared more amazing meals. We had a beautiful table set on our porch and the usual 4-course meals starting with the incredible juices and soups. Also a talapia prepared in a sauce that was really astounding. I tried to duplicate it back in New York. The waterfalls are a bit of a hike and if it is rainy, it can be a little slippery. The trails are well marked.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Our birding group ended up here after a disaster at Pachijal. We truly wished we'd been here the whole time! The walk to the lodge thru gardens was a sign this place was well cared for. The staff met our bus and carried our bags down to the lodge in wheel barrows. The lodge overlooked a wonderful forest valley and you felt like you were away from EVERYTHING except the sounds of nature. The rooms were simple but comfortable. I would have liked a bit more light, but managed. The food was excellent, and the owner did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. Wish we'd had more time to spend here and check out the area. I would definitely return to this place!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

if you like to birdwatch, then it is for you. too tedious for me. i would have rather just sat on the porch and watched all the wildlife.
they did not often inform you of when, where, and how long you would be gone for, so it was hard to prepare properly for the escapades. they only had the admenities they listed as part of the package (spa, turkish bath, etc) available for one night. the staff let their kids urinate right by the dinner table/kitchen in front of the guests without saying a word to them - even though it is part of the Ecuadorian culture to go to the bathroom in public, this place is geared for American tourists and should act accordingly. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I signed up for a trip to see the forest reserves at Tandayapa and Milpe, he primarily was interested in seeing birds with friends from Seattle, and I was primarily interested in seeing frogs - we found both birds and frogs by the bucket loads. Tandayapa is steep and therefore, as our birding guide, Jorge, pointed out, was not too heavily impacted by farming. Luckily for the birds, mammals, frogs and snakes and lucky for us. The view from the Tandayapa lodge is as good a view from a road in the Andes but better in many respects because the forest all around is mostly untouched. The trails along the slopes also give great views of the neighboring cloud forest canopy.

The forest at Milpe is different from the Tandayapa cloud forest, it feels more lush but maybe that is because it rained more while we were visiting. The lodge here is more treehouse style than at Tandayapa but both have equally stunning views. We had the great fortune of having two guides, Gustavo and Rosa, to accompany us on a night tour to help us look for frogs. There were so many frogs that night that Rosa found the first one of the evening up her pant leg --- we are not making this up! The forest at Milpe was selected as an ecotourism site very thoughtfully. There are steep slopes with gorges cut by waterfalls and the diversity of plants is head spinning. The small size of our birding group (4) increased our opportunities to view the most wary birds but more importantly the exceptional spotting skills of Jorge (as well, Pablo and Gustavo had impressive abilities to spot birds in the darkened canopy) gave us greater opportunity. In addition to Jorge’s amazing spotting abilities, his knowledge of the birds (identifiable characteristics and calls) and plants was encyclopedic, and his enthusiasm for sharing this information was contagious and genuine. Moreover, he was the quintessential host, always concerned that our needs were attended to and graciously ensuring that our every request was met. Similarly the staff at both lodges saw to it that we were well fed with delicious food at every meal. By the time we left after a 4 day stay it was like leaving old friends.

If you want to see great forest, lots of birds and other animals that like to keep out of the limelight I highly recommend a trip to the San Jorge Hosteria lodges at Tandayapa and Milpe. They are well worth the trip and if you are limited on time, with Jorge as your guide, you will encounter more birds in a short period of time than if you tried to trek out across the open road on your own. I give Tandayapa and Milpe both an A++!

Thanks to Jorge’s great tour we got together the other night with the friends that we toured with at Tandayapa and Milpe to relive the many wonderful encounters we had through the lens of our many cameras. We rented a big screen and spent several hours pouring over photos! Mil gracias to our friends at Tandayapa and Milpe!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

The San Jorge lodges and reserves encompass a wide diversity of habitats in Ecuador. My wife and I stayed at San Jorge Milpe lodge August 1 - 3 which is located in the subtropical rainforest.

Firstly, I have to give credit to the travel agent Cheryl who produced a customized travel itinerary for our trip -- much more thorough than any of the other lodges we contacted.

My wife and I arrived late in the evening at the Milpe lodge after a very productive day of sightseeing (at Cala Cali) and birding. The lodge is about a 0.5 mile hike from the parking area, so we hiked! Our luggage was carried for us as we were led down a well worn footpath by flashlight to the lodge. We were engulfed in the noises of the forest - frogs and insects and night birds -- very exciting.

The lodge itself is gorgeous and of recent construction. The rooms were very nice, the showers hot, the meals excellent, the staff extremely attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent with Dr. Jorge Cruze the reserve owner. His knowledge of the wildlife, botany and history of Ecuador is phenomenal. Furthermore, his dedication to preservation of Ecuador's natural beauty with his lodges (which provides an economic incentive for Ecuadorians to protect the environment) is truly inspiring.

The birding at the Milpe lodge and its property itself is wonderful. It is from this facility that we saw Toucans, parrots, MotMots, etc. There are many miles of trails, some graced with beautiful waterfalls. We also took a day trip to San Jorge de Tandayapa Hummingbird Reserve -- literally hundreds of hummingbirds of many species. Dr. Cruze personally led several excursions, both on the San Jorge Milpe property and the day trip to the Tandayapa Hummingbird Reserve.

Simply an outstanding experience. We will go again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve

Address: San Jorge de Milpe Private Reserve | near Mindo, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mindo
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jorge de Milpe Orchid & Bird Reserve has 2 Eco-Lodges on prime birding & hiking property, located on 260 acres in the Upper Tropical Rainforest. This private reserve offers spectacular scenery, pristine trails, running rivers, 11 waterfalls, over 450 species of tropical birds, mammals, hundreds of butterflies, numerous wild orchids, a wide array of tropical flora and fauna, and swimming at the waterfalls. 2013 GRAND OPENING - San Jorge NEW Forrest Eco-Lodge with 12 Deluxe spacious rustic bungalow Suites with Views & Private Balcony with 2 queen beds & private bath. See birds from your room - picturesque large windows! Spacious open air restaurant & bar with views; reading room, lounge, 50 foot overhead observation deck - all canopy, hummingbird & toucan feeders. San Jorge Cliff Eco-Lodge (Scientific Research Center) with 8 double rooms with 2 twin beds & private bath, observatory deck, and active feeders. Dine at our open air restaurants with delicious cuisine and beautiful rainforest ambiance, offering superb photography options. Both Lodges offer the ideal retreat for birdwatchers, photographers, and nature lovers alike. Guided Birdwatching, Hiking, and Natural History Tours can be reserved in advance, including transportation from downtown Quito. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve to your Saves list